We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Summit of Gatlinburg
Ranked #45 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We rented our unit through the owner on VRBO - so our unity was top notch! Totally redone last year and updated. Loved that the unit had a fireplace, and the complex provides free firewood to use. The mountain road up to The Summit was a bit intimidating (we arrived at night), but once you got the way of it, the road was no issue. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tubs, found them very clean, and the staff at the front desk very friendly. The views from our unit was amazing! Felt like you were on the top of the world. A definite must see is the Smoky Mountain National Park! Easy drive into Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge. We will come here to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharkfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    56
    27
    13
    14
See reviews for
93
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls of Rough, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have stayed at The Summit twice , once with some friends and we liked it so much we took our family back in June . The staff at the desk where very friendly and polite. We had a issue with our reservation being posted in the wrong month and it was fixed right away. The view was spectacular and the rooms nice. Our second stay we had a mountain view and the condo was excellent! It is a drive and the road very curvy but it is the mountains right! I hope to go back this year!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butlerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I would not recommend this place to anyone. We checked in late, the room wasn't very clean, Internet didn't work the entire stay. The men I assume are employees reeked of marijuana when we passed them and we're very vulgar loud and dirty looking. I assume that it was summit staff because of seeing them in the office. The manager must not care about the quality of employees she hires. The only pleasant one we encountered was the lady that worked at night. The rooms are not well maintained and need a better cleaning.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mary6389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband, 2 Kids and I have stayed at the Summitt once before and stayed in an "OK" unit. We stayed in unit #8305 and was very pleasantly surprised. This was a studio with loft, and we LOVED it. It had a very mountainy feel, lots of bears on the walls and on the mantle. The beds were very comfortable and didn't have a problem at all! The bathroom was upgraded with a jetted tub, and updated floors throughout the condo. The only problem I have with this place is the front desk acts like they don't wanna help you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I never write a bad review but this place deserves one. It is on top of a mountain and is about 15 min from town on a very, very steep curvy road. The lobby person at check-in was not very pleasant. She acted like we disturbed her and it was a bother to give us our key. The room stunk like dog or cat urine and had a very large 2 foot brown stain in the hall. It also smelt like a moldy basement. We demanded a room change and they did. The other room still smelled of moldy basement but at least no large stain or urine smell. The view is of some trees in the back. There was a recessed light in the living room that was falling out of the ceiling. The pictures they have on-line are not true representations of the room. I was very disappointed with this place and would never go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

First let me say that my experience was with a TAN property . The complex it self and it's amenities are great . Beautiful views , nice pool area . The Jacuzzi is a comfort after a long day of hiking or shopping . Although it did smell like too much chlorine everyday. They had a very nice laundry facility on site .
If you go I strongly recommend you do NOT stay in unit #3302. It is deplorable . We had a three bedroom unit , which I later learned was a lease by TAN and not owned by them . The bed in the master felt like it was made of corn husks rather than a mattress. There was a large split in the bathroom floor that had been taped together . The handles on the faucets were striped , so you either had very hot water or cold water . The towel bar kept falling down . There was no screen in the window . The furniture was very worn and out dated . Looked like it had been purchased at a hotel liquidation sale . I would have passed it up on at a yard sale . The couch was so uncomfortable, sitting thru a movie was impossible .The cables on the TV ( which was nice and fairly new ) were not the proper type to allow you to watch DVD's with a quality picture ( everything had a red halo ) . The legs on the chairs to the dinner table were so loose I thought they would fall apart at anytime. The carpet in master bath was so stretched , that it causes a tripping hazard .
I can say that the kitchen did have everything you could need to cook all your meals if wanted .
I would strongly recommend to TAN members or anyone wishing to stay there , DO NOT book unit #3302. .

Room Tip: Do not book unit #3302
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
us army, everywhere
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Where to start. First off i will give the only two positives about this facility. The view and the quiet outside of your room. Now for the rest. The night we arrived we checked in successfully and after walking into the room we noticed the fire extinguisher for the room, by the door, is completely empty, and had just been "inspected", this was not a deal breaker in and of itself but was a warning sign of things to come. We mentioned it to the front desk at the same time as our next adventure and to the maintenance guys we had the joy of meeting later, but alas it was never replaced and excuses were plentiful When your in your unit you have a front row seat for the audio show that is anyone else in the building as sound travels wonderfully between the units. This brings us to our second issue and that is the reception of a gift from the unit above in the form of water coming through our bathroom light fixtures and ceilings. We called up the after hours staff to report it and you would have thought i asked her to walk the mountain and not just from building four to the office. Once again, excuses and "i guess i can have maintenance look in the morning". Add on to this that the back porch is rotted, black mold in the edges of the bath that we discovered thanks to my son and the joy of a shower door that is self removing due to lack of attachment and the picture becomes clearer. Oh i forgot to mention that the shower door, when it decided it was time for its own vacation, also decided to take a small piece of my finger and some blood with it, who knows, it might get lonely on the trip onto my foot. I contacted my booking agent and they contacted the office as i got almost nowhere speaking to the front desk staff and they stated she (front desk staff) was refusing to issue a refund because i had not complained enough to her. Also the ceiling in the master bath shows definitive proof of this water issue being ongoing as the joints are separating and falling down. Save your money, time, and patience don't book here. Unless of course you want to experience the wonderful view from your own personal pseudo-slum environment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank armora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
2.0 mi away
Chalet Inn
Chalet Inn
#46 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit of Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit of Gatlinburg

Property: The Summit of Gatlinburg
Address: 1260 Ski View Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4514
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit of Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Summit of Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Of Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
The Summit Gatlinburg
The Summit Hotel Gatlinburg
Summit Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing