We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Great place to stay in Gatlingburg”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Highlands Condominium
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I love staying at the Highland. The condos are very clean and the views are just spectacular. It's the best location to visit all the sites in the smokeys. We stay in many of the condos but this one was just renovated and the owner did an excellent job. We made a fire in the fireplace which made it really cozy. I would had given this stay a five but it did have a few issues. The garbage disposal was broken, need brighter lights under the cabinets and the can opener didn't work well so I cut my hand trying to open a can otherwise this was a perfect stay. I do consider the few things listed as negative very minor. My family loves the Highlands. I would share the condo number but it would be too much competition to get it again.

Room Tip: I would suggest review each room closely. Some of the condo's sofas and chairs aren't comfor...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Vaughnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for The Highlands Condominium
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is the very best of places to stay for a Fall vacation. I would keep it a secret but I think I will explore another time of the year next time and let others discover this place. Fire in the fireplace, breakfast in the kitchen, hanging out with family early in the morning to watch the sunrise over the colorful mountains, a family drive up Ski Mountain, It was all terrific.

Room Tip: Patio (back door) facing Gatlinburg for the view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renewedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have planned a visit at least once a year for the past 4 years, we enjoyed beautiful views, variety of 2-3 bedroom options have been good rooms, convenient to both Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. Will plan another trip next year. Beautiful views overlooking Gatlinburg, gorgeous sunrises over the mountains and perfect cloud watching.

Room Tip: units 600 -900 have covered parking and an elevator to the floors, not really 9 floors, floor 600 is...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 279Kathryn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed in unit 701 and we had no complaints! The view was gorgeous, and we loved that we could see such great views from the bedroom as well as the living room balcony. It was really nice that the unit had a washer and dryer, that came in handy. The location is really convenient being on the Gatlinburg bypass. We will definitely be back here! We even saw a bear when leaving the condo one evening! Just a tip, remember to bring coffee filters and laundry detergent with you -- the unit doesn't supply those.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nhillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I thought this was a great place to stay. The view was great and amenities were similar to what you would normally see when staying in a cabin or in the mountains. The showers are very small, but you learn to live with it. Beds are comfortable. I loved the location. It's just close enough to Gatlinburg to make it easy to come in and out, but not have to deal with the noise of main street. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shelbalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Good stay. Shower and sink in downstairs are kind of small. View is breathtaking. Someone had a domestic violence episode in one section near us. According to a resident, this doesn't happen here. A bear or a raccoon had a great time in the garbage.

Room Tip: Go after peak time for better value. Leaves are still pretty.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatlinburgGatlinburg, Front Office Manager at The Highlands Condominium, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

We apologize for any inconvenience to you during your stay. This was an isolated incident and we can assure all of our guest that this kind of behavior is not tolerated at The highlands. The proper authorities were called and the problem was taken care of.
Thank you again for your comments
The Highlands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Great stay as usual. Stayed 9 days and this location by far had the most beautiful display of brilliant color. Friendly staff always cares for your needs. Great location lets you avoid the traffic in town by using the bypass. 30+ years of "A Little Piece of Heaven"

Room Tip: 106 is a 2 bedroom 2 bath with a great view and your patio steps out to pool and hot tub. Brand ne...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank cmickeyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#9 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Condominium

Address: 855 Campbell Lead Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4325
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range: £103 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlands was severely damaged in the Gatlinburg wildfires on November 28. We are now in the process of rebuilding the Premier Condominium Development. This will be a brand new property and will be reopened as soon as possible. Hopefully within 18 months. Bordered on three sides by the scenic Great Smoky Mountains National Park, this luxurious venue offers 64 one to three bedroom, fully furnished condominiums with romantic stone fireplaces, private entrances, private balconies with panoramic views of Mt. LeConte and the Great Smoky Mountains, fully equipped kitchens, relaxing whirlpools, and private baths for every bedroom. On site amenities include two outdoor pools, a large sun deck, two saunas, two hot tubs, and an exercise room.Why Choose Highlands Condominiums for Your Gatlinburg Vacation in the Great Smoky Mountains? Incomparable Views! Our name says it all! The Highlands Condos are located in Gatlinburg's most prime location, surrounded by the National Park and near Ober Gatlinburg with direct access to downtown. Our views are genuine; breathtaking from each private balcony, it is guaranteed not to disappoint! Our location makes it possible to avoid Gatlinburg traffic by following the bypass to your comfortable condo awaiting you. Two beautiful outdoor pools overlooking Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountain National Park make your vacation a delight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Condominium Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing