We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stays on the top”
Review of O.Henry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
O.Henry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Granada Nicaragua
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Stays on the top”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Great hotel. From the smiling service to the great rooms. Has a great bar and is attached to the Green valley Grill which has great food. Not anything bad to say about this place. Worth the price. This hotel rivals any one I have stayed at in any city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Our entire staff along with the team at the Green Valley Grill would like to thank you for the wonderful review! Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    64
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
119
168
25
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed here twice, once solo and this time because my spouse wanted to try it out. First time: room was drab and brown,brown,brown; furniture was badly chipped (not rustic!), complimentary breakfast was limited and often cold. Lobby is dark with lots of overstuffed chairs. Restaurant's food was disappointing. Second time: ditto. But spouse liked it, but plan to talk him into trying their sister property across the street, the W-like Proximity, or returning to my favorite, the Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank higham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for the feedback. You will be interested to know that over the summer all of the furniture will be reupholstered with brighter designer fabrics and the desks and breakfronts will be refinished. It would be a favor to us if you'd contact me so that we can learn more about your stays.
mbryant@qwrh.com 336-544-9600
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

What a beautiful place. Lovingly restored, professional staff. Grill for continental breakfast, and excellent restaurant (fantastic entrees and desserts) and lively bar attached. Likely the best hotel in town, and right off the highway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
You have graciously highlighted many of our best features; we are delighted that you enjoyed your entire experience.
The Green Valley Grill is wonderful, you are absolutely right about the entrees and desserts, and they are plentiful and delicious! The bar is a great place to begin or end your evening; it is lively and cozy at the same time.
Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed O'Henry Teas for almost 10 years. They are a wonderful, relaxing experience. We've always received wonderful service from attentive and knowledgeable staff. The tea selection has branched out over time from wonderful Harney and Sons. However, the treat selections have dropped off in the last two years. The "glory days" of O'Henry Tea included a delicious lemon tart, scrumptious fruit tart, rotating flavored scones, and a delectable chocolate truffle. The current tea menu relies too much on vanilla flavors, rendering the scone and shortbread cookie redundant. The new macaroon disappeared from tea yesterday. The new quiches are fantastic, as are the ham toastettes, but we miss the egg salad on toast. We still enjoy going to tea, but don't look forward to it as much as we have since the menu changed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakeapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Wow, 10 years – we are honored! Our pastry team and our Chef have been alerted to your observations and concerns. This is wonderful data coming from guests who are advocates of our O. Henry Tea. Our tea has become extremely popular in the last several years; it is due to folks like you who share their great experiences with their friends. We would love your continued feedback; you are welcome to connect with me directly when you come to enjoy tea in the near future. You are welcome to ask for me at the front desk or contact me by email at mbryant@qwrh.com, 336-544-9600.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
como
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

After the intercontinental flight we arrived easily at O Henry hotel in Greensboro where you get immediately a right feeling of being in a right place. The lobby all wood paneled, the cozyness of the local styles , the lovely patio garden all make you feel confortable .
we got a nicely sized room with enough space to live confortably all of us three travelling, bathroom lovely decorated in black and white with accurate toileteries from Aveda,there is also a second basin outside and anything to have a vigorous and tasty coffee or tea
This hotel plays anything on solidity and efficiency so forget some sophistication as here the privilege is given to service.I should say that their bed quality was not so impressive though good
In their website and in their prices they describe their breakfast as full hot south american buffet , but selection and quality overall is definitely improvable, this is the weakest point of all the structure
A special mention the their restaurant , Green Valley Grill that provides amazing food (I am stll dreaming of their truffle chips, and the phenomenal burgers ) attentive service, lovely decor and a logical selection of local outsourced products .
a lovely option , with good parking facilities and very close to highway

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enricoallievi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
You came a long way to visit Greensboro! We hope you enjoyed our city as much as you enjoyed our hotel. We are very disappointed that our beds did not meet your expectations; your total comfort is one of the most important things to us.
Our breakfast has been a highlight of our guest’s experience, thank you for letting us know that it needs improvement in selection and quality.
The Green Valley Grill is thrilled by your review, it means a great deal as you are an experienced traveler and have likely eaten in many great restaurants.
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Except for one aspect, we thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at this fine hotel with excellent service and restaurant. Due to market week in full swing, we were not provided any other room options. So, we were given a very nice and very well appointed King size bedroom which was located directly behind the elevator shaft on the 3rd floor. Needless to say, we could hear the mechanical workings of the elevator at all times of the night. If you've ever had steam heat in your house, you know the sound I'm talking about: creaky, banging pipes, etc.
At this price point ($350/night), NO hotel should even let these rooms be used for sleeping purposes. A better use for them would be a parlor or sitting area for the floor's guests. Otherwise, the hotel's restaurant/bar is very good and a fine addition to this property.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judge_Smails-BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
This is great feedback! Your comfort is our primary concern and we are so sorry that you had a restless night.
There has not been a pattern of negative feedback about this issue so it is particularly helpful that you went to the effort of being supportive of us.
We are delighted that the balance of your stay; the hotel, service and the Green Valley Grill, was a positive experience.
We promise a better night’s sleep next time you come to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

O Henry has a sister hotel that is equally as nice but a bit more modern. Our room was not ready upon arrival so we were upgraded to a suite (not a bad way to start). Every person looks you in the eye and greets you with a friendly hello. Also, possibly the HVAC ever in a hotel. Never too hot or too cold, the HVAC responding quickly and quietly, plus the windows open for fresh air. A wonderful lobby and quaint breakfast area, the O Henry is a great place to stay in Greensboro.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Our staff is honored that you recognized them in your review; it affirms that they are making a difference in our guest’s experience. We are very proud of our team.
We love that you appreciated our HVAC system! Our system brings in tempered outside air, so you sleep like a baby!
We look forward to your return and hope it is soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 76 in Greensboro
479 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#4 of 76 in Greensboro
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 76 in Greensboro
335 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
4.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O.Henry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O.Henry Hotel

Property: O.Henry Hotel
Address: 624 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7720
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#4 Family Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — O.Henry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The era of the locally owned, passionately run, hotels has returned. Enjoy gracious hospitality in oversized guestrooms with complimentary full-hot breakfast buffet, outstanding amenities and an attentive staff. And enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors at Green Valley Grill, located adjacent to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your O.Henry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Henry Hotel
o Henry Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing