We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good value but not impressed”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here only one night on business. The room was a good value, but I got what I paid for.... Average hotel, very slow front desk check in and check out, average room with carpet that appeared stained. The restaurant offers a breakfast buffet for $10.99... Seriously, holiday inn??? It was exactly the same buffet available at most hotels for FREE- there was nothing about that breakfast that was worth $10.99! Overall, I'm not so sure I'd stay here again... Maybe if I were just passing through again and needed a few hours sleep for a cheap rate.... But I would skip that breakfast for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly3810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for posting your comments. We are sorry that our breakfast was not to your satisfaction, it is something that we are working on. We apologize that your room was less than adequate. This will be addressed with our Housekeeping Staff so that we can prevent this from happening to anybody else.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    164
    98
    30
    14
See reviews for
118
74
49
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The desk staff were very curtious and accommodating. However I do believe they need a younger staff to drive their shuttles. Our stay was 4 nights and 5 days. Because of the distance to anywhere from this hotel a shuttle to the metro was necessary. We were a large group and were all very shaken after each shuttle ride. We even were involved in an accident (no injuries) and were delayed for 45 min before another shuttle could pick us up at the scene. We got a "sorry for the incident and inconvenience" We all thought there should have been at least a free drink/meal or something, but that didn't happen. Our door lock was broke n they did replace it first thing next day which was appreciated. Needs a good cleaning through out. If your going to drink in the bar and have a waiter. (Male). Make sure you ask how much your drinks are. I gave waiter $10.00 to pay for 1 beer n glass of tea. Never saw him again until the next night when I purposely asked how much beer was. He said he didn't know. Asked for a receipt n beer was $3.75. Later bought a round of drinks (3 beers). Gave him $15.00 n got $1.25 change. You figure it out!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pnuts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very sorry for the troubles that you experienced especially the minor accident in the rain. We are happy that nobody was hurt. Thank you for staying with us and we are very sorry for all of the troubles that you had during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

With all the recent positive reviews, I had to double check that I located the correct hotel here on TripAdvisor. Indeed I have and I can only say that my room was filthy, with a layer of grime on anything touched by human hands, from the telephone (especially) to the A/C unit to the light switches. Yes, the essentials were clean -- the toilet, the linens, and the sink. But everything else looked as if it hadn't been touched for months.

As for the rest of the property, it was tired looking and ready for a refresh -- peeling paint in the corridors, dirty walls, dinged-up old metal doors.

If Holiday Inn is, indeed, trying to improve its image, then may want to start here.

Room Tip: Take a close look at your room and if it's as filthy as mine was, ask for another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry that your room was clearly unacceptable, we have addressed all of this with our housekeeping staff. Thank you for staying with us and again we truly apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I am an occasional business traveler on a budget, and spent several days here, using a reservation through an online hotel discount website that was quite reasonable. Check-in was great, Daniel helped me get the type of room I wanted, and answered my questions about getting around the area thoroughly. The hotel looks like an older property that has had some updating over the years. My room was pretty clean, linens were in good shape, and I slept fine. Wireless internet (free) was fair from my 3rd floor room, which also had a fridge and small microwave. This came in handy, as breakfast wasn't included in my room rate. There's a restaurant on-site that I didn't try, and several $5-15 dining options within a 5-minute drive from the hotel. Housekeeping staff was polite, and otherwise average. I used the small, but well-equipped workout room almost every day, and was glad to have that available. There's also a pool that I didn't have time to use.

If I were going to point to anything in need of improvement, I would say the common areas need more thorough and frequent cleaning - hallway carpets, lobby, workout room (fingerprints on the glass, dehumidifier full of water, occasional used paper cups or towels lying around). If this were a little better done, it would be an easy 5-star review. Even with these issues, I'd probably stay again for the price paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terminaldegree07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We are so glad that Daniel at the front desk was so helpful and all of your accommodation needs were met. We have addressed your concerns about the common areas with Housekeeping and just to let you know we have upgraded our complimentary WiFi so that our guests can work as if they were at home. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

There is a guy named Chris at the front desk that is very dedicated to helping customers. He greeted everyone that walks in and out of the hotel, he helped everyone pointing them to any and every direction to and from the hotel. He is more than a front desk guy, he will make sure you are helped in any and every ways he knows how. I believe Good Customer Service is very important in every establishment and this man brings it to every customer that walks into the doors of this hotel.

The joy of knowing someone like that is there in this facility makes my stay extra smooth. This man should be promoted.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etukudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for posting your comments about Chris at the Front Desk. We agree that he is extremely helpful and you are absolutely right that everyone gets taken care of when Chris is working. Thank you for staying with us, we are glad that it was such a great stay for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

FIRST AND FOREMOST...THIS HOTEL PLACES A $50 HOLD ON YOUR CREDIT CARD FOR INCEDENTALS IN ORDER TO GET A ROOM KEY. Other than that, I paid 60 bucks for a top hotel. Nice room, excellent food on ground level, clean. When you stay here you get an at home feel. Room service is a plus. On Friday and Saturday there is a small gathering at the restaurant so get back to the hotel early or late if you want a parking spot. Other than that....excellent..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank new1man9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Holiday Inn Greenbelt. We very much appreciate your reminder about the $50 incidental deposit that we require to check in.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel because it was such a good value and so close to the Metro for getting into Washington. But what made all the difference was how friendly and helpful the staff was. They even helped us get water the afternoon we left. The rooms are okay but could use someplace to hang clothes. Still, I'm definite booking in here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for posting your comments about the Holiday Inn Greenbelt. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenbelt
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
2.2 mi away
Metro Points Hotel - Washington North
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Greenbelt Marriott
Greenbelt Marriott
#4 of 5 in Greenbelt
273 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Greenbelt
Courtyard Greenbelt
#5 of 5 in Greenbelt
169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Greenbelt
Residence Inn Greenbelt
#3 of 5 in Greenbelt
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt

Property: Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Address: 7200 Hanover Dr, Greenbelt, MD 20770-2246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington, DC / Greenbelt completes multi-million dollar renovation! The newly renovated Holiday Inn Washington, DC / Greenbelt is a full-service hotel conveniently located near many government and corporate offices: NASA, Verizon, IRS, FDA, USDA, Lockheed Martin, the University of Maryland in College Park, and New Carrollton Amtrak and Greenbelt Metro stations are within 5 miles. Corporate guests will appreciate the free high-speed Internet, and fitness center. Leisure travelers staying at the Greenbelt hotel will enjoy visiting Six Flags America and the Greenway Center Shopping Center, plus the many attractions in nearby Washington, DC, Baltimore, and Annapolis. Sports enthusiasts will be convenient to FedEx Field - Washington Redskins, RFK Stadium - Washington Nationals and DC United, Verizon Center - Capitals, Wizards, and Mystics. At the newly renovated Holiday Inn Washington DC/Greenbelt, our service is outstanding and our accommodations are superb. Kids Eat Free in Willy K's, our comfortable and recently renovated restaurant and lounge. The Holiday Inn Washington, DC/Greenbelt offers two meeting rooms and is located adjacent to the Martin's Crosswinds Catering Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Dc / Greenbelt Md Hotel Greenbelt
Holiday Inn Greenbelt Nasa
Greenbelt Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing