We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth another visit!”
Review of Leopard Rock Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meru National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Leopard Rock Lodge
Innerleithen
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth another visit!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I've visited many African Game parks and enjoyed some great hospitality but Leopard Rock was exceptional. The staff were amazing and looked after us in a friendly but very professional way. The accommodation and meals were everything we could have wished for and a perfect retreat for a small business meeting. Paradise for birdwatchers and a plentiful supply of interesting animals.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    3
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I have travelled around Africa for several years now and I must say that I am truly impressed by Leopard Rock Lodge. From the beginning till the end we were plunged in a dream! Everything had been thought of so that we enjoyed our stay. Service is great and caters to your every single need. The food was grandios which is the best we have ever had. Our rooms were absolutely perfect and very luxurious. During our stay we had the chance to see lions near the gate of the lodge as well as hippos during our dinner. The park is one of the beautiful in Africa with abundaunet of animals containing rhinos (black and white), giraffes, zebras etc...As a conclusion, we will certainly return, very soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank George b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worongary, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

As a result of missed connections, we spent two nights here instead of three. As well as being included in a tour we chose, our sole purpose for staying at LRL was because on their website they advised, as part of their 'activities' by 4WD - "guests can choose to visit ... Kora National Park".

Being big fans of the work of the Adamsons, one of our main reasons for visiting Kenya was to visit Meru and Kora. We were explicit about this (but did appreciate the difficulties in the logistics of driving to Kora). Our agent confirmed at the time of booking five months prior that LRL would be happy to take us on a day trip to Kora, included in our rate, (they include two game drives a day, none of which we received either, although we paid the same) and this arrangement had apparently been reconfirmed by the reservation staff, on more than one occasion afterwards. As we ended up taking 21kg's of school materials and clothing donations for the village school and staff at Kora, as requested by a member of the George Adamson Wildlife Trust, we were serious and thought our agent and LRL understood our requirement, also.

Upon arriving (by vehicle, 7 hrs from Nairobi) the staff was apparently totally unaware of our arrangements for Kora and was not prepared to take us to Kora UNLESS we coughed up an additional US$500 for the day trip (for one driver and vehicle). Ridiculous! So 'goodbye Kora', and what a waste of a trip and all that money. This was very disappointing and our agent and the lodge have continued to blame each other, but at the time, there appeared to be a clear lack of communication amongst the lodge staff, and a distinct care factor of '0'.

LRL is in a nice spot, it has a lovely pool, which we enjoyed in the afternoons and two of the staff were otherwise very helpful. In particular, Eric who was very attentive, and James in F&B, who was most professional. Meals were huge and never-ending.

However, while our room was also spacious and attractive there were a few things that let its "Luxury" status (& price!) down. For a start - no pressurised running hot water. Solar panels and all outside, we got a dirty brown cold dribble (and I mean dribble) from the showerhead. The water obviously comes unfiltered straight from the little river running past (hippos and others doing their whatnot in it up stream...). It's pretty cool here at night in November ... a warm shower would be appreciated. We advised the staff in the morning - as I said - care factor was '0'. It wasn't fixed, nor were we moved to a room that did have hot water. And little things like - we only got half a toilet roll, no spare, and when this ran out it was not replaced when the room was cleaned. So I had to go and ask for toilet paper at reception. I know this is a minor detail - but it's this continual lack of attention to detail we found in these places - and for the prices you are paying (ripping off the good old ‘non-residents’), it's not good enough.

They had no maps of the reserve except for an old 1988 map hung on a wall, and the staff that we saw didn't even know where Elsa's grave (Born Free) was in the game reserve - I had to point it out for them.

However, if anyone is terrified of bugs, this is not the place for you - you would go insane! Of all the places we have ever stayed in Africa (yes, in the bush) this room was FULL of bugs in the evening. Moths (some mammoth), dung beetles, bug-eyed bugs - the lot. The bed had netting and despite burning a mozzie coil, using repellent and sleeping under a mosquito net, I got eaten alive - my legs covered in bites. I needed antihistamines. My husband took photos of the bites and we have since had it confirmed they are most certainly the work of BEDBUGS and NOT mosquitoes!! In fact, I don't recall that many mosquitoes, anyway.

The bug factor is only because the room is not adequately sealed, particularly where the beams and thatched roof meet. They told us "it was due to the rain" but it rained most everywhere in Kenya and we never experienced this anywhere else. Patch up your gaps, LRL!

If you have no special trip requirements, don’t mind bugs including bedbugs, or feel the need for hot water, this place is probably nice enough due to its location, some of the staff and the meals. We certainly didn't get value for money, and as always, being "non-citizens" we're all a bit ripped-off anyway.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelsQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRLodge, Manager at Leopard Rock Lodge, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Dear Madame,
you had contacted us by email concerning your issues and we had swiftly responded which you had then replied (3 weeks ago) by "don't to worry".

Your primary problem was that you were not able to go to Kora. This is due to the fact that your voucher did not include any kind of packages. You can check with your tour operator which we have tried to contact several times now with unfortunately no replies. Secondly, Kora is located at more than 120 Km from the lodge, as a result this adds up to $350 (with no packages) not 500 which you had previously stated. We had already informed you of this price by email.

Concerning your "bed bugs" I can assure you that we have a very strict policy on cleanliness. blankets, cover mattress are cleaned every time a guest departs and bed sheets changed each and every day to insure the maximum comfort for our guests. As a result I assume your bug "bites" were caused by tsetse flies numerous during rain seasons and we are deeply sorry for that.
thank you for your understanding,
sincerely,
Manager of Leopard Rock lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastern england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

my wife and i stayed at the lodge for 3 nights as part of a weeks safari and we found this lodge to be one of the best we have visited over the years,the staff were fantastic, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble,the accommodation also was very good our cabin was set by the river and we sat on the decking bird watching which we enjoyed very much,a herd of elephants also payed us a visit eating the bushes by the river a little noisy but what an experience!
David was our driver on the game drives and because we mentioned our interest in birds he managed to find us a multitude of different species including many birds of prey,we also saw rhino,elephant,giraffe and many many more.
the food at the lodge was second to none the content and presentation as good as anything we have experienced,(first class chef)
all in all very good we hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tony_helenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meru National Park hotels
8.0 mi away
Elsa's Kopje
Elsa's Kopje
#1 of 6 in Meru National Park
234 reviews
8.7 mi away
Ikweta Safari Camp
Ikweta Safari Camp
#2 of 6 in Meru National Park
169 reviews
11.6 mi away
Rhino River Camp
Rhino River Camp
#3 of 6 in Meru National Park
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
#4 of 6 in Meru National Park
38 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Rock Lodge

Property: Leopard Rock Lodge
Address: P.O box 34464, Meru National Park 34464, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Eastern Province > Meru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Meru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Leopard Rock Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leopard Rock Lodge - exclusive lodge in Meru National Park Kenya. Leopard Rock is unfenced open to wildlife from where you can see closely wild animals and predators who come inside the lodge to water at the river. Very luxurious accommodation with panoramic view from the King sized bed, overlooking a tropical river and Bisanadi reserve on 3.5 km along a tropical river where there are hippos, many birds and all wild animals inside the lodge. Very fine cuisine, high class restaurant with special service, selection of wine and Champagne. Try our Oasis Swimming Pool with the amazing fully stocked island bar located at the centre of the pool where you can be served with drinks like champagne. The crocodile can also be viewed through a glass partition beneath the swimming pool as you swim. Game drives, Ultimate Jacuzzi on request, conference facilities and others to discover at the Leopard Rock Lodge. Georges and Joy Adamson set their camp at the Leopard Rock lodge that Joy described as an ideal leopard country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing