We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A basic but somewhat 'tired' motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Ranked #46 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A basic but somewhat 'tired' motel”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The location is good, the river views are lovely, however the Inn itself needs to be dragged kicking and screaming into the 21st century. There is something of a 1960s 70s feel about Gatlinburg that is fun and fascinating, but this Inn needs some modernising as it is just plain worn out.

For the first time ever whilst travelling I had to ask for another room due to a blocked basin that they were obviously trying to fix, a bucket of green liquid having been left in the room. The next room was an improvement on the first, but I had only 2 small hand towels and no bath towel, thank goodness I am not that big! I felt I should go and ask for more, but having already moved rooms and being rather wet, I thought I would wait. The following day I had about 6 towels.

The close proximity to the river probably contributed to a feeling of dampness in the room and in the carpets, but maybe not...

Photos taken at time of check-in to first room.

Room Tip: Sadly, I would suggest staying at the Days Inn, round the corner, where Rocky Waters guests have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LNT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    89
    54
    37
    34
See reviews for
57
121
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We arrived on a holiday weekend. We booked through hotwire because it was rated a 3 star. The last 3 star we had booked with hotwire was the Sherraton in St.Louis, so we were expecting something comparable...WRONG! The best thing about this place is the river, and that's only if you can stand to be on the balcony with all of the spiders! We were allowed to check in early which was a plus since we had been driving all day. We opened our balcony door and were hit in the face by spider webs. We entered the room and it smelled like mildew. The dust was so thick on the headboards I had to dust before we went to bed. The ceiling in the bathroom had a hole in it. The tub was so dirty we didn't bathe in it. The refrigerator had food in it. Our coffee maker had mold in it. Only one lamp had a lightbulb. The furniture was nasty and stained. At bed time my daughter and I climbed in the bed only to find we were sharing it with 2 spiders. It would have done us no good to complain since every hotel/motel was booked solid so we contacted hotwire upon our return. Hotwire was great. They refunded us half of our money. We also took pictures and sent them to hotwire. They are re-rating the motel. I would maybe recommended this place for a guys weekend of partying, but definately nothing more.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ALF1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Unicoi, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We have stayed at Rocky Water's since 1978 when we were married, we go back just about every year. We always stay street side, open the door to the porch and you are looking over the creek and have privacy. Its not a fancy place at all but it is quiet and you can walk up the street to downtown Gatlingburg. They need to work on the pool street side it needs a remake. They still have the same chairs they had in 1978. It is more sentimental for us, just a nice getaway for a couple of days.

Room Tip: We like street side the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The motel is from the 1960's and was top of the line then. We just spent 4 nights at Rocky Waters and will absolutely not go back. The pics online are more than deceiving. The only nice thing is the balcony overlooking the beautiful river and the once or twice visit from Frasier the Crane. Rooms were outdated, doors stuck and the AC was totally worn out to the point I didn't sleep but 2-3 hours a night for the noise it made. No use complaining, paid cash and couldn't afford to go elsewhere expecting no refund. The pool was a joke. The furniture was so demolished and old who knew if it could hold a person 50 lbs. Rocky Waters you need to have the place bulldozed and start over if you want a stream of good clientele. What a joke! We will NEVER go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We got this hotel from a Hotwire deal and it was the worst roon I had ever seen. Hotwire said it was a 3 star hotel....more like 1 sta.r The first bad thing was the desk worker was standing outside talking to someone when I pulled up, then asked me "you need something?" When I got my keys and got to the room the van in the room next to us double parked, so we had to take another rooms parking spot. As soon as I opened the door I was hit in the face by a spider web. There was mold on the sink and a huge water stain in the bathroom, the paint of the walls was coming off, 2 kinds of hair on each bed, huge stains on the chairs, and dust on everything. To top it off the people next to us were somking and all the some came into our room. I called Hotwire and told them what was going on and they sent me to another hotel(of course I had to pay more for a better hotel).

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a well known hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I would suggest that you go further in town to stay in Gatlinburg. We checked in on Thursday night and to my surprise from some of the reviews that I read, this place was disgusting. There were stains on the carpet in front of the vanity that were sticky. I noticed black mold on the ceiling in the bathroom. And the king size bed was terrible. If you like sleeping in the mountains you will love this bed. Sank so bad in the middle you could not turn on your side. I had to keep a pillow against my back to try and level out the bed. Rethink this decision.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My son and I just returned from a stay at Rocky Waters. The room was extremely nice and very clean. There was an issue with the hot water, but the motel took care of it immediately and the employee they sent was so nice and helpful! I highly recommend this motel for a reasonably priced and nostalgic stay in Gatlinburg. We go every winter at this time and skipped Rocky Waters the past two years, but will stay they from now on when in Gatlinburg.

Room Tip: If you want a room away from the street side, this is the one two choose. Beautiful view of the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy40220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.9 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#39 of 78 in Gatlinburg
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Waters Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Waters Motor Inn

Property: Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Address: 333 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4963
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Waters Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rocky Waters Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Waters Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
Rocky Waters Hotel
Rocky Waters Gatlinburg
Rocky Waters Inn Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing