We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mikumi Wildlife Camp
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We spent two nights in Mikumi and they were amazing. The Wildlife Camp has just been renewed and everything is perfect, from the accommodation, to the food, to the niceness of the staff - the most interesting, warm and useful group of people we met during our one month trip in Tanzania - not to mention the location, which is just perfect! At night the manager came to show us a group of elephants drinking water from the nearby pond - incredible vision - and we spent our nights talking to the Masaai by the fire. Couldn't be better and I would recommend it to anywone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank g0ncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

The new lodges are very comfortable and well appointed a great improvement.
Some changes under new management are not so good. No welcome juice after long hot, dusty journeys, no bottled water in rooms, smaller food portions and not such a good choice for vegetarians.

The camp still suffers from traffic noise over night, so sleep can be disturbed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Compared with the other lodges in National parks in Tanzania we found this to be great value even though the rooms were slightly dated and needed work.

The location is great but you can hear the trucks rattling along the nearby road at night

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opsmikumi, Operations Director at Mikumi Wildlife Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Hi Tom
Thanks for the review - as with my response to Melissa below, bandas all being rebuilt at the moment, new mattrasses etc with the new building as well.
Not sure what we can do about the rumbling trucks - I must admit to hating them as well. We are planting some more bush type trees behind camp, hoping to muffle it out some more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We spent the weekend at Mikumi Wildlife Camp. The bandas are a little run down, however are closing this week for a complete renovation and rebuild of the rooms. The food was tasty, varied, and plentiful, catering for our 3 children's needs aswell. We saw Lion, herds of buffalo, wildebeest, elephant, zebra, jackal, impala, eland, hippo, crocs, warthog, baboon, and even a leopard with his kill. The bird life was fantastic, with vultures a plenty, lilac breasted roller, starlings, ox pecker, ground hornbill, etc We look forward to returning when the newly renovated lodge reopens next year.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the waterhole, as there are a row of rooms behind these ones, which spoil the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opsmikumi, Operations Director at Mikumi Wildlife Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Hi Melissa
Many thanks for your review!
The camp is currently closed - the old bandas are being knocked and new bandas being built. We will have only one row of bandas from now, so everyone has the same great view over the waterhole and to the plains.
Looking forward to seeing you there again, once we have re-opened next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in September 2012. The views were stunning, we saw an incredible amount of animals. The food was absolutely delicious. The staff were lovely. Overall, this was an excellant experience and we would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opsmikumi, Operations Director at Mikumi Wildlife Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Hi Eleanor

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay - hopefully you will be back for an anniversary trip soon!

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The camp is on the only main road from Dar to western Tanzania passing through Mikumi National Park and is on a bus route. So it is easy to stop off for a night or two on your way west. That's good, but it also means you have the constant noise of traffic. You can see all the usual game easily enough, and bird life is good. Food is OK and beer is cold. Cabins are rather tired and poorly furnished, and the power is still turned off at night. This used to be the case in many safari parks but most now provide lighting at night. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the camp prices are very reasonable. However I have visited several of the Mikumi lodges and would only choose this one if I was in a hurry or had to rely on public transport. The camp needs a through upgrade to compete with others in the park.

Room Tip: Get a cabin facing north looking over the bush so you can see the animals from your terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opsmikumi, Operations Director at Mikumi Wildlife Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Hi Tom

Thanks for taking the time to send in a review.
Within a week we will actually be shutting the camp down to rebuild the lodges, which you correctly noted are tired and in need of rebuild. We will be putting new mattrasses etc in and hope that you will be coming back to assess the new product once we are done.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Out side ambiance can be improved . It is situated in the Park so atleast some fencing & lights is required to get protection from animals , in the evening . They stary ,virtually inthe hotel compound . while it is excitinhg but at the same time raises qusetions about safety .
No satisfactory arrangement for food at the restaurent .

Room Tip: nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOSIMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opsmikumi, Operations Director at Mikumi Wildlife Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Hi Dosiman

We're sorry you didn't really enjoy your stay.
Regarding the animals within the camp - we would prefer to keep it as it is, because it is what most of our repeat guests really enjoy!

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mikumi National Park
0.0 mi away
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ruaha National Park
83 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tan Swiss Lodge
Tan Swiss Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mikumi National Park
186 reviews
9.7 mi away
Camp Bastian Mikumi
Camp Bastian Mikumi
#1 of 15 in Mikumi National Park
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mikumi Safari Lodge
Mikumi Safari Lodge
#5 of 15 in Mikumi National Park
11 reviews
10.8 mi away
Mikumi Adventure Lodge
Mikumi Adventure Lodge
#12 of 15 in Mikumi National Park
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angalia Tented Camp
Angalia Tented Camp
#2 of 15 in Mikumi National Park
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikumi Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikumi Wildlife Camp

Address: | Mikumi National Park, Mikumi National Park 1971, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Morogoro Region > Mikumi National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mikumi National Park
Price Range: £220 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mikumi Wildlife Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and cozy independent lodge in the heart of Mikumi National Park with a breathtaking panoramic view of the Savannah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Mikumi Wildlife Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing