We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY ELSEWHERE!!!”
Review of Gatlinburg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gatlinburg Inn
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“STAY ELSEWHERE!!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Weekend at the Gatlinburg Inn.....and I agree with several other posters. Staff is friendly...great maid service....great location if you want to be in the middle of Gatlinburg. I also agree that the Inn has not been updated since the 60's....or possibly earlier. No antiques....just cheap, old furniture with carpet that also has not been updated. Plastic upholstered sofas in rooms, horrendous wallpaper, noisy OLD airconditioning. The most offensive part of the stay for me was the odors. To try to cover the old, musty smell of all the interiors the staff has placed plug-in scent diffusers that are sickening....throughout the lobby and in every guest room. I would suggest you stay elsewhere and try to skip Gatlinburg altogether. It defines the concept of "tourist trap". It for sure isn't the quaint town it used to be!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank loopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    224
    72
    30
    18
See reviews for
309
400
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We loved this ALL non-smoking, no motorcycles, no motor homes quaint inn which sets about 50 feet from the main street through Gatlinburg. The staff was absolutely wonderful and friendly. A guard is on duty 24 hours a day and he is most helpful in getting you to the trolley stop(s). The free trolley is directly across the street from the inn. The grounds have beautiful roses blooming everywhere and a cute playground for children at the very back of the inn as well as a tennis court and shuffleboard. Our room was so quiet we never heard a noise from either inside the inn or outside. We had a patio room with two rocking chairs. If you prefer sitting on a rocking chair on their huge front porch to people watch, this is the place for you. Two grand rooms are offered where one can sit and read or relax. No frills here which gives you great value for your dollar. There is also a pool surrounded by fencing and lovely roses. We will never stay elsewhere when in Gatlinburg.

Room Tip: Room 107 is great. Two rocking chairs, no noise during night or day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler1Knoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed there on a spontaneous whim. I am very glad we stayed here. It is the cutest retro place in Gatlinburg. The room was so cozy and quaint. The staff were the sweetest people I have ever met and they were extremely welcoming. I will definitely stay there again! The location was absolutely perfect. When you swim in the pool the little sky lifts go right above you. The coffee was very good too, and they even leave little pre-stamped post cards in your room. This place is full of charm! There is always a guard outside which makes me feel very safe and they are super friendly. They let us keep our car in their lot for the day after we checked out. I could not have asked for a better experience! If you like classic charm over modern or just want to feel like you are in a different time this is the place to go. The price is cheaper or the same as the other hotels around and the quality and customer service is worth well more than what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andreabates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

This is our 4th time staying here. Tried numerous others, nothing compares.
Great rates, The owner, Mrs Maples never changes the rates due to holidays. Built in 1937, upgrades in the 60's, i could be wrong. It looks like you stepped back in time upon entering, and stays that way till you exit the building. Though the decor and furnishings are old, they are in great shape, look like new. The staff is wonderful. The place is clean as a whistle, quiet. No motorcycles allowed, no campers. Kids okay. Still quiet. Nice porch to sit on. Just a great place to relax. The last few years the rooms had upgraded bathrooms. You can't bring food from restaurants in, but that keeps the place cleaner, i can live with that. Say hi to Mrs Maples, who is usually in the lobby in the early mornings, she loves to chat and tell stories.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stayaway_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We have stayed at Gatlinburg Inn many times. It has so much charm and we love it. Can`t beat the location nor the price. IT IS CLEAN and mattress are great too! I love sitting on the porch rocking in a rocking chair while surfing the net on my laptop!! Great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rivertowngirl201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Clean, secure, economical.
Friendly staff. Homey feel.
Very fine place.
Older clientel. Old fashioned atmosphere.
Only negative: NO outside food.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank optobob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Fl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

If you have ever seen the movie The Shining, you can appreciate this hotel. It has a kind of haunted creepy feel that makes it very unique. On the down side it had no extras like a refrigerator , iron or blow dryer in the room. On the upside we had a balcony with rocking chairs and had a very nice view. It was very quiet. Needless to say, we only stayed one night . If we couldn't get a room anywhere else, I would stay there again (for one night).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Djcut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#17 of 78 in Gatlinburg
923 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatlinburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatlinburg Inn

Property: Gatlinburg Inn
Address: 755 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gatlinburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gatlinburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing