We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,090)
Filter reviews
1,090 results
Traveller rating
370
387
194
91
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
370
387
194
91
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking garagecontinental breakfastthe riverelevators were slowmysterious mansionthe indoor outdoor poolwithin walking distancemountain sideyogurtwould stay here againthe main stripbiscuits and gravysmall balconythe room was nicegreat place to stayspace needlean older hotel
Filter
Updating list...
578 - 583 of 1,090 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Unfortunately, our most recent stay at the Edgewater was not as we expected. The hotel is rundown and ill equipped for the number of visitors. We were on the 6th floor and could not get an elevator to take our luggage to our room. With 5 people we needed to wait 25 minutes to get enough elevators to take our family and 4 pieces of luggage to our rooms. The stairways were far from the lobby and elevators however we chose to use them as they were faster than waiting for elevator service. The rooms were sticky, smelled musty and the air conditioning unit in ours was in need of repair. The staff were kind and the location very convenient however the rooms just felt...icky? Also, the "free wifi" rarely worked.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank TLF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your patronage and your honesty in reviewing your recent stay at the Edgewater. We are always looking for ways to improve our property and I will certainly pass on your comments to our Management Staff for review.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We just recently stayed at this hotel (7/27-7/28) and we loved it! Staff was great and hotel was great! It is located perfectly in downtown gatlinburg and we had a great time. I came down and got two rooms and both rooms were very clean and the river view was amazing! I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review of the Edgewater. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff handled all of your needs in a friendly manner. We look forward to your future visit when travel plans bring you back to the Gatlinburg area.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We visited this hotel almost 20 yrs ago on our honeymoon and this is our 4th time visiting over the years. More than likely, for the price, this is our last visit.

PROS:
Staff is always nice and helpful
Great centralized location
Trolley pick up right at the bottom of the hotels driveway
Stream/creek runs right in front of the property, where you can fish
Since hotel is older room noise is minimal

CONS:
Even though it is a "conference center" there is no restaurant
Balcony's are teeny and view is not always the greatest (see pic's)
The pool area hasn't been updated in probably 20 years
While some updates have been done, some rooms are dated
The elevator wait can be quite long

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you will consider staying with us again when you are next in the Gatlinburg area.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located, so it is very convenient to downtown and trolleys. The workers were friendly, and the rooms were clean. It has not been updated, so catching an elevator is a hassle. Finding the staircase was also an inconvenience. Continental breakfast opens at 7, not 6.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank mandymgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate your comments and hope you will choose to stay with us again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was a great place to stay. The hotel was a bit dated but VERY well up-kept and very clean. The hotel staff were extremely nice. Would definitely stay here again. Great Location, very close to the strip. Great view of Gatlinburg on one side and nice private view of the trees on the other side. Good breakfast and beautiful lobby area.
ONLY complaint, there were only 2 elevators and they were extremely slow.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors on the front side have the best view of Gatlinburg, the lowest rooms on the front side have the best view of the creek
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pollylop15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

I appreciate your taking the time to comment regarding your stay at the Edgewater. I'm glad you had an enjoyable visit and hope to see you again when travel plans bring you back to the Great Smoky Mountains area.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews