We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Town House Motel
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Clyde, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

On the main strip, Once you get there and park you never have to drive again until you leave. It is a older motel and darker than the newer ones but its still a great deal. Rates are always the best in town. The staff is very friendly, the room service is very polite. The rooftop pool and deck is one of the best views in Gatlinburg. Fireplaces in most rooms with free firewood. Plenty of parking.

Room Tip: I personally like the third floor, better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funinthesun28721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    51
    28
    4
    7
See reviews for
45
50
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontiac, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We visited Gatlinburg from 10/9-10/11, we got into town on the 9th after driving all night. We walked the strip and compared prices with features provided and discovered that this was our best bet. We didnt want to blow our budget on the hotel, but we didnt want cheap either and this provided the best of both. Other than a small tv, outdated bathroom, and no breakfast, this is a great hotel. What they lack in quality compared to the expensive hotels they make up with prices and friendly staff. The staff made us feel very welcome and even let us leave our car in the lot after we checked out so we could go back and hit the parkway one more time. When we come back to Gatlinburg, we definitely would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almont2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I haven't researched other similar places in Gatlinburg to know how the price compares, but I assume it's a good deal. The room seemed clean enough, but there was a smell of some sort in the air that I couldn't quite identify. Nothing terrible, but noticeable. Maybe it was this that made me nervous about the cleanliness of the blankets, carpet, etc., even though there were no obvious signs of dirt.

The rooms are also fairly dated, if that bothers you. For example, the counter surface in the bathroom sink has worn away from the sink itself in spots, and there were visible patch jobs in the walls. There was also a wall unit air conditioner that kicked on and off frequently and was kind of annoying when I was trying to get to sleep.

On the plus side, the location is great if you're there for the shops and entertainment in Gatlinburg. And it's right across the street from the convention center.

Overall, this is definitely a step below your average mid-range hotel/motel. Probably not the best place for a romantic getaway or for those who want an up-to-date room or lots of amenities (no irons in the room, for example, although a fabric steamer was available in the office.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert55229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed four nights at this motel for a bridge tournament. It was just across the street from the Convention Center, which housed the tournament games. However, the room was very dark, even with the lights on, and the bed was very very unconfortable. It felt like there were steel rods in it. The room was clean enough, but nothing at the motel would propel me to make reservations for next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at the Royal Townhouse on a packed Saturday night in Gatlinburg. It was a basic clean room. It worked out good because we were not in town to stay in the room. There is no shampoo or hair dryer but the cable and wifi worked perfectly. Some rooms have fireplaces. If you are used to higher class hotels this is not the place for you. We have stayed there 3 times this year mainly because the location is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I have stayed at this hotel quite often and up until this trip this has been a good place to stay. But, this time the room was a little dirty. With old gummy bears, hairs, and other miscellaneous stuff on the bathroom floor. I dont believe this will be enough to keep me from staying here again, since I have had no problems in the past. This hotel is within easy walking distant of everything downtown Gatlinburg and is directly across from the convention center.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DfromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed here for a weekend ladies' retreat. It is the best hotel I have stayed at in Gatlinburg in this price range.
The room was older as the ones on the strip are but very clean. The room has a mini fridge and there is a microwave at the front desk area.
The property is right across from the convention center and convenient to the strip.
There is no breakfast offered. I did not miss the usual stale muffins but some in our group were disappointed.
The staff was very efficient--we had a light bulb out and it was fixed within minutes of our reporting it.
I would rccommend this to anyone wanting a cheap room on the strip. I have stayed in a lot worse rooms at other nearby places for the same price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beckyfromtennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#22 of 78 in Gatlinburg
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Creekside
Quality Inn Creekside
#32 of 78 in Gatlinburg
623 reviews
0.0 mi away
LeConte View Motor Lodge
LeConte View Motor Lodge
#33 of 78 in Gatlinburg
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reagan Resorts Inn
Reagan Resorts Inn
#41 of 78 in Gatlinburg
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Town House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Town House Motel

Property: Royal Town House Motel
Address: 937 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3103
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 82
Also Known As:
Royal Town House Hotel Gatlinburg
Royal Town Hotel
Royal Town Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing