We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O Henry, O Wow!!”
Review of O.Henry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
O.Henry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

There isn't a thing wrong with the O Henry, and everything you would want is "right" at this hotel.
All the rave reviews really turned out to be true. One feels like royalty from the moment one steps through the revolving door, being greeted so cordially by staff at the desk and those on the floor.

I merely asked for directions one morning to the gym, and one of the floor staff escorted me personally there--now that's service!

The hotel itself is beautiful and while sitting in the great room off the lobby, there is soft classical music wafting through the air-- so relaxing! They serve tea here for an extended period in the afternoon and also a fabulous complementary hot/cold buffet breakfast. (I'm gluten intolerant, so
I appreciated the separate toaster for the gluten- free bread as well as the delicious blueberry GF muffins!) The kitchen staff are very courteous and professional. We had a gourmet meal at the Green Valley Restaurant in the hotel and it was delicious!

Our bed (king) was so comfortable, I had to get re-acquainted with my gel foam mattress set at home, there was such a difference! We had a fridge, microwave and coffee/tea maker, plus real cream in the fridge! Housekeeping did a great job and was not a bother in the morning, waiting for us to leave before coming to clean.

While there isn't a lot to see/do in the immediate hotel area, a nice place to spend time walking is at Bog Garden, about a 20-30 minute walk from the hotel. It has a boardwalk trail and there is a lake with mallards, wood ducks and Canada geese (DO NOT FEED THEM!!) as well as a small waterfall at the end of one trail.

If you like shopping, there is a large mall (Friendly Centre) and it has every conceivable store, cafes, restaurants and a Whole Foods, plus a Harris Teeter! You cannot go hungry in Greensboro.

A few miles away by car, there is an even huger mall, if you run out of options at the first one.
One rainy day we were bored and went to a movie at the Grand Theatre in the Friendly Mall.

All in all, we were very pleased we chose the O Henry and would come back for another stay, but would likely rent a car so that we could see more attractions. Only being there for a couple of days for a romantic getaway, we didn't need a car. My husband had ordered up chocolate-covered strawberries and a bottle of wine, which were in the room when we arrived. You can custom design your own romantic package, and it's a really nice touch!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and it was very quiet, even though we overlooked a parking lot. The auto c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLYINNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Wow! — Your positive feedback really makes us blush! We are delighted you had a memorable and romantic weekend away and were able to experience so many of our wonderful amenities in such a short stay with us.

We offer complimentary bikes to explore the nearby Greenway, Friendly Shopping Village or the many nearby parks. If you do decide to rent a car next time, there are lots of wonderful neighborhoods and neat places to explore in Greensboro.

We look forward to your next romantic getaway (we even have a "Summer Weekend Getaway" package you might want to take advantage of!). Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is simply put an excellent hotel. The facility is elegant, very old south, and quite comfortable. The customer service is top notch, from the front desk, the valet, the restaurant staff or the people in lobby just being helpful, everyone was very friendly and helpful. You got the impression that they really liked working here, enjoyed their work and took pride in the hotel. The room was very nice, and very well thought out in the details. Spotlessly clean; quite and comfortable. Breakfast, a complimentary full hot buffet was splendid.Of note, they had gluten free bread and a gluten free toaster as part of the buffet. That is a small item, but is emblematic of this hotels attention to detail. I was here for only a one night stay, and wish I had been staying longer.

Room Tip: There are rooms that are a little larger, in the mid-section of the building. Mine was a two queen r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadforgci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We truly appreciate your kind words regarding the your wonderful stay with us ! We do enjoy our work and it makes it even more fulfilling and a delight to hear you had a positive experience and able to enjoy the amenities O.Henry and Green Valley Grill has to offer.

We feel that the small details can really make a positive difference in a guests' experience so it is our mission to delight our guests and exceed their expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

From the moment you arrive at the O Henry Hotel you realize you are in a special place. I recently had the opportunity to attend an fundraiser event there and everything from the front desk process to the room accommodations, event food, and brunch the next morning, along with the SERVICE the hotel staff provided was exceptional.

This is THE place to stay in Greensboro, whether it is for business or pleasure. If the O Henry is booked check out their sister-hotel, The Proximity. You can expect the same level of service there!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the east side of the building......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tch469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

It is exciting to hear you had a wonderful experience at the O.Henry. Our events, culinary teams and hotel staff are truly amazing and cater to every detail, so it brings great pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful experience.

I hope the fundraiser you attended was very successful! Your kind words are humbling and look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Staying at the O'Henry for several nights while on business. The hotel is an elegant old style hotel that is meticulously maintained. The service is high level. Rooms are very nice and the beds and pillows are super comfortable. Their inclusive breakfast is very good and the adjoining Green Valley bar and grill is equally high level. Was disappointed with the very small fitness center that has no weights other than small hand weights. Also, HBO channels were scrambled yet listed on the provided channel directory. Hotel is located very close to Friendly Shopping Center which offers endless high quality stores. I highly recommend the O'Henry.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank MarkS719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Traveling for several day on business can be difficult, so we are thrilled you chose to stay with us! It is our pleasure you were able to enjoy our many amenities to make your stay more comfortable. It is our mission to ensure that each guest receives prompt, friendly, attentive service by a well-trained staff in a clean, comfortable, well-maintained environment that is warm and hospitable. We are thrilled you were able to experience this.

Yes, our onsite fitness center is smaller, and wonderful for guests who want to simply want to maintain their exercise regime for a day or two. Guests who are training or would like to carry on with their full exercise routine, we do offer guest passes to a wonderful full-service fitness club located very near the hotel for a small fee. We also offer complimentary bikes to ride on the nearby greenway.

Your feedback is so helpful and very much appreciated. We hope you will stay with us again during your travels back to Greensboro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have had the luxury of staying at really nice places but I must say they have gone out of their way to put this at the top of the list. I feel I need to give a little history on this hotel. I actually grew up in Greensboro and my parents spent their honeymoon at the original O'Henry in downtown Greensboro. So work took us to Texas when this hotel was built, then we moved back to the Charlotte area but had friends in Greensboro. Every time I passed it, I kept saying how much I wanted to stay. So we finally made that possible. I can not tell you the detail they have gone through to make it look as original as I can imagine it being. From the moment you walked in you were greeted with smiles and if there is anything you need to make your stay more pleasant. The beds were so comfortable and had all the amenities anyone could ask for. It was a wonderful surprise that you are not nickle and dime to death. The bottle water was complimentary as well as a WONDERFUL breakfast buffet the next day.
My plan is to stay again on our Anniversary in the fall.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

What a wonderful story — we love history! We are thrilled you were able to experience the genuine service and smiles from my fellow staff members. We all work very hard to delight and anticipate our guests needs before they arise.

We are glad that you enjoyed our comfortable Magi beds and you were able to experience our Southern-style breakfast buffet — we love the stone cut grits! We look forward to your stay with us during your Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at the O'Henry recently. Just before clicking book we noticed the packages they offered. What a great deal on the theater package. The hotel and staff were good. There were obviously some new front desk personnel. The training could have been better. We were directed to tea time only to find out we needed a reservation and refused to seat us. After speaking to a manager they quickly solved the problem. A strong show of commitment to quality. The room was clean and roomy. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keldo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Our Triad Stage package is one of our favorite community packages and we are so glad you chose to take advantage of it.

Thank you for giving us feedback on improved training of our front desk staff and tea time confusion. We are grateful for your feedback to help us improve our guest's experience. It is very important that our staff are competent, well trained and of genuine service to delight our guests.

We appreciate your sharing with others to look for our packages, they are all terrific and a great value. Please come back and try another one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Just enjoyed a two-night stay and found the hotel very nice and the rooms well-appointed. The best part is the hotel's renowned bathrooms which feature a dressing area with a closet, sink and place for your luggage (on top of pullout drawers), and a separate bath area with a large tub, separate glass shower, another sink, and toilet. The workout facility is a little small and bare bones, but I was the only one using it on two occasions. The hotel is also located off a busy highway, so road noise is apparent, but horrible.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PDXonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback about the workout facility and we are excited you enjoyed the bathroom and dressing area so much. 15 years ago, the design team considered every detail of the bathroom and dressing area and I am thrilled you were able to experience and enjoy those considerations. We hope you will stay with us on your next trip to Greensboro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 77 in Greensboro
510 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
#19 of 77 in Greensboro
426 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 77 in Greensboro
379 reviews
7.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greensboro - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O.Henry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O.Henry Hotel

Address: 624 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7720
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#4 Family Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range: £210 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O.Henry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The era of the locally owned, passionately run, hotels has returned. Enjoy gracious hospitality in oversized guestrooms with complimentary full-hot breakfast buffet, outstanding amenities and an attentive staff. And enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors at Green Valley Grill, located adjacent to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your O.Henry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Henry Hotel
o Henry Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing