We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay, and a great base for the Battlefields” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isibindi Zulu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Costa del Sol
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay, and a great base for the Battlefields”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

From the moment we arrived, after a fairly dreadful drive over the gravel approach roads done in thick fog, we felt pampered. Our beehive room overlooking the game park was really comfortable and well-appointed, and the sighting of a giraffe from our balcony was a great start. Throughout our stay (2 nights), Bruce was a wonderful host, making us feel like welcome guests. His game drive on our first afternoon was really good, with plenty of relevant information provided by Bruce. The dinner, with steaks cooked by Bruce (!), was excellent.
The Battlefields tour, conducted by Mike Nel for just my wife and myself, took the whole of the next day (after a superb breakfast). This was the high spot of a month's holiday for both of us. Mike's knowledge and presentation made the battles come alive for us, and was both moving and funny at times.
The Zulu Boma Dancing and Dinner that followed that evening was also memorable. The dancing and singing performed by some of the staff with a troop of local school children was magnificent as well as being great fun to watch. The Zulu dinner that followed was interesting, although maybe a bit more variety in the meat option would have been welcome. We also had a tasting of Maize Beer, which was actually rather good!
The weather during our stay (in early March), was not great - warm but a bit damp - so we weren't able to try the lovely 'infinity' pool, but it looked lovely.
We can thoroughly recommend this Lodge for relaxation, to visit the local battlefields, and to absorb some of the Zulu culture.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeevesCostadelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear JeevesCostadelSol

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about Isibindi Zulu Lodge.
We are so very thrilled that you so enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards
Penny Rice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    22
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is an upmarket lodge that provides game drives, Zulu Boma Dinners and Dancing as well as Battlefield Tours of Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana.
The accommodation is in six well appointed, thatched 'Beehive Houses', all with balconies overlooking the relatively small game reserve. Nevertheless, the 'Game Safari' is very good, with a surprisingly large number of animal species to be seen - including one ageing giraffe that allows you to get really 'up close and personal'.
The meals are of a high standard and the well trained staff are keen to ensure that all guests are very well looked after.
The highlight of any visit, however, I must be the hugely impressive and informative Battlefield Tours provided by local guide, Mike Nel, who delivers vast amounts of background detail on the Zulu Wars with an irrepressible and infectious enthusiasm. These tours are not to be missed and a visit to Isibindi cannot be considered to be complete until Mike has woven his story-telling magic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, General Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear John L

We are very happy that you had such a great experience at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, thank you very much for the great review - it is much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Gerard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Gastein, Austria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

All in all a great experience. The accommodation and food were both excellent. The huts extraordinary and comfortable. A welcome change to the normal hotel rooms. A breathtaking view of the countryside from our hut. If you are looking for something different, this is the place to come to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, General Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Hans

Thank you very much for the great feedback, we are very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Kind Regards

Gerard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Our first visit to a safari lodge did not disappoint. We had an excellent stay and were treated very well by the outstanding small team of staff. The accommodation and food were both excellent. We particularly enjoyed sitting on our verandah listening to the sounds of the African bush.
Highlights were the game drive and the trip to a Zulu homestead. We also had a most interesting and informative day visiting Isandlwana and Rorke's Drift with a local guide.
Another highlight was the Zulu evening with entertainment by a very enthusiastic local group of Zulu dancers. Unfortunately we had to eat our Zulu supper inside the lodge as the weather intervened.
All in all we would highly recommend a stay in this lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Susan T
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Isibindi Zulu Lodge. We love hearing from our guests both positive and negative feedback. I know you were disappointed with your stay at Thonga so I am really thrilled that you so enjoyed your stay with us at Zulu Lodge.
Kind regards
Penny Rice
Marketing Manager
Isibindi Africa Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were treated like VIPs, with every effort made to make our stay special. As South Africans, we should indulge in places like Isibindi when we can -- a wonderful way to remind ourselves of how stunning our country is, of our enormously rich cultural heritage. There is attention to décor detail everywhere... from rope carefully hiding pipes and cables, to intricate framework latticing each beehive room. We were delighted to find our table in a new spot each time we ate, a highlight being the traditional meal served under the stars in the boma after locals entranced with their dancing and singing. This is the only place where we've returned to our room to find not only beds turned down and a chocolate on each pillow, but also a printout of a traditional story for bedtime reading! Kudos to all the staff at Isibindi, we hope to return soon. (PS Isibindi is really off the beaten track, so be sure to print out the instructions -- don't try to use a GPS.)

Room Tip: The rooms are delightfully private, each with views across the surrounding valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caldut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Caldut
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review especially such a glowing one. I have passed this on to the management and staff as it really makes one realized why one is in this industry when you read a review like yours.
Happy travels - hope to welcome you to one of the Isibindi Africa Lodges soon.
Kind regards
Penny Rice
Marketing Manager
ISIBINDI AFRICA LODGES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great stay at the lodge on an art retreat with friends. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food very good. Stunning views. Peaceful and lovely game drives. Highly recommend and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 15PaulaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hi Paula
Thanks so much for the review it was lovely hosting you at Zulu Lodge. I hope you are going to be at the next Artists Retreat at Kosi Forest Lodge in March 2014.
Kind regards
Penny Rice
Marketing Manager
ISIBINDI AFRICA LODGES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolsås, Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

A warm welcome, friendly and dedicated staff!!The accomodation is a unique blend of modern comfort and zulu -style huts. Nice view from the veranda. Good food! The tour to the battlefields at Rorkes Drift and Isandlwana was very interesting with a most knowledgeable guide. Thanks also to Get Africa who selected this as the first of 3 game reserves on our roundtrip in Kwazulu Natal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Odd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Odd C
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. We are so pleased that you so enjoyed your stay with us especially as it was your first trip to South Africa.
We do hope to welcome you to one of the Isibindi Africa Lodges in the future.
Kind regards
Penny Rice
Marketing Manager
ISIBINDI AFRICA LODGES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
83.9 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
9.1 mi away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#2 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House
3.8 mi away
Elandsheim Retreat
Elandsheim Retreat
#1 of 1 in Elandskraal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Battlefields Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isibindi Zulu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isibindi Zulu Lodge

Property: Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Address: C/- Isibindi Africa Lodges, 52 Osborn Road | Isibindi Game Reserve, Rorke's Drift, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Rorke's Drift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Isibindi Zulu Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Isibindi Zulu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isibindi Zulu Lodge South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing