We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Highlands Condominium
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Chalet Inn(Gatlinburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ski Mountain Motel(Gatlinburg)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Creek Lodge(Gatlinburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River Edge Motor Lodge(Gatlinburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Prix Motel(Gatlinburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
309
102
20
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
309
102
20
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace to staywasher dryergreat view of the mountainsliving roompool and hot tubour night stayeasy accesspigeon forgeober gatlinburgthe location is perfectbypassunitbalconyofficebearfireplacefirewood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

If you want the proximity to Gatlinburg but the feel of being in the mountains, then the Highlands is the place for you. I almost hate to write about it because reservations will be harder to get. Three generations of our family have been visiting the Highlands for more than 20 years. We are shooting for 20 more! The view is great. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Normandy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We've always stayed at the Highlands when we visit Gatlinburg and as normal had a great time. Like the saying goes; "If it's not broken, don't fix it". This is why we've never strayed from the Highlands as it offers everything we're looking for when we head to the mountains. We stayed in unit #208 which was a 2-Bedroom. The 2 bedroom condos (on 1 level) have everything we need and have more then enough room for our family of 4. We've never stayed in a 2 bedroom (on two levels) which I think are a little smaller, but still a nice size. We really love the huge balcony which extends the entire length of the condo. We eat out on it any chance we get and enjoy the wonderful views of the Smoky Mountains which will never get old.

Thanks for the great times and we'll see you again sometime down the road!!
The Treliving's

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barrytrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our family originally stayed at The Highlands in 2011. In 2013, we visited again, this time with friends and their children. We love the location...easy to get to from the By-Pass, high on the mountain so that we have a view, and less than a 10 minute drive down a more local back road that lands you in the heart of Gatlinburg (by the Aquarium.) With small children (5, 3, 2, and newborn), our families took advantage of the ability to quickly run to or from town. We never felt like we had to plan out an entire day...knowing we could come back and forth fairly quickly. And...since the condos are so nice, we purposely planned to spend a fair amount of time there, whether it was playing games, swimming, or just enjoying the views. Not only does this save money, but it truly feels like a home away from home. Everything's clean, beds and furniture are comfortable, and kitchen is fully stocked. We also love the bonus of a washer/dryer in most units. Overall, it will most likely be the place we choose to stay anytime we visit Gatlinburg. In fact...before we left, we made reservations for 2014 for an even longer stay! We can't wait!

Room Tip: All condos have great views. Most (or maybe all) 3-bedroom condos are two-story. 2-bedroom condos in the 500s are considered two-story townhouses. Additionally, most condos have king beds in almost all of the bedrooms, but if you specifically want two kings, twin beds, etc., call the office, and they can tell you exactly what's in each unit.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HappyVisitors713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our stay at the Highland Condos was very pleasant. The location is wonderful. It is close to everything yet private and serene. Our stay in condo 505 was the very enjoyable. It had a great view overlooking downtown Gatlinburg and the mountains. The staff were very accomodating and helpful. The only drawback was the internet only worked for the first 2 days inside the condo. The staff continuously worked on it, but we still could not connect. It was specific to our condo but did not affect any one elses. Overall very updated place and clean with a gorgeous view. Would highly recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

stayed in unit 201. wonderful unit and great value. planning another trip thus fall, and will definitely return again. unit is in the mountains, so i would be careful if i got motion-sickness, but this is Gatlinburg, TN. ;) (if it was not in the mountains, i would be very disappointed).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carilocklear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews