We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TAN Room - No Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Summit of Gatlinburg
Ranked #47 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in TAN room 3304 - 2 bedrooms with double beds and a loft with two twins, sleeps 8. My first concern was the lack of security - no TAN staff on site and we had a code to enter the room. Is it ever changed?? The stove was very tiny, same with the dishwasher. Iron was broken along with the cover to the drain cover in the sink in the hall bathroom. Hall bathroom's toilet ran and woke me up more than once each night. The room with the second bathroom (which I would consider the master bedroom) didn't have a TV set but the second bedroom did. Beds were VERY uncomfortable - a foam top was placed on top of mattress. Also, internet service was only found in a few places in the unit - not in convenient locations like the kitchen. There were no general supplies given, only the toilet paper on the rolls: no hand soap, no paper towels, no dishwasher detergent and no dish soap. The floor was also curling up the kitchen by the dishwasher. Lastly, the unit's temperature couldn't be maintained: the second bedroom was freezing and the loft was sweltering.
We have a time share with Westgate as well as TAN. All TAN facilities that we have used (Myrtle Beach, SC & Egg Harbor, WI) have always disappointed us. I do not recommend them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for The Summit of Gatlinburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have stayed here several times in the past two years. Building 2 and 3 do not have mountain views but all the others offer breathtaking views of the mountains. The staff is very helpful and the indoor and outdoor pools are super clean. You can't judge all units by what one or two say. Most condos rentals here are privately owned so each one has its own decor, cleaning crew and or management (usually on vrbo.com). The ones we stayed in were beautiful and spotless!

Room Tip: The best views are on floors two and three.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keybrds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Rented unit 4307 from Expedia. It is located about 3 miles up a mountain with hair pin turns, no guard rails and far away from the tourist areas. Once you leave, you will stay away for the day.When entering the front door we were met with dingy, stained rugs in hallway and stairs. Up 3 flights with no elevator. The unit is OLD. Furniture, I've seen better at flea markets. Twin beds didn't even have fitted sheets, flat sheets with full size blankets folded in half to lay on top of sheets. Dingy towels, etc. etc. Stay downtown in one of the many beautiful hotels. Then you can take a break, relax, and go out again. There is a trolley that will take you around for $2.00 a day. It was a great vacation in spite of the accomodations. There are attractions for everyone.

Room Tip: Stay downtown. Greystone is near the Aquarium and looks beautiful.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onsetfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were in building 8, room 8208. It has a beautiful view. We had great weather, and spent a lot of time in the pool, which is very nice. We also used the hot tubs, they were great, but the building needs some upgrading, but still nice. The grounds were very well kept. Our room was VERY clean. Had all the amenities we needed. The drive up is a little un-nerving, as it is very steep, and winding all the way up the mountain, but that's where you get the best view, and that is what we wanted this time. The only reason for the 4 star rating and not 5, would be that the linens have seen better days, they really need updated. The sofa sleeper mattress desperately needs replaced. Husband has restless legs, so some nights I slept on the sofa sleeper, it is a very thin worn out mattress, and felt the bar in my back the entire night. It did rain some while we were there, but you couldn't sit outside on the balcony, because there was no shield above you from the other balcony, so the rain poured down on our balcony. I did see some of the others had shields, that would have been nice But also know, there are no elevators, hubby has a bad back, we were on floor 2, which we knew from the beginning, but would be nice if they could somehow put in an elevator, especially dragging luggage up and down the stairs. Overall, our stay at the Summit was great. We would definitely return. The staff were very, very nice. This was my first trip to Gatlinburg, and was very happy and satisfied with The Summit. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Buildings 6, 7 and 8 appear to have the best views. Level 2 and above. But there are no elevators.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darbyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Recently spent a weekend in one of the studio w/loft condos . The place was really nice . Beds were really comfortable . Our only real complaint is the housekeeping . It appeared that they don't dust often , really messed with my cousin's allergies . I'll definitely be going back !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladytitansoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I saw the review dated Dec 2013 regarding room 3302 and unfortunately assumed that the room would have been fixed. No worse then ever. The thing that really gets me is that it wouldn't take much to make this space great!!! Carpeting in the master bedroom all stretched perfect for a tripping hazard. The dishwasher is a small size which is fine except for the plates in the cabinets that are to big to fit. It literally is an adventure -- what a fun way to spend some time loading it. Considering this room can sleep up to 8 people-- the tiny salvation army couch and chair with stains does not give enough room for entertaining. The TV they give you -- is small for the space, something not right with the speakers so you have to really crank it up to hear and not only is there a red hue when playing movies but the picture is not a full screen even with all adjustments made. One of the plastic chairs outside on terrace was completely cracked. Floor has a dip in the hallway and flooring by dishwasher is coming up from probably a leak. I heard the room was freshly painted-- if so literally everything painted green--- trim, doors etc just about everything same color except the rug. The front door appears to be one that you can beak into with a give a half and inch -- whats stopping a crowbar? On a positive note the woman at the front desk was very nice. The pool and hot tubs were great for hours of fun for the kids -- although outside pool was very chilly. Overall staff was very good and laundry facility was nice. Overall -- it is an average place but felt irritated that the room was not in good shape and truly wouldn't cost much but a little time repainting and good quality furniture and better TV. Shame on TAN for not keeping up with this place. Henry who helps to manage this place did come out and was very kind, friendly and attentive and really tried to do what he could to help make the situation better!! Thank you Henry!!

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Chgochris1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We rented our unit through the owner on VRBO - so our unity was top notch! Totally redone last year and updated. Loved that the unit had a fireplace, and the complex provides free firewood to use. The mountain road up to The Summit was a bit intimidating (we arrived at night), but once you got the way of it, the road was no issue. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tubs, found them very clean, and the staff at the front desk very friendly. The views from our unit was amazing! Felt like you were on the top of the world. A definite must see is the Smoky Mountain National Park! Easy drive into Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge. We will come here to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharkfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
464 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#36 of 78 in Gatlinburg
491 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
2.4 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#18 of 78 in Gatlinburg
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit of Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit of Gatlinburg

Address: 1260 Ski View Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4514
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £78 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit of Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Summit of Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Of Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
The Summit Gatlinburg
The Summit Hotel Gatlinburg
Summit Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing