We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great Hilton Garden Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I’ve stayed at many Hilton Garden Inns, and this one is not among the best. The hotel is clean, the high speed internet works well, and the room is equipped with most of the standard HGI amenities, but there were numerous annoying aspects to my stay that would cause me to choose another hotel for my next visit to the area.

Among the problems and annoyances: a heater/air conditioner with a fan that could not be set to stay on, so it loudly cycled on and off all night long; a cheap replacement shower head that allowed barely enough flow to rinse shampoo from my hair (as opposed to the great standard HGI shower head); only one regular coffee K-cup for the new Keurig system in the room (but curiously, two decafs and two teas); a bed best described as a “taco bed” with uncomfortable deep valleys on both sides, even with the adjustable bed set on the firm setting; and a clock radio that was more than three hours off, but could not be reset by the guest. The Business Center computers had pop-ups blocked, so I could not print my boarding pass.

The staff are friendly, and the standard HGI breakfast is well-delivered.

Stay here if you must; consider other options if possible, until management tends to the finer details.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmad E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and share about your experience with us. I will make sure to share your comment with my team and use it to help us improve the guest experience.
Sincerely,
Ahmad Erbinieh
General Manager, Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/Greenbelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Clean, professional, and reasonably priced. I appreciated that the desk clerks wear uniforms as that seems much classier than the second hotel on our route, where they wore T-shirts with questionable logos. I highly recommend the Hilton Garden Inn in Greenbelt, MD

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmad E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your positive review. You can always count on us! .We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Ahmad Erbinieh General Manager, Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/Greenbelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This month I found myself having to work in College Park, Md so I chose this Hotel because it was just minutes from the business location. Let me just say that Greenbelt Drive as well as all the other parkways and highways around here seem to be extremely congested due to the fact that this location is between Baltimore and Washington DC. But if you are looking into this location you probably already knew that. Walker Drive is part of a business park and there are a few other hotel choices on the same circle just fyi. Ok, I checked in and was greeted at the front desk and told I had a room reserved on the 1st floor (I said 1st floor huh, ok). The room was the typical single room with the king size bed but wow was it noisy all through the night. People conversing loudly in the hallway, doors slamming. I should of changed rooms that night but I decided to wait until morning. Before breakfast at the IHOP down the street I went to the HGI front desk and spoke to the very pleasant woman who explained that my room was reserved on the 1st floor because that was the preference that I had chosen on my Hilton Honors program. I explained that I must of filled something out incorrectly or there must of been some sort of error because I wouldn't of picked the 1st floor at any hotel. Anyways, I was upgraded at no extra charge to a 6th floor suite which was huge!! Much quieter for some much needed sleep, if you have read my other reviews you would have noticed a trend or a pattern here...stay on the higher floors if you can!!! Overall, it was a very nice stay but a suggestion to the manager would be to take a closer look at the carpeting for tares and bathroom tiles for cleanliness because it is noticable. One of the bathroom sinks was actually tilting on one side, appeared as if the building adhesive gave way at some point in the past. I could only imagine how difficult it is to keep up with all the issues that a hotel must.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OGnouseforaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmad E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback! And we are very pleased to learn about your satisfaction with your stay and service provided by our wonderful staff. Im glad that we were able to rectify the situation and upgrade your reservation to one of our comfy large suites Please come back and visit us again. We appreciate your business.
Sincerely, Ahmad Erbinieh General Manager, Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/Greenbelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Hilton Garden Inn in Greenbelt. The parking was great, the lobby was furnished nicely and the rooms were spacious. The room was clean. Oh, and the bed.. it was SO comfortable!! The staff was welcoming, always smiled and greeted me. I will definitely stay here if ever in the area, again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Rhonda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmad E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write and share about your experience with us. It is always nice to hear such wonderful comments about our team and hotel. I will make sure to share your comment with my team.
Sincerely,
Ahmad Erbinieh
General Manager, Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/ Greenbelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Great value in this area. Picking hotels around DC can be difficult but this hotel was clean and safe. It was close to dining with Friday's being a very short walk. It was also right off the highway so getting in and out of the area was great. Not too far away from the Baltimore Airport and is a great option if visiting the area on business or leisure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmad E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! Please come back and visit us again. We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
Ahmad Erbinieh
General Manager, Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/Greenbelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Had never visited this hotel. We do a lot of traveling and this hotel was a gem. The staff were extremely accommodating to everyone in my group. Great to know people want to go above and beyond! The food and service were beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmad E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you so much for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/Greenbelt. I appreciate your wonderful comments and sharing your experience as well. We are all committed to provide hospitable service and I am glad you experienced this during your stay here.
Sincerely,
Ahmad Erbinieh
General Manager, Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/Greenbelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very comfortable hotel in the vicinity of University of Maryland. Room was clean, nice size and bed was comfortable. Very nice lobby with complimentary coffee and cookies available all the time. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank lovevacation66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmad E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

You can always count on us! Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Ahmad Erbinieh
General Manager, Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/Greenbelt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenbelt
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenbelt
Courtyard Greenbelt
#5 of 5 in Greenbelt
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greenbelt Marriott
Greenbelt Marriott
#4 of 5 in Greenbelt
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Washington D.C. - Greenbelt
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Greenbelt
Residence Inn Greenbelt
#2 of 5 in Greenbelt
227 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt

Address: 7810 Walker Dr, Greenbelt, MD 20770-3209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range: £90 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt hotel is conveniently located just off I-95 and Hwy 495 (exit 23) in Maryland. Minutes away from BWI airport and strolls away from the Washington, DC attractions. Above and Beyond: Each guest room or luxury suite at the Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt features complimentary high-speed internet access, a spacious work desk and two telephones with data ports and voice mail. Standard amenities in all of our rooms include a microwave, coffeemaker, refrigerator, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. The Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt, Maryland hotel features 155 oversized guest rooms including 10 two room suites and 3 700 square feet of meeting space, where events and meeting are your place to shine. Leave the details to our dedicated sales team. We offer On-site catering with high quality and varied menus to compliment any budget. We can accommodate groups from 10 to 300. Call our sales office for details. Why pay downtown prices when you can have all you need for a lot less? The Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt hotel is “Economy Friendly.” We recognize and understand that during these tentative times, a great deal is very important for you and your company. Our hotel has made and continues to make many adjustments to ensure that you are getting the BEST VALUE possible. Complimentary features at the Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt:• Complimentary parking• Complimentary high-speed Internet throughout entire hotel• Complimentary shuttle service to metro station• Complimentary 24 hour Business Center• Complimentary on site state-of the art Fitness Center• Complimentary faxes• Complimentary remote printing from the comfort of your room• Complimentary USA Today paper each weekday• Complimentary Stay Fit Kits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc / Greenbelt Hotel Greenbelt
Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt
Hilton Greenbelt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing