We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I went looking for a weekend getaway plan to treat my special lady and thought, “Why not go for a different experience?” Hotels and the places people thus far frequent are so very cliché and most times so drab. Well, we happened to stumble across the Murera Springs Eco Lodge and were mind blown by the tranquil ambience, flora and fauna. The hosts were abso-very hospitable... the setting is conducive and relaxing far from the daily day to day hustle. The Eco friendly nature of the lodge - harnessing of solar energy for lighting and power and very little interference of the lodge setup with the ecosystem is a big PLUS. The well-furnished canvas bandas blend well with the environment where the chirping of the birds, the bush baby cries and the crickety crickets put you at one with nature. Meru National Park is also a few minutes for those who would fancy a game drive. I definitely recommend this as an ideal get away for anyone looking for an out of town, peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. (5 stars)
P.s: No Wi-Fi/internet/clear cellular signal, therefore an ideal place for those who would want an off grid much needed office break.
Mo&Sh

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShRgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is a fine place close to the entrance to Meru National Park in Kenya. The staff is very friendly and attentative. The service is good. The tented camp clean. The tents are in dense tree cover. There is a nice but very small pool. Also as the Lodge's name implies they want to be eco-friendly so for example laundry is done at no extra charge so people are not using all sorts of soaps and detergents in their rooms. I don't have any more information on the Eco idea though.

We were only there 2 nights, but our experience was very good and so would recommend this place if you are to visit Meru National Park. Our safari was arranged by Goodman Africa Safaris (itself an excellent choice for a Safari) so it was this Company that selected the lodge for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hrs_foo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Easter fell during the election period and my husband and I were looking for a getaway from all the election related "noise and hustle". We were glad we chose Murera because first and foremost there is no network. And thus you cannot use your phone or computer apart for recreational purposes. Given it is an eco lodge, they use solar power meaning that even to charge your electronic gadgets, can only be done at designated points where the staff have to plug in for you. So this was a great means to keep off the telecom and internet noise.

The weather in Murera is also amazing. It is hot and humid even when it rains and as such pretty comfortable for outside sitting even at night. We did not experience any mosquitoes or annoying bugs during the entire time we sat outside even though we were armed with sprays and ointments in anticipation.

The accommodation comprises of a mixture of materials (wood, tent etc) giving it a very cozy feel. I particularly liked the fact that the windows were made of wire mesh and as the lodge is surrounded by bush and trees, there is lots of nature, birds and ilk that was very soothing to listen to especially in the morning.

We had our small children with us, and the swimming pool was approx 1.2Metres at the deepest point which was ideal for them to swim comfortably without us having to worry about the deep end and such. Obviously an adult looking for a dive would be disappointed by this pool.

The food was quite nice. The only issue we had was a lack of choice meaning for example when they served fish, and you did not fancy the fish, there was no other choice to have. They also did not have a kiddy menu which was unfortunate for us with little children. There was also no bitings on offer in between meals which is much needed especially for the children. We however learnt later that one is able to pre-order meals of which we did on our last day there and enjoyed alot. The biting issue however was still a major let down as they made some sandwiches that were not all that.

They also had limited drink choices, and as such we were forced to buy our preferred drinks from an outside establishment.

We did communicate all these issues to the management who were extremely receptive and eager to implement any changes necessary to make their guests comfortable. And for that, I give them a 5 star.

I would most certainly return, and recommend my friends to try it out !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMigwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My husband and I spent 2 lovely nights at Murera Springs. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly, helpful, and attentive. They went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay.
The rooms a lovely, and all privately tucked away in the bush - complete privacy. The beds are some of the most comfortable beds I've encountered in Kenya!
Unlike some of the other reviews, the food was very good and a nice variety. The chef even came to our table to introduce himself on our first night.
If you are looking for a mid-priced accomodation - this is very good.
Meru park is absolutely stunning. A must see if you are in Kenya for a long stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Tent #2 - tucked away from the restaurant - lots of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daniellem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We are a couple who stayed at Murena Springs Eco Lodge last week for three nights after climbing Kilimanjaro and Mt Kenya. Our goal with the stay was to relax and recuperate after 1,5 weeks of camping and hiking, and we were not disappointed! We were the only guests at the lodge (the election in Kenya taking place at the same time scaring away the others I suppose) and that added of course to the feeling of seclusion. We are vegetarians and that was catered for excellently. There's a small pool with nice chilling water right by the sun beds. We went on a morning and afternoon safari at Meru NP and saw lots of animals, no predators however.
The lodge is solar driven with LED lights in the rooms. Could be good to have a headlamp if you like good reading light. Charging of phones etc. can be done at the reception. No Internet available and cell phone reception is poor in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This is a great place to visit. Friendly staff, great food. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. While here we went on a trip to Meru National park which was awesome. They have a swimming pool, the rooms are clean and well set up.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Ecolodge is absolutely excellent in all respects . The meals are very high quality, the staff superb , the welcome personal and the overall experience cannot be faulted. We would definitely return there if we ever return to Kenya. No website but a good Facebook page plus videos on YouTube to give a good flavour.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meru National Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Ikweta Safari Camp
Ikweta Safari Camp
#2 of 6 in Meru National Park
184 reviews
10.0 mi away
Elsa's Kopje
Elsa's Kopje
#1 of 6 in Meru National Park
242 reviews
7.4 mi away
Rhino River Camp
Rhino River Camp
#3 of 6 in Meru National Park
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murera Springs Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murera Springs Eco Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 25240, Meru National Park 00603, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Eastern Province > Meru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Meru National Park
Price Range: £38 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murera Springs Eco Lodge has easy access to the Meru National Park which is one of the most promising tourist destinations in Eastern Africa. The complete wilderness experience found in Meru National Park promises to touch the very essence of your soul just as it did with the early conservationists Joy and George Adamson. Murera Springs Eco Lodge consists of ten raised cabins which are colourfully decorated with earth colours and shapes with the theme followed through to the large en-suite bathrooms. The dining area, bar and swimming pool are perfect after game drives or when you want to just relax under the majestic canopy of the trees to be found at Murera Springs Eco Lodge. You will dine on a varied menu ranging from haute cuisine to vegetarian and nouvelle-African. To experience the Meru National Park from such comfort and style is the promise of Murera Springs Eco Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Murera Springs Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murera Springs Eco Hotel Meru National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing