We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We chose this place based on the location and the fact each room has a private balcony overlooking the river. We could not have been more pleased with the view, cleanliness, and the helpfulness of the staff. We were disappointed to find out the hot tub here was no longer working, but we could use the one at the sister building next door. The balcony and river alone made it worthwhile - the shower was lacking, but we were still quite pleased for the price and location.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the river....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAGBGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

This place is terrible. It looks nothing like the pictures on expedia. The pool is at another hotel 200 yards away. The continental breakfast is at another hotel. And even the guest washers and dryers are at another hotel. I should have booked at the other hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Rocky waters was Great!!!! Easy check in!!! You have a numbered parking spot close to your room. Every room has a private balcony overlooking the water. When we got there the waters were low but the heavy rains made it raging waters it was peaceful just to sit on the balcony and relax. The facility had a second story pool but all guests could use the pool and hot tub across the stream at the Days Inn. Also the breakfast was at the Days Inn. I don't go to Gatlinburg to stay in a fancy hotel but to stay in rustic charm. The room was great.

Room Tip: Any room overlooks the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank theLman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked a non-smoking double room for 3 nights.. Check in was nice, the person at the front desk was nice and the lobby looked nice. Our first impressions was, "This is nice!" We had stayed here before, but across the river. (It was about 7 years ago).

Okay, so.. here goes in chronological order! We find our parking space, and see it's right beside our door, so we're thinking this is awesome. We get to the door, open it and the smell literately will knock you down, it's not just a musty older, it was pure filth! So, we've read reviews about bedbugs, so we stripped our beds and looked them top to bottom, we found nothing but dust and garbage... We go ahead and bring our things in and head back out into town, come back and we're all ready to take a nice hot shower, but.. oh wait! No hot water! We call the front desk and they say "Just wiggle the knob a little harder, and make sure it's turned on." We wiggled every knob and made sure it was all turned on, even turned it the other direction.. Still, no hot water! We take our cold showers and go to bed. We wake up the next morning, and still, no hot water so we walk to the front office and they tell us we have no maintenance until 10:00 am. Around 8
7:45 there is a knock on the door and it's a man who doesn't even work there, they called him to come check the water, and he says "You've got hot water, it's just on backwards." Well, we had plans for Dollywood, so we left around 8:15am. They left a note on our door saying they couldn't enter the room because we put out our do not disturb sign (we don't want people messing around with our things, we have experience with nosey maids). Get back that night and find that our entire food pantry that we had brought had been destroyed by ants. Not just the occasional one or two, but so many we threw away over $150 worth of food, GOOD food... Not to mention, the ants were already there, they actually had dead ones hanging on the wall. We went to the front office and complained about everything that had happened to us, and all they offered was a $20 refund. I advise you, DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE. We paid $267.00 to stay these three days, and I'm telling you, it was NOT worth the money. Hard beds, no hot water, bugs, the air conditioner stinks, the rooms are so nasty, the chairs are covered in stains, you name it, something is wrong with it. This is the LAST time I will ever, EVER stay here. I'll be staying at Edgewater from NOW ON... Sometimes things are worth that extra dollar, and this hotel isn't worth the $89-$99 a night. NO WAY. Buyers, BEWARE.

Room Tip: There is in no way a good way to stay here. These rooms are CRAP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank EKUPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Had a king non smoking room. The couch had stains all over it and it the room did not have adequate lighting. The bathtub was clogged when i took a shower and the water pressure was weak. Definately not worth $100 a night. We stayed in room 105 btw facing the creek..which was the best part. This is a older hotel and could use some updating. Also the pictures online are not at all what the rooms actually look like..

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shughes7312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel about 7 years ago, so decided to stay again as we were traveling through Gatlinburg. All I can really say is that our stay was OK. The room was rather dark, as lighting didn't seem to be in the places where you really needed it (but the bathroom was well lit). It is advertised to include breakfast, but we weren't told where it would be and did not go search for it. The McDonald's in town provided breakfast, although it wasn't free! And the maid knocked at around 8:30 am to see if the room was vacated so she could begin cleaning. My husband learned what that "Do not disturb" sign is used for now!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that isn't right next to Parkway Street! It gets noisy before 7 am with all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here two nights and the rooms were nice and clean. Balcony overlooked the river and was beautiful! The kids enjoyed the pool. The hotel is close to town and we walked everywhere. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
0.9 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 78 in Gatlinburg
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chalet Inn
Chalet Inn
#49 of 78 in Gatlinburg
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Waters Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Waters Motor Inn

Address: 333 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4963
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £32 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Waters Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rocky Waters Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Waters Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
Rocky Waters Hotel
Rocky Waters Gatlinburg
Rocky Waters Inn Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing