We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Rorkes Drift Lodge was an incredible experience, not only because of its beautiful location but also because of the excellent service we received throughout our stay. Definitely a memorable occasion and we will definitely be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    44
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
123
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

After an adventurous 5 k approach on a dirt track we arrived in a haven of peace and beauty. Stunning landscapes, even viewable from our bathroom! Top quality accommodation in well thought-out modern, bright and well-equipped rooms. Extremely helpful and friendly service, added to the immeasurable pleasure of wonderful canine company - especially Max! - make this a perfect hideaway. Although a self-catering unit, one can opt for a prepared breakfast or dinner, we chose the latter, superbly cooked by our lovely maid Thuli. The whole experience couldn't be improved, and we look forward to returning (and staying longer!!).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cooper323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rorke's L, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We love it when our guests have enjoyed their stay and are willing to spread the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our unit was really well equipped and clean; the pillows dreamy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Although fully equipped for self catering they will provide breakfast and dinner served to the units and picnics. We pre-ordered supper both nights and the simple fare was delicious.
We arranged the battlefields tour with Paul Garner and enjoyed a fascinating day of story telling at 3 important sites. Paul's extensive research and engaging presentation was definitely a highlight of our first trip to S Africa.
The last 5km of the journey is a dirt track and we would advise an SUV or a car with good ground clearance.
Rorkes Drift Lodge is a wonderfully peaceful stay and with views stretching for miles from every window this really is a special place to stay. We highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Wonderful time at the Lodge, food was excellent, accommodation great and bathroom suite with fantastic views really beautiful and friendly staff . Road to lodge challenging. Highly recommmend Thulani tour guide.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We spend one night at Rorkes Drift Lodge - far too short! My husband, my son and myself visited the Battlefields and needed a place to stay overnight. The accommodation at Rorkes Drift Lodge is absolutely fantastic. The setting and the ambience is wonderful. The accommodation is really top class, modern appliances in the self-catering chalets - I am very impressed. The decor and paintings are brilliant. Sitting on our private verandah looking out at the view was great. Sunsets and sunrise with birds all around - what a gem!! The owners are very accommodating and friendly. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and felt at home. The rates for accommodation is very reasonable for what you are getting - very affordable. What an amazing place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TanyaStone2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

It's hard to find fault with this unique lodge which enjoys stunning views over the South African landscape. We used it as our base to visit the battlefields of Isandlwana and Rorke's Drift - ideal as far as we were concerned, as we spent the evenings on our private terrace - time to reflect on what we'd seen whilst enjoying the magnificent scenery and wonderful home-cooking. Don't let th challenging 5km drive up the 'farm track' put you off - it's well worth it! It was amazing value too. Why stay anywhere else? Many thanks to Christine, Shane and the team.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rorke's L, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Indeed we are isolated and we love to highlight the fact that this is a get-away-from-it-all type of destination. Somewhere we the sould can find some peace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The welcome and the accommodation were wonderful. Dinner/breakfast is served in the accommodation and were excellent. After a long drive the road was a bit of a shock, the last couple of km in particular, very very uneven we had a Qashqai fortunately.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Raymond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
22.7 mi away
Royal Country Inn
Royal Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
83.2 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
9.5 mi away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.1 mi away
Elandsheim Retreat
Elandsheim Retreat
#1 of 1 in Elandskraal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Battlefields Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rorke's Drift Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rorke's Drift Lodge

Property: Rorke's Drift Lodge
Address: off the P195, Rorke's Drift 3016, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Rorke's Drift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rorke's Drift Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rorke's Drift Lodge is perched above the Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana Battlefields where the mighty Zulu nation and British Empire came to blows in 1879. The Lodge caters to the historical enthusiast looking to immerse themselves in poignant tales of yesteryear. World class guided tours coupled with friendly South African hospitality,superb food and a taste of the African Bush make this an experience to remember forever. We also offer horseriding on the property and can arrange for hunting and bass fishing expeditions in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rorke's Drift Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rorke`s Drift Hotel Rorke`s Drift
Rorke's Drift Lodge South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing