We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tudo bom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makuti Villas Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kilifi
Reviewed 17 October 2012

we have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel and really enjoed my stay.
it was recommended by a friend, we booked 2 double rooms and we got 2 greet rooms with a nice view to the pool.
the location was great, easy walk to nearly everything.
the rooms were basic clean and confortable.
staff all spoke good english and were extremely helpful and friendly
food is excellent
we loved this hotel and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luisdemelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Due to security concerns in Lamu we had to spend a couple of days in Kilifi during a recent trip. We were booked into the Makuti Villas Resort which we soon regretted. Arriving on a Sunday we were promptly tortured by extremely loud music coming from the pool area. Apparently it was family day and the place was crawling with local residents. ( Not guests) The music was so loud that one could not carry on a conversation in ones own room. The rooms are basic at best with just a fan for cooling. We had a room with two beds the one ceiling fan, surrounded by one of the mosquito nets only blasted air down onto that one bed.......the second person had to swelter inside his own mosquito net enclosure. A very poor arrangement indeed!!

The following day, we went to use the pool and it was now closed for maintenance for the day. Closer inspection revealed that it was not that clean and the pool furniture was ripped and torn....well past it's prime time.

Other 'features' of this place include:
- a high voltage power line running right through the middle of the courtyard.
- located in the effective middle of a sub-urban part of Kilifi with no nearby amenities.
- the nearest beach access is a kilometer plus away and that is only a muddy portion near a ship yard area.

The one good thing about the place is the quality of the food. Italian themed complete with a brick oven, the pizza and other Italian inspired fare is quite good.

Bottom Line: Stay here for one night if you must.....and avoid Sundays for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Augrabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We think that we need the category good between average and very good to describe Makuti Villas. The staff are all warm and friendly and mostly speak good English. The rooms are basic but comfortable although I think there is need for more insect control.

The pool is large and well laid out for either a brisk or a leisurely swim but sometimes the afternoons are disturbed by loud poolside music making conversation difficult.

Although service is slow in the restaurant the food is usually very good when it arrives. While this may be fine in the evening a faster service of breakfast would be helpful. The location is good and the grounds have a lot of potential and a few minor additions such as some comfortable seating in the TV tent would be an improvement.

For non-residents (non-Kenyans) tariffs are quoted in Euro and then converted into Kenyan Schillings at a non competitive exchange rate so my advice is, if possible pay in the currency quoted.

My two sons and I stayed here for seven nights in two rooms and we found our stay very pleasant and this was greatly aided by the friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms would be to the left side as you come out of reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irvine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

The villa is certainly not for families with children below 7years. The menu was for older kids, the pool not for kids below 10years as it was quite deep. The service was poor and the waiters/ front office were mostly very sullen. our room was to be sprayed because of high presence of mosquitoes but when we asked the gentleman to wait as one of us was changing clothes, he went and was only seen the following day. needless to say, the night was extremely joyful for the mosquitoes. the standard food served to us for our 3 years old was mashed potatoes. only.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annenairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2007

after a very special safari in the Serengeti and Ngorongoron, I wanted to take a week of relaxing . I found Mombasa and Malindi
to noisi and to much turist arround, when I passed through Kilifi, halfway Mombasa- Malindi, I found this little hotel; a big tropical garden with 10 bungalows arround a nice swimmingpool, the bungalows are covered with a very big roof that give yhe name at the place. Each bungalow has 4 rooms each with their own bathroom and veranda, 1 of the bungalows is transformed in a very airy en simpatic reastaurant I found the service good and the food exelent. The people are very kind and do everything to please the clients. During the day I went by foot to town center, the postoffice and looking arround. I went also to the different beaches,the owner (an Italian) arranged the transport when I wanted to go a little more far. The prices, 55 dollars full board is very low. I certainly advice this hotel for a very good stay in Kenya.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank carol125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank stefano z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: I think best rooms are near the pool, block 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marco r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina R, Direttore at Makuti Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilifi
0.9 mi away
Mnarani Club & Spa
Mnarani Club & Spa
#1 of 6 in Kilifi
529 reviews
23.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
282 reviews
22.3 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
1,178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers
3.0 mi away
Kilifi Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makuti Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makuti Villas Resort

Address: Old Ferry Road, Kilifi 80108, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Kilifi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kilifi
Price Range: £24 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Makuti Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing