We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Elandsheim Retreat(Elandskraal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penryn B&B(Dundee)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
208
54
7
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
54
7
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringspiral staircasehonesty barhorse ridingfarm trackaccess roaddirt trackbattlefield tourpre orderconverted water towervw poloapproach roadwe loved our staybeautiful locationfriendly dogslow slungfell in love
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at Rorkes Drift Lodge and it was a truly exceptional experience.
We loved the fact that the Lodge is secluded and yet not that far from the battlefields.
The staff were efficient and friendly without being intrusive,and it really makes you feel that you are the only people at the Lodge.
The Food is first class, the views are absolutely stunning. (the Isandlwana mountain can be seen from the lodge)
The cottage we stayed in was very comfortable with all the facilities to make your stay comfortable.
I would happily recommend the lodge to anyone.

Room Tip: either of the two units will be a good choice.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Rorkes drift lodge and the only negative thing we can say is that it was way too short!
The accommodation is simply fabulous and attention to detail is high. Nothing was too much trouble and certainly recommend that you have all meals at the lodge. These are delivered to your own unit by lovely staff and everything is home made ( I trained as a chef so know good food).
A few comments have been made about the track up..... please be aware the track is quite an adventure but as long as you negotiate this at the recommended speed on 20kmh then you will have no trouble. There are great little signs en route to encourage you on ;-).
Please don't attempt in a low base car as you will wreck it! We hired a small car and it was fine... just go easy! The owners do make you very aware of the track so please don't give them a hard time when you arrive as it is sooooo worth it when you get there.
The owners do have the most adorable dogs, but please don't worry if you are not dog lovers as they adapt to all guests and will keep them away if you have concerns.
Chris and I can't fault the running of RORKES DRIFT LODGE in any way and will definitely be booking again but for longer this time. Thank you so much for the most amazing time, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

One of the best eastablishment I have been fortunate enough to spend a couple of nights in.
Top class food! Both in quality & presentation.
Superb views and very tranquil. Just ther spot for a breakaway.
My only word of advice is not to travel the road to the lodge after dark. It can be a bit daunting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rorke's L, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Indeed we agree about travelling in the area after dark. No street lights to guide you and very little in the way of help should you get into trouble. We agree with you wholeheartedly and emphasize to any guest wanting to visit that this advice is very sound indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here as we wished to visit the battlefields. We stayed in self catering,which was very well equipped , with spacious bedroom, large walk in shower with views which are hard to beat.
Whilst it's a bit of the beaten track, this should not put you off and would recommend Rorkes Drift lodge to anyone.
The staff are attentive without being overbearing and offer menus if you wish to have meals cooked for you and delivered to your lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Blackisle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This place is a true gem. After a long drive and the experience of the "Farm Track" we relaxed and enjoyed a superb meal delivered to our lodge by friendly attentive staff. The accommodation was first class and the views spectacular. Breakfast was well presented and offered more than enough to keep us going during our Rorkes Drift tour. The lodge arranged our tour with Thulani. He gave us an excellent animated account of the Zulu people and the battles. He also went the extra mile to help us when we had a puncture. Wonderful place, lovely people

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews