We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gatlinburg Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$138
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$71
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$145
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Edgewater Hotel(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$134
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zoders Inn & Suites(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$309
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Johnson's Inn(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,006)
Filter reviews
1,006 results
Traveller rating
630
239
80
36
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
239
80
36
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchrocking chairsrocky tophistoric hotelchair liftgrandma's housesausage linksmiddle of towncorner roomski liftfamily suitecan't beat the locationthe location is perfecthot breakfastelectrical outletsbiscuits and gravyan older hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
869 - 874 of 1,006 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A stay at The Gatlinburg Inn is a visit to the premier iconic structure in the area. It is a remarkably pleasant departure from today's impersonal cookie-cutter lodgings. The staff is warm, friendly and welcoming...,resembling more of a gathering of old friends than a hotel check-in. The living room is singular, both in it's layout and period furniture. Simply entering it is relaxing and when you sit in one of the chairs you think..., geez, do I really have to get up eventually? The photographs hanging in the downstairs hallway are captivating and reminiscent of the past when folks came to experience the beauty of the National Park. The set-back from the Parkway is perfect in creating the sense of private personal space as well as a welcome respite from the clutter of t-shirt and plastic trinket hustlers the city seems to have become obsessed with. The Gatlinburg Inn is nostalgic to the point that one can easily recall parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles..,and makes your heart melt. Come see for yourself.....,and let your heart do the talking! Sonny & Jo Jones - Kentucky

Room Tip: Request a 2nd floor balcony room if one is available.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonnyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

sonnyjones,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! You could not be more correct in every single statement! The Historical beauty of this hotel cannot be matched by any in this town! We sincerely appreciate you and your family coming and staying with us! We hope that you will be back for many generations to come!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The wallpaper is old school busy and the carpet shaggy, but beds and linens are clean and new with flat screens, wifi and expected modern amenities. This place reminds me of the Grove Park Inn in Asheville (only affordable!), with original early 20th century furnishings with stone hearths and lots of wood.

This place is a great antidote for the neon and plastic that Gatlinbug has become - it lets you go back in time to when the small town was a mountain escape to view scenery and fresh air. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravenroost .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

ravenroost .,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! You hit the nail right on the head! We pride ourselves on maintaining what Gatlinburg used to be while moving forward into this generation. We are currently under remodel as I'm sure you saw during your stay. We are painting the walls, adding new carpet, and doing our best to insure the Historical charm of this gem for many generations to come! I hope that you and your family will come back and stay with us again in the new future! Thanks for choosing us to be your home in the Smokies!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is vintage to the extreme. If you like the paneling, old ceramic tub, balcony with beautiful scenery, this hotel is for you! Adequate beds for 6 family members and a nice big screen tv. The location is the best part about this hotel, located right on the strip.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank St_LouisRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Saint_LouisRyan,
Thank you so much for your kind words about the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! We do appreciate your recent stay with us. You are not alone in mentioning the location of this hotel. Many of our guests come back year after year because of the quality of our hotel and its location. I hope that you and your family will come back and stay with us again in the near future!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel's best feature was the location. If you're interested in history and creepy things, this hotel will be perfect. Interesting, not luxurious. Staff shows true Southern hospitality. The room's air conditioning doesn't work too well but its right next to the Sky Lift that takes you up the mountain!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Madisynstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Madisynstl,
Thank you for taking the time to share with others about your recent visit with us here at the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! We appreciate your feed back. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the near future!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My sister and I stayed here (again) 4/14-15 2014 simply because we love the place. It's real. The hospitality shown by the entire staff is not an act. It's real. It will take you back in time to a place where hotel rooms didn't have to be perfect, just comfortable.
We are amazed how well they keep this older historic property cleaned and maintained. We suspect that very few of us would appreciate having our daily job performance critiqued publicly, especially when we've accidentally overlooked something. This hotel makes every attempt to make each customer comfortable. Period. They can't control Gatlinburg traffic noise nor city trash collection schedules, but they certainly try to make you feel at home. It's a great hotel, and we must admit that we're a little sad to see one single thing renovated. It's a wonderful place! MP

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emmy1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

summerlake,
Thank you so much from your wonderful review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! We greatly appreciate your business! We are currently updating the property but I promise you we will preserve her historical integrity. I am pleased to see that my staff took care of your every need and I will pass your compliments along. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the near future!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews