We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgia laden”
Review of Gatlinburg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gatlinburg Inn
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nostalgia laden”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel took me back to the 50's. Room was all paneling, furniture severely outdated, bathroom needs a serious updating. . . I could go on and on. Despite all this, our room was clean and the hotel is centrally located so you can pretty much walk to everything in Gatlinburg. It was OK for the two nights we were there but I doubt I would stay here again. I heard the person at the front desk telling a customer that they had recently "updated" the rooms with new paint, flat screen tvs and carpeting. Unfortunately, they stopped before they replaced the furniture and putting in new bathrooms. This might have been the place to stay back in the 50's but it's not up to what most people expect in this day and age. I give them points for their free breakfast as it was inviting and had a wide variety of items to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jet Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Jet Gal,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Historic Gatlinburg Inn. I am disappointed to see that your recent stay with us here was not entirely what you had expected. As I'm sure you were told we are the oldest standing hotel in Gatlinburg and we pride ourselves on the history of this hotel. We did just finish remodeling the "sleeping" portion of the guest rooms by painting, new carpet, new 50" flat screens, SERTA Pillowtop mattresses, adding Wi-Fi to the guest rooms, as well as the addition of a full hot breakfast bar included in your rate. We are hoping to remodel the bathrooms this winter once the season slows down. I sincerely hope that you and your family will come back and give us another chance to prove to you that we are your home in the Smokies!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    226
    72
    32
    18
See reviews for
313
406
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Groveport, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We have stayed here before and have really enjoyed it. This time we did a few different things.

We were only in town for one night and decided to stay here again. Bunny in registration makes are stay complete. She is so helpful and kind. She is one of the reasons we keep coming back .

This hotel was built in 1937 but has been updated. In the lobby, halls and rooms it still looks like the 50's or 60's, but they have been updating the carpets and tv's. The only problem is no microwave or refrigerator. They have a very inviting front porch where you can sit in rocking chairs and people watch and socialize.

I was able to enjoy the outdoor pool this time which sits on the side of the hotel so you can even people watch from the pool. It has a shaded covered area so you don't have to be out in the sun if you don't want to be. The chairlift is right there by the pool but didn't bother me and I even was able to converse with a couple riders. Very relaxing.

I would highly recommend this place to an older generation who would appreciate this type of lodging. Takes me back and reminds me of my childhood and earlier.

I do like the new updates but please don't lose the original charm! You can't beat the location right in the middle of gatlinburgs stip.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room facing the strip with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimBarnes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
KimBarnes27,
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel! It was our pleasure to host you during your recent stay with us! I am pleased to see that your needs were met while you were here! You aren't the first to mention Bunny! She is one of our guest icons! I hope that you and your family will come back and see us again real soon!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Absolutely enjoyed my stay terrific staff from the supervisor all the way to the helpful bellman , would recommend this place to anyone , they have a wonderful breakfast , very clean and just loved my stay :) very pleased

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arf2k14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Arf2k14,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! It was our pleasure to host you and your family during your recent stay here in Gatlinburg! I am very pleased to see that every aspect of your stay was wonderful and that my staff treated you like royalty! I am very proud of the staff that I have assembled! I hope that your and your family will come back and stay with us again real soon! Thank you for allowing us to be your home in the Smokies!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Not the "Ritz",but it is right on the parkway.Very quiet and clean. The breakfast is very good and the staff is friendly. Check out the pictures of the celebrities that have stayed there.We will stay here again. Thank you Gatlinburg Inn.

Room Tip: If you are a people watcher,you want the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
nancy h,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! It was our pleasure to host you and your family during your recent stay here in Gatlinburg! I am pleased to see that every aspect of your stay was more than satisfactory! We look forward to hosting your and your family again real soon! Come on back to your home in the "Smokies"!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

When my husband and I checked in, the lady at the front desk was absolutley rude to us. She acted as if our arrival was an inconvience to her. The room however was amazing and the view was unbeatble. After our not so friendly check in, it was very refreshing that this hotel redeemed itself without even trying. It truelly speaks for itself. I understand people have bad days, but it was very uneasy knowing that was how we were welcomed. Every other staff member greeted us with a smile, and so I left our first impression at the door. We will be back, and I do hope that the lady working the check in will be in a better mood next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Heidi H,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. By reading your review I see that there were some issues with your say, mainly during check-in. Yes, you are right. People do have bad days but that should never effect how they treat a guest. For that I am truly sorry. I have spoken to the Evening Supervisor and that issue has been addressed. I am glad to see that that the rest of your stay was completely satisfactory. I hope that you and your family will return real soon! That you for chosing us to be your home in the Smokies!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madisonville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

It was stepping back in time to Grandma's house. Very clean. Sitting in the middle of the strip easy walk to were ever you want to go in Gatlinburg. Good breakfast with fresh food. Front desk greets you with a smile. Enjoyed my overnight stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel0465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
lovetotravel0465,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! It was our pleasure to host you and your family during your recent stay here in Gatlinburg! I hope that you and your family will come back and see us again real soon! It is our pleasure to be your home in the Smokies!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepachet
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a hotel with the looks of Grandma's house fifty years ago. It is homey,clean and has an excellent breakfast. If you are looking for a new, white and bright hotel, this is not your place. This has paneling on the wall, old furniture in the room. The location can't be beat, it is on the main drag,near everything. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talleyho234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
talleyho234,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! It was our pleasure to host you and your family during your recent stay here in Gatlinburg! I am pleased to see that your were satisfied with your stay. Hope you will come back and see us again real soon!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#17 of 78 in Gatlinburg
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatlinburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatlinburg Inn

Property: Gatlinburg Inn
Address: 755 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gatlinburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gatlinburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing