We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice hotel - great staff - resturant OK - location OK”
Review of Greenbelt Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greenbelt Marriott
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Houston, Tx
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Very Nice hotel - great staff - resturant OK - location OK”
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Good hotel overall and would not hesitate to stay there again.Stayed here on business and the hotel was very nice. We had several requests of the staff to help us setup a meeting room for us at the last minute and they excelled. So overall:
1. Hotel was typical Marriott... well furnished room, clean, reasonable size
2. Staff was really excellent... very friendly and go the extra mile for you.
3. Resturant: They seem to pull in a good crowd for breakfast but somewhat sparse for lunch and dinner. I would guess the reason is the food is so so. Nothing to write home about and expensive.
4. Location:
A. Great for transportation: Can catch a bus from Baltimore Airport - BWI (for a cheap flight to DC use BWI) usually anywhere from 1/2 to 70% cheaper than Reagan. It will drop you off at the Green LIne Metro station and the Marriott shuttle will pick you up there. Need to check the hotel shuttle times. By the way, the cost of the Bus from BWI to the GreenBelt Station is $3.10...... Also you can catch the shuttle to the Metro Station and ride it into DC at a very reasonable cost.
B. Not so great for anything to do in the area: you will need a cab or rental car to go anywhere such as shopping or resturants. So this is a draw back.

If you go there have a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mergansertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    110
    48
    18
    16
See reviews for
83
35
13
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

This hotel was great. Nice spacious clean rooms. Free hot chocolate in lobby first night, free tea the second. Had nice indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Decent fitness center restaurant, bar and Starbucks in lobby. Plenty of parking. Very quiet area did have some noise from what seemed like a school group but only for a litle while that evening, none at night.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmbersM0mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

I recently stayed at the Greenbelt Marriott while in the area for a business meeting. Overall I found the hotel to be decent, but I had have a few issues.

The service at this hotel is very good and we were greeted upon arrival by the general manager with a plate of cookies and ice cold lemon infused water. The hotel has been completely renovated and the lobby area is clean and modern with waterfall.

The rooms are large and modern and have been renovated. There is a nice new flat planel TV, but no wireless internet access in the room. We had to pay $12.95 for wired access.

We had find several slight issues during our stay. The hotel has both an indoor and outdoor pool, but we found out that they are only open from 5 pm until 10 pm and we were not able to go for a morning swim. The hotel does not have a concierge so we asked at the front desk for a nice restaurant recommendation as we were meeting a client for dinner. The hotel recommended a steakhouse that we tried and it was in a strip mall in between a hooters and a dollar store. This was not exactly what I would expect when asking for an upscale dinner recommendation.

Overall this is an adequate hotel for business that has been recently renovated. The service is very good, but there is nothing around this hotel. With a mid-week price that can be over $200 per night this property is not a great value.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cusehoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Besides the fact that the breakfast was not complimentary, everything else in this hotel has met and and some of them even exceeded my expectations. There actually is a 24/7 CSV pharmacy/convenience store 2 blocks from this place just in case you wanted something on the fly. The subway stations are fairely close to this hotel, although they are not in walking distance. The hotel rooms are spacious enough, clean and there is a bigh LCD tv that we didn't even had to use but is absolutely a selling point for this hotel. The neighborhood is pretty safe and clean. The hotel service is good.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hit9726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

The GF and I came back from a quick 1 day getaway in Baltimore and DC and since Greenbelt is somewaht in between we chose this property. Upon arriving really late at night, 11pm, we were given room cards in less than 2 minutes literally after parking in the free lot. The rooms are newly renovated with flat panel LCD TVs and the bed is huge. i had requested extra towels and in the bathroom was a super high stack of towels. The bathroom was spotless and the toilet has mighty strength. we stayed on the 14th floor and the view in the morning was amazing, overlooking plenty of trees. Everything felt clean fom the bathroom to the bed to the sheets and furniture. We went on to tour DC landmarks and then Georgetown, which is amazing btw.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggyziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We have a great time in Washington, thanks also to this good hotel. Delicious breakfast, with real fresh orange juice and a great variety of fresh fruits, pancakes, eggs, etc. You need to take the metro to get to downtown. It takes some 25 minutes. There is a shuttle provided by the hotel, but we also walked once as we came a bit late in the evening. A nice stroll from Greenbelt station to the hotel that took as around 15 minutes. A great stay, all in all.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nougapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

I've stayed at the Marriott Greenbelt about a half dozen times for business, and it's alright.

Rooms - nice, typical Marriott rooms. Clean and relatively large.

Restaurants - food is average and restaurants are generally empty. It's kind of the chicken vs. the egg here.

Gym - Horrendous. Four treadmills, 2 stairmasters, 1 rusty nautilus machine, 1 bad elliptical machine, and light free weights.

Pool - Tiny.

Tennis Courts - a positive if you play.

Concierge Lounge - about average for a Marriott.

Somehow this hotel won Marriott hotel of the year. I would never state that, but I'd stay here again if I can't get into one of my other local favorites.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank graffka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenbelt
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Greenbelt
Courtyard Greenbelt
#5 of 5 in Greenbelt
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Greenbelt
Residence Inn Greenbelt
#3 of 5 in Greenbelt
213 reviews
3.4 mi away
College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus College Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbelt Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbelt Marriott

Property: Greenbelt Marriott
Address: 6400 Ivy Lane, Greenbelt, MD 20770-1410
Region: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenbelt Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenbelt Marriott welcomes you with contemporary style and a convenient location. Settle in to one of our well-appointed hotel rooms, which offer both comfort and functionality; marble bathrooms, pillowtop mattresses, and flat-screen TVs are just a few of the perks waiting for you in your accommodations. Start your morning in Greenbelt with a tasty breakfast at our on-site Silver Moon Cafe, or gather with friends at M Blue Bar and Lounge after a busy day. Additional hotel amenities include a fully-equipped fitness center. With 10,000 of versatile venue space, we provide a wonderful setting for your next business or social event. And with both Washington, DC and Baltimore within an easy drive from the hotel - not to mention the University of Maryland, the FDA White Oak campus, and FedEx Field - we place the best of the area within your reach. We look forward to helping you travel brilliantly here at the Greenbelt Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Greenbelt Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbelt Marriott Hotel Greenbelt
Marriott Greenbelt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing