We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise - Great value for families visiting DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Reviewed 9 August 2009

With the Holiday Inn renovations that are in progress chain-wide, we were pleasantly surprised and very happy with our stay in early August 2009. We realized after making flight bookings that the time to visit DC is during the weekend, when you can get lower cost hotels in central DC after those on government business have left town. All the hotel specials on sites like Travelzoo had low rates at great 3 and even some star hotels (about $100+) but only for Thu to Sun stays. We chose this hotel because of the lower cost for our stay throughout the week. It is in a semi-secluded area surrounded by office buildings so it is very quiet at night, unless your fellow hotels guests are noisy. They have undergone renovations and with new 32 inch plasma TVs, very nice updated rooms, you can't go wrong. Some areas are still in progress, like our bathroom door and trim which looked in really rough shape and needs to be replaced or refurbished. Their website doesn't mention that they have a limited shuttle service, which will take you to either New Carrollton or Greenbelt Metro station, as the hotel is halfway in between. Shuttle hours are limited, 9 am to 7 pm on Mon to Sat and 10 am to 6 pm on Sat. We flew into BWI airport and took the B30 bus to Greenbelt. A better bet would have been the MARC train to New Carrollton but we didn't know the shuttle goes to New Carrollton too, until after we arrived. The shuttle only leaves on the hour, another thing they don't tell you. I recommend that they post a sign or notice. You have to be patient for shuttle. We took the Metro into town every day and then a taxi for the four of us, usually after 9 pm, from New Carollton to the hotel, for $17 before tip (there were extra person charges and another extra late night charge after 9 pm). It's a good 15 minute walk to the mall nearby, with a Safeway, CVS pharmacy, Wendy's, Denny's and Subway. Outdoor pool hours are 10 am to 9 pm so we were disappointed with these hours because we never got to use it. Breakfast not included in regular rate. Overall, an excellent stay when compared to hotels costs in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller228Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2009

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our shuttle service hours have always worked well with the guests. Due to new IHG requirements, we no longer can post our shuttle sign on the lobby desk and have moved it to our business center. We look forward to your return. Thank you for choosing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2009

Wife and I stayed there for 4 days to do the DC tourist thing. Here's the rundown:

Service was quick and with a smile. They allowed us extended check-out with no problem our last day. Remodeled rooms are very nice and clean with surprisingly comfortable beds and pillows. Large 42' TV. Free WI-FI. The fridge and microwave was convenient. If you stay for business, this is a perfect hotel. Worked fine for couple getaway to DC. Very much enjoyed our stay. By the way, the lifeguard's were very nice. Also, take Metro. It's the only way to get around DC.

Just a few negs: The a/c unit is loud when fan turns on. There is also a continuous buzz from the fridge. Though no fault of the hotel, our room's fire detector kept sounding an annoying 'low battery' warning during the middle of our second night.. Pool was cold.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGreenbelt, manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2009

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Maintenance has taken care of everything. We appreciate being notified with any concerns. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Booked a 2 double bed room through Hotwire for $55 per night. The room was very nice, clean, ,kinda new. Nice flat screen TV (I think with DVD hookup) about 42". Nice pool, nothing exceptional. But the beds were the most comfortable that I have EVER slept on in a hotel OR at home! Nice pillows too. And the refrigerator was an actual double door refrigerator with a real freezer...but room sized. A little bit of noise...maintenance was cleaning the concrete outside with a running generator. It started around 10am which affected me because I sleep late. Breakfast was great...good selection, but its not free-$9.99. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamaicaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGreenbelt, manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2009

Thank you for the kind comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

I stayed for four nights on business from the UK. Having read some of the earlier somewhat unfavourable reviews of the hotel, I was intrigued to find out for myself. I chose here because the rates compared very favourably with other choices in the area.
I found the whole experience to much like the more recent reviews. Check-in was fast and efficient. I asked for a high-floor and and was allocated one on the 6th floor. The room was big and recently refurbished with a large screen TV and free wireless internet - a huge benefit compared to the rip-off internet charges at most UK hotels.
Breakfast was available in the adjoining restaurant, free with a voucher. The breakfast was buffet-style and a good choice of hot and cold food.
The location was good and access to the main roads easy.
I liked most the convenience and good quality fittings in the room. I have a very few small observations:
Noise was my main problem. My room overlooked the back and the extremely busy main road which was never quiet - even at 3.am. The refrigerator in the room was noisy when it cut in, so I switched it off at night. Lastly, the soundproofing between the rooms wasn't great and I woke up to next-door's alarm. I suppose I could have asked to switch rooms, but it wasn't really that much of an issue.
Another minor observation was that occasionally I observed that the check-in desk was under-staffed, but it didn't affect me personally.
Lastly, I felt that sometimes the cleaning and maintenance staff that I encountered in the corridors were a little unwelcoming - a little eye-contact and "Hello" makes all the difference!
Overall, please take my observations as positive ones. I was pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay again if in the area in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Stayed three nights to catch some Nationals games.

Pros: 6th floor room was clean, large for a HI, and well appointed with modern furniture, fridge, microwave, plasma (no HD), rocks glasses and elegant art. Very comfortable bed, nice selection of pillows to suit every taste. Quiet business location right off the I-95 with no road traffic, though many food options nearby. Good soundproofing. Was located above bar area which ran until 3AM nightly, but faint noise was offset by relatively quiet A/C unit. Fantastic buffet breakfast with an extensive selection of hot items. Ice machine worked well.

Neutral: There were 2-3 police cars outside the hotel on a nightly basis, and I noticed cops patrolling the lobby area. Good for security, but made me wonder whether this was attributed to incidents in the rowdy bar.

Cons: Odd configuration of parking lot –all spaces are within a 90-degree arc in front of the hotel. Consequently, most rooms do not face it, as all foot traffic is streamlined through the main lobby. Good parking spots (which are rather tight considering the enormity of the lot) at night are occupied by locals frequenting the sports bar. Check-in a bit slow, but staff were generally friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stigs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGreenbelt, manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2009

We can't thank you enough on your positive response regarding your stay in June 2009 with us. Every effort is made to insusre each guest total satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Need to change the room for one night stay due to water not draining in the bathroom sink...

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rrajmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2009

We apologize for the inconvenience. We strive to ensure guest satisfaction during their stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Clean, in great neighborhood. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Offered complimentary shuttle to/from metro station. Metro station is only 5 minutes away.Room service was great. The hotel restaurant had good food. Rooms were very up-to-date with 37 in lcd tv. Hotel is located in executive park, plenty of FREE parking. Close to numerous restaurants and stores. Only a 7 minute drive into the city.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mre0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2009

We are delighted that your stay with us was so enjoyable. We make every effort to insure each guest's satisfaction. We look forward to your visit with us again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenbelt
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
2.2 mi away
Metro Points Hotel - Washington North
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Lanham Washington D.C
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt

Address: 7200 Hanover Dr, Greenbelt, MD 20770-2246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range: £68 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington, DC / Greenbelt completes multi-million dollar renovation! The newly renovated Holiday Inn Washington, DC / Greenbelt is a full-service hotel conveniently located near many government and corporate offices: NASA, Verizon, IRS, FDA, USDA, Lockheed Martin, the University of Maryland in College Park, and New Carrollton Amtrak and Greenbelt Metro stations are within 5 miles. Corporate guests will appreciate the free high-speed Internet, and fitness center. Leisure travelers staying at the Greenbelt hotel will enjoy visiting Six Flags America and the Greenway Center Shopping Center, plus the many attractions in nearby Washington, DC, Baltimore, and Annapolis. Sports enthusiasts will be convenient to FedEx Field - Washington Redskins, RFK Stadium - Washington Nationals and DC United, Verizon Center - Capitals, Wizards, and Mystics. At the newly renovated Holiday Inn Washington DC/Greenbelt, our service is outstanding and our accommodations are superb. Kids Eat Free in Willy K's, our comfortable and recently renovated restaurant and lounge. The Holiday Inn Washington, DC/Greenbelt offers two meeting rooms and is located adjacent to the Martin's Crosswinds Catering Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Dc / Greenbelt Md Hotel Greenbelt
Holiday Inn Greenbelt Nasa
Greenbelt Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing