We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“I couldnt have chose a more beautiful place to get married”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Highlands Condominium
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I couldnt have chose a more beautiful place to get married”
Reviewed 25 April 2010

The Highland Condos were the perfect place to stay for my husband and I. During our honeymoon the last place we wanted to stay was in a hotel downtown with ton of kids running up and down the hallway. We also considered a cabin but didnt want to be to far from the city. The Highlands is 5 minutes for the center of everything in Gatlinburg and the view is absolutely AMAZING! The unit was very clean and spacious. Thank you Highlands Staff for making my wedding day and honeymoon perfect. I will be back for my anniversary!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexisThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    102
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
230
135
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2010

My husband found the Highland Condo's on TA and it was a great find. We have been twice and stayed in a 1 bedroom condo with incredible views of the Smoky's. Be sure to stay in one of the first/lowest level of buildings so that you have an unobstructed view. Also, some of them are decorated/updated better than others, sure wish that the owners would recognize that and do some improvements.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We stayed here for our very first time visiting Gatlinburg and it was everything we hoped it would be! Everything was exactly the way it should be and the distance to town was perfect! The drive up the mountain was scary but i survived! The jets could of been a bit cleaner but other then that it was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn08918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

My husband and I came to Gatlinburg to "get away" and celebrate his 30th birthday. I'm 25 and have pretty high standards about decor and surroudnings (environment matters a lot to me!) and Highlands exceeded them all! We stayed in 411 which is a one bedroom unit. It has just been rennovated whereas they took out the jacuzzi and put in a floor to ceiling AMAZING shower. It's big enough for 2 and oh, so beautiful so we didn't mind not having the jacuzzi to crowd the room.

The decor was exquisite. Very modern with a touch of traditional mountain elements. And the view! Oh my word! It was wonderful! There is a little grassy area right outstde our door and when I first booked us I was kinda worried it wouldn't have the "in the mountains" feel like the cabin we stayed in before because there was a grass area and not a drop off. BUT we walked out on to that grassy area and we found our drop off! We are literally IN the mountains. The view is outstanding. Pictures don't do it justice.

The kitchen was well stocked with everytihng you'd need. There's a flat screen tv in both the living room and bedroom. And a fireplace..which we couldn't get going except the first night...we don't have much experience with wood burning fireplaces :o) And the bed....OH MAN! It was SO comfortable! We took a nap when we first got here and we were just giddy with how comfortable and cozy it was.

The price was great too. We came during their 4 night for $328 special. That's an amazing price in my opinion. Especially for what you get. The drive up here isn't hard at all. We watched their youtube video and then also called before we headed out and his directions got us here without a problem. The staff was also VERY friendly. We never had a problem during our stay so the only time I've talked to them is when I've been booking (and called back because on their website the pictures were different than their Facebook page because of the remodel) and when we checked in. But the man was super nice and friendly.

We haven't used to hot tub, pool, or excersize room. It's still chilly here so no pool but maybe the hot tub tonight. If you are wanting a one bedroom condo with amazing views and an exceptional price unit 411 at the Highlands is a hit!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2009

This was our first visit to the Smoky Mountains and Highlands Condos featured comfortable accommodations with amenities in a tranquil setting. We stayed in #415, a one bedroom unit, which matched most of our expectations. Loved the view and listening to the mountain songbirds from the terrace. We were just a few miles from downtown Gatlinburg; about a 10 minute drive. Living room was comfortable and kitchen was equipped with small appliances, full size refrigerator and dish washer. Bedroom was a little crowded with the jacuzzi tub but the bed was large & comfortable. Plenty of pillows, blankets and towels. A couple minor suggestions for improvement: broader range for the wifi as it was not accessible inside this unit, pots & pans were limited and a bit worn, the gas grill in the picnic area wouldn’t light. The shower is really small but we were aware of this from reading other reviews. Outside pool & hot tub were just across the parking lot and up the stairs; both were clean, temp was good in the hot tub and sun lounge chairs were available. Wifi was available just outside the unit’s front door which faces the building where the office is located.

Parking is $5 in Gatlinburg but many of the restaurants offer free parking in the evenings for patrons (validation with receipt). The Aquarium is excellent, the tram to Ober Gatlinburg offered great views of the mountains and be sure to stop in at the Sugarland Visitors Center for info about the park. Cades Cove is about an hour away and Laurel Falls is nearby and one of the shorter trails to see a nice waterfall. The Laurel Falls trail was listed as ‘easy’ but I would classify it as ‘moderate’ due to the steep grade and the condition of the trail in some spots.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My husband and I stayed in room 403 this summer. It was wonderful!! The room was nicely decorated, the jacuzzi tub was fabulous, and the view was breathtaking! You are never bothered by anyone while you stay there - it is much nicer than a hotel. Another great thing about the Highlands is that it is up the mountain but it's not too steep or too long of a drive to get there. We will always stay at the Highlands - NO MORE hotels on the strip in Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg. The prices are great too!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzieno6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, Mississippi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I have been staying at the Highlands for years. This trip was a honeymoon trip with my wife. We stayed in room 704, which is in the group of condos across the street from the main office & condos.
First the room- no complaints for the decor, everything looked clean and well kept. This unit has its own washer/dryer, which is a plus, however it is a small set- we couldn't wash more than 3 or 4 towels at one time.
Our condo was a 2 bedroom unit, with king sized beds in both rooms. The beds were the low point of the stay, as they were both quite uncomfortable. I usually wound up heading for the couch before sunrise. We also had a whirlpool tub in the condo, which was nice. It was large enough for two, although stepping in and out was a little tricky.

The building we were in has its own pool & hot tub. The pool is nice, the deep end is around 5 or 6 feet deep. The hot tub was nice the first day we were there, but after that the heater wasn't working- the hot tub wasn't hot!

The view from our balcony is wonderful- you are looking directly out at the mountains left and right. The view of Gatlinburg itself is a bit obstructed by trees though.

Overall, I would recommend the Highlands to anyone looking to be away from the crowds of downtown Gatlinburg, but within easy driving of the city, Pigeon Forge, and the National Park. The amenities are good, with kitchens and jacuzzi's in every unit, free wi-fi internet access, helpful staff, and spectacular views.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefwdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Condominium

Property: The Highlands Condominium
Address: 855 Campbell Lead Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4325
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlands was severely damaged in the Gatlinburg wildfires on November 28. We are now in the process of rebuilding the Premier Condominium Development. This will be a brand new property and will be reopened as soon as possible. Hopefully within 18 months. Bordered on three sides by the scenic Great Smoky Mountains National Park, this luxurious venue offers 64 one to three bedroom, fully furnished condominiums with romantic stone fireplaces, private entrances, private balconies with panoramic views of Mt. LeConte and the Great Smoky Mountains, fully equipped kitchens, relaxing whirlpools, and private baths for every bedroom. On site amenities include two outdoor pools, a large sun deck, two saunas, two hot tubs, and an exercise room.Why Choose Highlands Condominiums for Your Gatlinburg Vacation in the Great Smoky Mountains? Incomparable Views! Our name says it all! The Highlands Condos are located in Gatlinburg's most prime location, surrounded by the National Park and near Ober Gatlinburg with direct access to downtown. Our views are genuine; breathtaking from each private balcony, it is guaranteed not to disappoint! Our location makes it possible to avoid Gatlinburg traffic by following the bypass to your comfortable condo awaiting you. Two beautiful outdoor pools overlooking Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountain National Park make your vacation a delight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Condominium Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing