We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go if it is spring”
Review of Gatlinburg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gatlinburg Inn
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't go if it is spring”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Made reservations in advance so as not to have to look for a place to stay where arriving in town. When we got into town it was rainy and very cool with a wind. Didn't want to get the luggage wet, so went ahead and checked in. Went up to the room and it was very cool, about 64 degrees. I advanced the thermostat to about 78 and nothing happened. Went back to the front desk and told them the heat wasn't working in the room. I was informed that this time of year the heating/cooling system is either set for heat or AC. It had was set for AC and they would be happy to loan us a space heater for the room. For the price I was paying for the room I said it was unacceptable and had them take the room off my card and found another motel that had heat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suranmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Suranmo,
It troubles me to hear that you were not satisfied with your recent visit with us here at the Historic Gatlinburg Inn. We are currently under renovation and we are trying our best to address the issues that you addressed. Due to our age and formerly being closed during the time of year that you stayed with us, we didn't forsee this coming until it was already here. However, we are trying our best to fix it. I hope that you and your family will come back and give us another chance. We would love to be your home in the Smokies!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    227
    73
    32
    18
See reviews for
330
411
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed in room 107 newly renovated slept like a baby. We brought a fan to cover some noise from renovations. The location was perfect especially for older people.Our room had no view but large front porch with padded rockers. We will be back love the charm and location. Every employee very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Pam B,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of this downtown historic gem! We enjoyed hosting your family during your recent trip to Gatlinburg! Thank you for your kind words about our staff. I will pass it along to them. I truely believe that we have the greatest staff in Gatlinburg working here! I hope that you will come back real soon and allow us to host your family again! Hope to see you soon!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hotel is in a great location, it does have alot of history and the staff were really friendly and helpful BUT it was just not for me.

Place had an odor about it, and the walls and floors are wafer thin.

We stayed in room 256 and had the unfortunate pleasure to be staying under a family that did not want to sleep. Every time they moved we were woken!! Not very relaxing!

The decor is historic but to me its just old and worn. It is clean but for the price we paid it was just not worth it.

Not for me, nor would I recommend it. Lovely people though!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet go on a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Rue14,
I'm sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your recent stay with us here at the Historic Gatlinburg Inn. As I'm sure you were told by our staff the we are currently under renovations to address some of the issues that you had. I sincerely hope that you will come and stay with us again! We would like another chance to prove to you that we are your home in the Smokies!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc coast
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have been coming to Gatlinburg two or three times a year since 1975! I have stayed at many different places but on my most recent trip I chose to stay at The Gatlinburg Inn and I have found my home away from home! The hotel was built in 1932 so it is a little old but you would never know it if they didn't tell you.

The whole place is just awesome and the staff really makes you feel right at home. The breakfast is one of the best I have had anywhere and plenty of it! It is right in the middle of town so once you park you can walk to everything!

I just can't say enough good about this place. If you are visiting Gatlinburg, I wouldn't recommend staying anywhere else. If you do you will be disappointed! Really!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NcHarleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
NcHarleyman,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! You're right! This place has more history than anywhere in town! We are currently under renovations but we are not trying to change the historical aspect of the hotel we are only trying to preserve her historical integrity!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very quaint and has lots of character. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Lots of history here at this Inn. Convenient to everything but can be noisy at night due to nightlife downtown. Currently undergoing some room renovations with carpet,wallpaper and drapes. Good morning breakfast included with rate. We think the king suite room 229 is best on the property. Give it a try.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drbizzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Drbizzell,
Thank you for taking time to review the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! It was our pleasure hosting you and your family! 229 is one of our best suites! I am glad to see that you loved it! I will pass your compliments along to my staff! I hope you come back and stay with us again in the near future!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartwell, GA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Location is awesome! Right on the strip in walking distance to most everything. The hotel itself, is really old and historic, ton of history in the photographs in the halls and common areas. We had a king bedroom with a balcony on the back of hotel. You could hear the music from the mysterious mansion, which it didn't bother us, we got a kick out of occasionly hearing people scream and run from it. We sat on the balcony quiet a bit, weather was nice. We didn't have any issue with hearing the rooms next door, but we are heavy sleepers.

We would definetly stay there again!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakehartwellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
lakehartwellgirl,
Thank you so much for your kind review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! It was our pleasure hosting you and your family! It thrills me to see that your every need was taken care of! I hope that you and your family will come back and stay with us again in the very near future!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, GA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I like the homey feel of the Gatlinburg Inn. It smells like a grand old house, much like when we visited the Biltmore Estate and such places. The staff is incredibly friendly. If you stay here though you have to accept that the place is old. If wood panels walls and shaggy carpet is not okay with you, then this may not be your cup of tea. The walls are rather thin so you hear the people in the next room and the garbage truck picking up trash at the place next door around 4AM. You can also hear the music from the Mysterious Mansion, across the street. The room with two queen beds was really a room with two double beds. The pillows, although they may have been down, were very flat. The WiFi is atrocious. However it is a great old place and it seemed clean. I needed to work while I was there, so I had an issue with the undependable WiFi. The sitting room has the pictures of the owners and the family members and I found this quite a nice thing. I could feel the history. If you're not fussy and you don't need to work and you want to stay in a home that has lots of history then this is a good place. The location is the best. Just walk down the driveway and you are in the thick of things. I liked just rocking on the front porch. Gatlinburg Inn has it pros and cons. It depends on what you must have on your vacation.

Room Tip: Stay away from the side of the hotel next to the other buildings, (try for the side with the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Afar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Canton_GA,
Thank you for your review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn. We do appreciate you choosing us during your recent stay in Gatlinburg. Yes we are a historic property. Yes we are dated. But I'm sure that you were told about our current renovations. We are painting the walls, replacing the carpet, and trying our best to bridge the gap between what was and what is now. We hope that you will come back and give us another chance to prove to you that we are your home in the Smokies!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatlinburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatlinburg Inn

Property: Gatlinburg Inn
Address: 755 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gatlinburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gatlinburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing