We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlands Condos - Family Friendly!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Highlands Condominium
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2008

This was our first summer vacation staying at the Highlands, recommended to me by a friend who also stayed there recently. The condo itself was clean, roomy, comfortable,very nicely decorated.A full size washer and dryer in the unit was much appreciated.We had a large balcony with comfortable furniture that extended from the living room to the master bedroom with a beautiful view of the mountains overlooking Gatlinberg. Beautiful view both day and night with the lights in the distance. Was wonderful to have breakfast soaking in the morning view. Quiet - away from the hustle and bustle.A short drive down the mountain to the Smoky Mountain Natl Park Visitor Center and also to the Gatlinberg shopping area. What we liked best were seeing an occasional bear in this area and other wildlife, also enjoying the hot tub which also has a beautiful mountain view. The staff was very helpful and friendly.We spoke to other families there who commented to us that they have stayed there year after year. Would highly recommend as the perfect family getaway! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocky1Cincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2008

OVERALL: If you're trying to enjoy a vacation away from the madness of downtown Gatlinburg, this is the place for you. It is far away from traffic and noise, the view is beyond words. We stayed in the 400 numbered condos, which I recommend because there's a place to sit beyond your patio.

STAFF: We got lost twice on the way to the condo (DON'T USE YAHOO, GOOGLE OR MAPQUEST, just stop at a gas station) but Patrick at the front desk was more than happy to explain the best way to get there.
After that, we didn't see him or need any staff again until it was time to check out. Everything worked, was clean and organized, we made full use of the kitchen (eating out everyday can be expensive).

ISSUE: My only gripe, which was really inconsequential, was that the featherbed had a stain on it, but the front desk was more than happy to have it cleaned.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank VerbalFrenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2008

My wife and I went this past Sept. with her mom and dad, well we actually split the difference of the room. Let me tell you it is well worth the price of admission. Especially in the morning when the sun rises it comes thru the front sliding glass windows and it brighten and warms the whole place up, and if you sit at the bar in the kitchen you can watch both the sun rise and set both are just heaven on earth, and the view of the mountains are just as beautiful especially in the morning when the sun is coming up over them. The only gripe I had was that our condo was next to the end so when we either went some where or had to go down stairs we had to walk to the other end to use either the steps or elevator, I think they need another set of atleast steps on the other end. But it is the most beutiful place I have ever stayed at and I am looking forward to this Sept. when we are planning to return, but one onething is going to be different we are going to have our own condo. And the pictures on the websites just do not due the place justice you just have to experience yourself to see the beauty.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank snuggles1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2007

Highland condos offer the best view of the mountains and Gatlinburg below. The people at the front office are very polite and the service is prompt. We stayed at 701 and the condo is neat and clean with ample space for 4 adults and a 2 year old.
I have to mention that the town of Gatlinburg is so understated. We loved the town and the holiday spirit in this small town is unbeatable.Don't forgot to go "The Pantry House" for breakfast - one of the best breakfast places we have ever been to. There are other interesting stores like the chocolate shop, fudgery, specialty popcorn stores, coffee shops etc. It was pleasant to notice that the typical chain stores were absent. A perfect getaway in a perfect place.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DeAj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2007

As everyone comments, the views of the mountains and Mount Le Conte can't be beat. You also are overlooking Gatlinburg and can see the lights of the city at night, as well as hear a little music from the town below. It's great. We always stay in the first building with no other buildings in front of us, so all we see are mountains. Ask about this when you call. We rent a one bedroom place for 2 of us. The unit is not overly big. There is a small kitchen, living room (with fireplace), a small bath and a bathroom with a whirlpool tub. The units are fairly nice, not luxurious, but nice and comfortable. The best part is the view and that's what keeps us coming back. Prices are also fairly reasonable. We have stayed here 3 of 4 trips.

Stayed: October 2007
4  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

The view was excellent. We stayed in 405 which is a one bedroom. It was a little small for 3 people but overall a very nice experience. The pools were nice and I loved the convenience of being on the by-pass. I didn't have to fight the Gatlinburg traffic. I would go back to the Highlands.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HoboJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2007

We rented a one bedroom that was updated and very clean. The front office along with housekeeping were very polite and helpfull through out our stay, 8th-12th june 2007.
We will stay here again in the future.
You are just off the gatlinburg bypass which makes it very easy to get to gatlinburg or pigeon forge in no time.
what a view!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ukcats4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#9 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Condominium

Address: 855 Campbell Lead Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4325
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £105 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlands was severely damaged in the Gatlinburg wildfires on November 28. We are now in the process of rebuilding the Premier Condominium Development. This will be a brand new property and will be reopened as soon as possible. Hopefully within 18 months. Bordered on three sides by the scenic Great Smoky Mountains National Park, this luxurious venue offers 64 one to three bedroom, fully furnished condominiums with romantic stone fireplaces, private entrances, private balconies with panoramic views of Mt. LeConte and the Great Smoky Mountains, fully equipped kitchens, relaxing whirlpools, and private baths for every bedroom. On site amenities include two outdoor pools, a large sun deck, two saunas, two hot tubs, and an exercise room.Why Choose Highlands Condominiums for Your Gatlinburg Vacation in the Great Smoky Mountains? Incomparable Views! Our name says it all! The Highlands Condos are located in Gatlinburg's most prime location, surrounded by the National Park and near Ober Gatlinburg with direct access to downtown. Our views are genuine; breathtaking from each private balcony, it is guaranteed not to disappoint! Our location makes it possible to avoid Gatlinburg traffic by following the bypass to your comfortable condo awaiting you. Two beautiful outdoor pools overlooking Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountain National Park make your vacation a delight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Condominium Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing