We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supurb, small, genuine, friendly local hotel.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mirleft
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abertih Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mirleft
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Supurb, small, genuine, friendly local hotel.”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

If you are expecting The Ritz you are in for a disappointment. If you are looking for a small friendly genuine Moroccan hotel in a pleasant town then this is the one for you. If you are a Paraglider then there cannot be any better in this part of Morocco.

Damian and his staff are all very friendly and helpful. Their english is good (certainly better than my french!) and they work hard to make your stay pleasant.

The breakfast is basic but totally sufficient where as the evening meals are superb. Mostly, but not exclusively, local cuisine, the spider crab and sea bass are a must. Even the basic salad is very pleasant and everything was safe to eat with no upset stomach in two weeks stay. There is a bar at the hotel and the Moroccan wine is very pleasant.

Not all rooms are en-suite with three rooms sharing two showers and two toilets, which didn't present any issues. The showers can run cold at times but this is all part of the experience. The hotel is kept very clean and the chambermaid cleans the rooms daily. The rooms are basic but comfortable. However if you are a very light sleeper you may want to bring earplugs as the hotel is in earshot of the local mosque and the early morning call to prayer can be heard most days.

The hotel has Wi-fi for which there is no extra charge although do not expect UK broadband speeds, especially if uploading photographs.

Mirleft is a pleasant little town with a few shops where you can walk up the street without being unduly hassled, which cannot be said of all Moroccan towns and cities. Damian has a number of local contacts and can arrange other activities such as Quad Biking if required.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pyrobod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    20
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
29
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Nothing missing, nothing over, Abertih is a simple place in the simple town of Mirhleft. What makes it so special is the truly friendly, genuinely welcoming atmosphere that is so characteristic to the whole town.

The restaurant downstairs also serves as a lobby and a meeting spot for some local french expats. Food is excellent and they serve moroccan wines and beer.

If you're not looking for luxury but a cozy base for discovering the area and getting to know the local life, Abertih is for you.

Room Tip: Rooftop room #11 on the terrace was a great choice for us in november. Might be a little hot in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I was quite disappointed with this hotel. It was well rated in the Lonely Planet, Rough Guide and Trip Advisor,but I found it dark and cold. I appreciate that places like this are designed for hot weather, rather than colder winter nights, but my room was painted in dark blue and dark green, some of the paint was peeling and some of the brickwork was coming away. The staff were very sweet, but then most Morroccans are. I didn't eat in the restaurant. The restaurant and bar are all in the same small area, and the bar (I think the only licensed place in town) was usually full of noisy smokers, which affected the restaurant area.

Mirleft itself is a strange little place. There are more tourist shops than the size of the place would seem to warrant, but there is lots of new building going on, presumably tourist complexes. There are several good beaches, but the walk to the beaches is through wastelands of builders rubble. The first thing I did in Mirleft was step in wet cement. The people in the town are nice and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marionvalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monein, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I've stopped off here three times now, on the way south. One of these days I will spend more than one night here. Great atmosphere and nice people. All hotels should be like this.

Room Tip: I've not yet been allocated a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rogerthebodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobermory Isle of Mull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is my second review of this particular hotel. I thought that my last visit was fantastic, but this one was even better. Damien (the owner) enjoys his hotel so much, and lives to please his customers, as do all the staff. The food, rooms and service are all still top notch, for those looking for a reliable hotel, with traditional style rooms, yet, service to match almost anywhere in Europe, ( and all with a smile). Go there and enjoy the most relaxing time of your life.

Room Tip: Both rooms that I ave stayed in were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimerray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

A real hidden gem. Don't be put off by 1st impressions of town which is deserted during the day. The restaurant serves lovely French/Morrocan food and the only bar in town with a license - so it comes to life at night! Rooms simple and colourful - street facing ones a little noisy. Pretty terrace and quiet areas for reading/snoozing. Proprietor exceptionally friendly and helpful as are his staff. Conveniently positioned for local beaches. All in all one of the nices houses we stayed in during our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as street facing ones were noisy at 2am - it was Ramadan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaGillham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Wonderful warm welcome from Damien. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable, clean, and decorated in all sorts of local styles. Food and wine is fantastic. Had a great week paragliding, and hope to be back for more sometime.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Guern2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirleft
2.1 mi away
Kasbah Tabelkoukt
Kasbah Tabelkoukt
#1 of 4 in Mirleft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hotel Aglou Beach
Hotel Aglou Beach
#2 of 4 in Tiznit
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dar Najmat
Dar Najmat
#3 of 12 in Mirleft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Un The au bout du Monde
Un The au bout du Monde
#1 of 12 in Mirleft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aftas Beach Guest House
Aftas Beach Guest House
#5 of 12 in Mirleft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Safa
Hotel Safa
#8 of 11 in Sidi Ifni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abertih Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abertih Hotel Restaurant

Property: Abertih Hotel Restaurant
Address: Mirleft 85350, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Mirleft
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mirleft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Abertih Hotel Mirleft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing