We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run and a lot of fun”
Review of YES Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Portal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
YES Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

By far this is the kindest place we went to. This is a family run hostel, that has mostly dorm rooms, but they have so many that you'll probably get your own private room (they don't tend to stuff as many people as possible in the rooms).
At a very quiet area of fort portal (for some reason the Lonely Planet book we had said it was "around fort portal" even though its just 1500ugx by boda-boda from town center), with a big lawn and very nice hosting family, you could try all the local food you want, or might even get a taste (without even ordering).

prices are very fair and camping is also an option. hot shower really works.

when in FP, don't hesitate - go to YES.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for YES Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed in the 6 bed dorm which was amazing value. The room and bathroom was clean and there is a communal area with table tennis, books, a tv and other activities available. Also great value breakfast, chapatti was only 1,000! Guests are allowed to use the kitchen to cook their own meals too, although we didn't get chance to do this. Staff are very friendly and helpful (ordered us bodas into town whenever we needed) and all round great place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great place to stay for those on a budget! We stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was clean, and very comfortable! It was a good location, with only a 5 minute boda journey into the town. Whilst we stayed there it was very quiet, but the views and setting was very relaxing and thus made it a nice break. We also got breakfast from here, the fruit salad was v good, so were the chapatis! :)

Would definitely reccomend staying here for those travelling as the price is so good.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

At 20,000 per night their private double room is an absolute steal. Whilst almost comically small, the bed is comfortable and the rooms clean.

We found the staff to be very friendly and the breakfasts from the kitchen were super tasty. Luke warm water could be found in the showers.

There were a few things that weren't great. There is very little in the way of information posted about the place. Nearly all signage was to tell you to be quiet or to not use the shower as a toilet (no idea why this was necessary!). Also, the kitchen is pretty dirty and there's a cockroach infestation in the fridge.

That said, YES is in an amazing spot in a valley popular with bird watchers, so it is a nice place to sit and watch the wildlife.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaLaLauraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We camped here for 4 nights. The location is about a 25 minute walk from town and 15 to local shops. We liked this as we were out in the countryside with beautiful views to wake up to. The showers were hot when the town has power. Also the Wifi is slow but it is free which is nice however does not always work. It has washing lines to hang clothes.

The kitchen which you can use is good if it is kept clean. It was very dirty to begin with but eventually they tidied everything up.

The staff are nice and you are supporting a hiv/orphanage charity by staying here. We would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frydayuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Loved our stay here. the owner was friendly and the whole place was clean and tidy. Very close to town but with beautiful views over the surrounding countryside. I would recommend this if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma-Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

In my opinion the best low budget option in Fort Portal. We have been travelling already for 5 months and we extended our stay with 3 nights because we found it so pleasant and welcoming! We camped in the quiet and tidy garden with a great view over the Rwenzori mountains. For camping with our minibus, we paid 7.000 USh per person, excl. breakfast. Shower and toilets were very clean and there was always hot water. Wifi is free, but is to be slow. When you camp, you can use the kitchen facilities for cooking and dishwashing. There is a pingpong table and badminton sets. Many 4-6 people dorms, clean with mosquito nets. Boda boda to town (walking is ca. 20 minutes) costs 1.500 USh for 2 persons during the day, 2.000 USh at night.
Carol, the owner, is great and has many great stories about Fort Portal and her large impact charity programs. Would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margitha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Portal hotels
2.0 mi away
Kalya Courts Hotel
Kalya Courts Hotel
#3 of 5 in Fort Portal
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountains of the Moon Hotel
Mountains of the Moon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Fort Portal
134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kalitusi Backpackers
Kalitusi Backpackers
#7 of 34 in Fort Portal
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fort Motel
Fort Motel
#1 of 5 in Fort Portal
59 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dutchess
Dutchess
#2 of 22 in Fort Portal
118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westend Motel
Westend Motel
#9 of 34 in Fort Portal
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YES Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YES Hostel

Address: Kakiiza Rd, Boma, Fort Portal, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Fort Portal
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Fort Portal
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A budget friendly hostel with clean, comfortable rooms, on site restaurant, and beautiful views! Nestled in Western Uganda, with easy access to Queen Elizabeth, Murchison Falls, the Rwenzori Mountains, chimp trekking, and gorilla trekking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
YES Hostel Uganda/Fort Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing