We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEAUTIFUL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilifi Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilifi Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kilifi
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“BEAUTIFUL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

I stayed with my husband in room 32.
The hotel is a good place to hide from the noise or be way away from home.
my husband was practically hooked to the daily 30minutes massages.
and oh my the ladies masseuse are just fine.
they have a variety of food that is served and he menu ranges from Indian,American,Sri-lankan,Kenyan amongst others.
the staff are good and very much friendly.they are always available for your services.
I once went into the managers office when i had a problem and i was handled like a true client,he was so professional.
my room was always clean,i commend the housekeeper for that too.
well honestly i would advise anybody more so a couple on honeymoon to try out this hotel in the beautiful beaches of kenya

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mabski_burysnki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    40
    18
    9
    15
See reviews for
25
42
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed in room 15 right on the water. The room was spotlessly clean. It had a huge, very high bed. The view from the terrace, where I spent all my time, was wonderful. It was a superior sea view room. The food was adequate and plentiful. Some nights dinner was in the dining room and other nights outside in the gardens. Outside was especially nice. The hotel is quiet and the perfect place to relax after Nairobi.
I really enjoyed my five nights there. The beach is miles long and empty which is great for walking. There were maybe three beach boys, that's all. For swimming, it is not that great. There is a lot of seaweed and the tide was out for most of the day when we were there. An early morning and a late afternoon swim was OK. That being said, my friend, who has been to Kilifi Bay several times over the years, was there again in July and said that everything seemed to be a lot worse for wear.. Would I recommend it or not - based on my visit yes, based on my new information, no.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mombasa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

This hotel is rundown as soon as i entered the room it was dirty and had hair on the sink ,they cant even afford blankets.Rundown bathrooms with no hot water and poor drainage.when i went to swim in the pool with a U.V proof swimming shirt they told me to remove it or i cant swim because of this dumb reason,''no one wears it so you cant.'The pool atendants are in the 18th century.
The menu was boring and the food was not good and they didn't have enough supply: the food cut in the middle of dinner.
In the dining room stray cats irritate you while youre eating.
This should not be a 3 star hotel but 1star
The manager was not bothered with our complains.
If you must stay in kilifi,Mnarani is a better option for the same money.
The location is good but the hotel is pathetic
After you experience it you will finally appreciate home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raha_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilifi hotels

holland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Great hotel ,very friendly and cooperative staff .Despite what other people wrote the food was fantastic ,a big choice from different meats ,fish and a table with different desserts that would make a french patisier jealous.For excursions and safari,s i can recommend thomas (nick name thomas cook).He arranged our safari and he did a great job.You can find him on the beach under the beach bar.The hotel is very quiet,while we were there ,there were about 20 other guests.We have been in several countries in africa in different hotels and for african standards this is a great hotel

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bart69Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

this is an awesome hotel for adventure yea been there n i loved it not liked but loved it


mwas_s@yahoo.ca

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moffat scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a holiday in Kilifi Kenya,and as a day trip out visited the Kilifi beach resort,and to say we were disappointed,is an understatement.
This hotel certainly appears to have had better days,and now seems run down and shabby.
We didn,t actually stay in the hotel,but four hours there was enough for me.There appeared to be only about ten guests staying there and apparently no holiday atmosphere about the place.
We had snacks and drinks by the pool,which we thought were more expensive than other neighbouring hotels,the whole place appears to be getting neglected,which is not surprising as you can not run a hotel of this size on ten paying guests.
The beach outside the hotel is amazing miles and miles of stunningly white sand[bofa beach]and barely a person on it.
However my reason for putting this report on t/a is to let others know just what to expect if you do decide to book here.
It,s such a shame to see what could be a lovely hotel in decline

  • Disliked — run down and shabby
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank sirensong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unterhaching, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

First, I completely agree with the statements of the two previous reviews, so I will not repeat the details stated there.

We stayed at Kilifi Bay Beach Resort from Feb 18 to 27; so we were fully affected by the dramatic deterioration due to the political situation in Kenya.

To make it worse, we were all-inclusive (never again!) and had to cope with terrible, mostly uneatable food and a very limited choice of drinks. There was no buffet, but a bi-daily choice of either beef, fish or chicken.

There were only five other guests at the hotel, so quality and variety of food and leisure activities offers have been reduced to an absolute minimum.

The Thomas Cook Representative had no interest at all in our and other guests' complaints and the hotel manager was never seen.

Only the staff tried their very best in assisting and servicing us in any possible way, limited by the shortened resources. It is a shame that this friendly and nice people also suffer by the inapprehensible incompetent management.

As mentioned by the provious reviews, this resort is by no means 4*; we would rate it 2* at most, the only 4* are the Thomas Cook Rates.

  • Liked — The dedicated staff trying to make the best of a bad job
  • Disliked — Food quality
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UncleSamDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilifi
1.8 mi away
Mnarani Club & Spa
Mnarani Club & Spa
#1 of 5 in Kilifi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
3.0 mi away
Makuti Villas Resort
Makuti Villas Resort
#3 of 5 in Kilifi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
21.2 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
16.7 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baobab Sea Lodge
Baobab Sea Lodge
#4 of 5 in Kilifi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilifi Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilifi Bay Beach Resort

Property: Kilifi Bay Beach Resort
Address: Bofa Road, Kilifi 537 , Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Kilifi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kilifi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilifi Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Kilifi Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilifi Bay Beach Hotel Kilifi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing