We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rorke's Drift Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful stunning location”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A wonderful hotel in a stunning location with friendly staff and great food. The owner Charles is a gentleman and a great host. I went for a weekend trip to view the battlefields of Rorkes Drift and Isandlwana. These heroic sites are a must see, to witness first hand the bravery on both sides of the conflict. The hotel views looking out over the Buffalo river and the stunning landscape, make this a must see for all. The hotel is a hiden gem. i recommend the climb up the mountains to view the san people bush paintings. Also, five mins away at fugitives drift is a nature reserve with plenty of animals to view. I wish i could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    44
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
98
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Myself, my father and uncle stayed for two nights. Charles and his team were the perfect hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived.
The Hotel is exceptional, its position and ambience adds a wonderful feel to the trip with the Buffalo River literally within throwing distance and the location is right in the thick of the action from all those years ago.
Cant recommend staying hear enough.
Wish we had booked a couple more days!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My partner & I stayed at Rorkes Drift from 23rd - 26th January 2014. As I grew up in SA I am fully aware of the history of Rorkes Drift & it was my partners first ever visit to SA he has always been fascinated & interested in Rorkes Drift.
Although the roads are rocky leading to the hotel we made it & enjoyed our short stay there.
All the staff were extremely helpful & on one night I was desperate for wors & pap with a tomato onion gravy which was made for me without any hesitation.
Would recommend this hotel to others.
Jacqui & Dave

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Six of us (three couples) stayed here for two nights as part of an independent tour of the Drakensberg. The owner, Charles, was a fantastic help with our organisation, organising us a charter flight from our previous destination and our hire car to meet us at the airport. We arrived just in time for a late lunch and were delighted to find that the hotel actually overlooks the Rorke's Drift river crossing. The food, the rooms and the service were super with an opportunity to chat to some of the other guests and listen to Charles telling stories (an installment with each meal) of the fateful day of the battle.

For our main day visiting the battlefields, Charles pulled off a great logistics feat and organised a ride down from Islandwana for three of us whilst the others took more time at the battlefield. We then all met at the hotel for lunch and visited the Rorke's Drift battle museum in the afternoon. The horse ride was absolutely superb - following the trail taken by the escaping riders following the massacre and ending up fording through Rorke's Drift to get back to the hotel. If you can ride, you should definitely do this!

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony overlooking the river but there were other rooms facing away from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenWilson101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

... and what a location! Overlooking the Buffalo river and only a few hundred metres from the Rorke's drift battlefield site, this hotel puts you right in the centre of the land on which the Anglo-Zulu war was fought in present day KwaZulu-Natal. Not only the location is exceptional though. Charles the British owner of the hotel is an entertaining and knowledgeable host, providing a personalised service, food was delightful and the quality of the hotel interior and bedrooms was high. Don't miss out on a walk to Fort Melville for outstanding views of the Buffalo river, Rorke's Drift mission station and Isandlwana hill over sundowners.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_Young47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night in this wonderful hotel in September of this year whilst doing a 2 day tour of the Zulu battlefields. We could have stayed much longer - a little bit of heaven. As has been said before, Charles, the English owner makes you so welcome. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the Buffalo river and the ensuite rooms are beautifully furnished with a rustic feel. The interior of the main building is spectacular and meals are taken with other guests who share their experiences of the days travels whilst enjoying delicious food. To drive towards the hotel, nestled in the hillside, is a wonderful experience it being built in the shape of an African rondel and is perfectly situated to view sunsets and sunrises. There is a lot of information in the hotel regarding the battles in the area and the people involved which we found most interesting as, like other visitors, we have always enjoyed the film "Zulu" and having been there can now understand a little of how it must have been for the British soldiers to face the oncoming Zulus. Do stay at Rorkes Drift if you have the opportunity!

Room Tip: If possible try and secure a room overlooking the Buffalo river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradworthy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Four of us stayed here for 2 nights in November 2013. At the time we were the only guests but I think this is unusual. We had a truly personal service from both staff and hotel owner. We loved it and could have stayed for several more days. You do not need to just be interested in the history of the area to find a lot to do. There are walks, rides and just simple lazing around to be enjoyed here. The pool has a fantastic view, as did our room and balcony. We could actually see the drift from our room, and the river disappearing amongst the hills. The bird life all around us was tremendous. Our host ensured we had a fabulous stay, joining us for meals and sharing his knowledge and love of the area. The rooms were huge and very comfortable, and the public areas were the same - huge and comfortable. The wrap-around terrace and big windows gave glorious views from every table/sofa. Would definitely return and recommend highly.

Room Tip: We had Byrne - great views along the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
22.7 mi away
Royal Country Inn
Royal Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Dundee
93 reviews
7.6 mi away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
208 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#2 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
133 reviews
9.0 mi away
Elandsheim Retreat
Elandsheim Retreat
#1 of 1 in Elandskraal
3 reviews
23.7 mi away
Sneezewood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rorke's Drift Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rorke's Drift Hotel

Property: Rorke's Drift Hotel
Address: Isandhlwana Road, Rorke's Drift, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Rorke's Drift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Rorke's Drift on the Buffalo River the new Rorke’s Drift Hotel stands the slopes of Shiyane Mountain (The Oscarberg), in the rolling hills of Zululand. The historic crossing that gives the area its name is within its grounds and the comfortable modern facilities are priced to meet the needs of the discerning traveller. The visitor will enjoy peaceful relaxation in the rural landscape, surrounded by iconic history and natural countryside. Phase One of the construction is now complete with 7 double and four single en-suite rooms. Phase Two will raise the capacity to 30 rooms so that coach touring parties can be accommodated, for the recommended two night stay. The hotel provides an affordable destination at this historic location. Visitors will be stunned by its position overlooking the Buffalo River and with its open views towards Isandlwana, and by its architectural design that is a modern amalgam of Zulu and Victorian cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Rorke's Drift Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rorke's Drift Hotel South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing