We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of O.Henry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
O.Henry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Everything good said about this hotel is true. Was very impressed by the service, elegance and comfort of this stately hotel. From the moment you enter, you feel the warmth of the people and surroundings. My room was large enough and the bed was super comfortable. Complimentary buffet breakfast is a plus. All in all was extremely pleased and if in Greensboro again, would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ListWestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Visited for a wedding and stayed over 3 nights. The hotel is very charming and very well located. The decor and feel is of the faux-English style and as an Englishman I can say this actually works very well. The rooms are very spacious and the level of cleanliness I found was excellent througout. More than that the bar and restaurant area was excellent and the staff very friendly. Would happily recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rampikino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The O'Henry was a surprise and delight to stay at this past weekend. I was attending a wedding in the area, and found this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews. It surpassed my expectations. The staff was attentive and friendly. In fact, my flight was delayed on Friday night, beyond the 11p airport pickup cut off. They still tracked my flight and were there waiting on me. They offer free transportation to/from the airport, and their free southern breakfast buffet was delicious. The decor reminded me of a Ritz Carlton, with more charm and friendliness. Their restaurant/bar area was lively and fun-packed with folks there for various weddings. I would definitely return. Take some time to sit outside near the fountain/rose garden. So adorable! And its conveniently located across the street from the shopping area. I would give it 5 stars, but our view from our room was lacking-the top of a roof, and the pool didn't have a large variety of lounge chairs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you was a great place to stay in Greensboro try the O Henry!! They have a fantastic restaurant and friendly service. It is a little pricey!!, be prepared to spend $300 plus for a room and dinner for two.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Your review offers us great feed back regarding making our hotel more attractive to all budgets, thank you. We are accomplishing this through offering a variety of packages that will suit all guests. Everyone should have the opportunity to share the same wonderful O. Henry experience as you enjoyed.

We look forward to taking care of you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

O. Henry Hotel is a conveniently located hotel (at least to the folks we were visiting), very friendly staff, clean, up to date, and with a bit of pizzaz. My wife and I last stayed there there years ago, and it has held its course. Free New York Times delivered to your door everyday - except Sunday when you gotta buy it at the desk. Breakfasts are good to very good, but not outstanding. Big shopping center close by with a great Whole Foods. We will return anytime we return to Greensboro.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Welcome back! We love to hear that 3 years has not taken it's toll on us! We appreciate your advocacy of our hotel. We hope to see you in less than 3 years from now. Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

There isn't a thing wrong with the O Henry, and everything you would want is "right" at this hotel.
All the rave reviews really turned out to be true. One feels like royalty from the moment one steps through the revolving door, being greeted so cordially by staff at the desk and those on the floor.

I merely asked for directions one morning to the gym, and one of the floor staff escorted me personally there--now that's service!

The hotel itself is beautiful and while sitting in the great room off the lobby, there is soft classical music wafting through the air-- so relaxing! They serve tea here for an extended period in the afternoon and also a fabulous complementary hot/cold buffet breakfast. (I'm gluten intolerant, so
I appreciated the separate toaster for the gluten- free bread as well as the delicious blueberry GF muffins!) The kitchen staff are very courteous and professional. We had a gourmet meal at the Green Valley Restaurant in the hotel and it was delicious!

Our bed (king) was so comfortable, I had to get re-acquainted with my gel foam mattress set at home, there was such a difference! We had a fridge, microwave and coffee/tea maker, plus real cream in the fridge! Housekeeping did a great job and was not a bother in the morning, waiting for us to leave before coming to clean.

While there isn't a lot to see/do in the immediate hotel area, a nice place to spend time walking is at Bog Garden, about a 20-30 minute walk from the hotel. It has a boardwalk trail and there is a lake with mallards, wood ducks and Canada geese (DO NOT FEED THEM!!) as well as a small waterfall at the end of one trail.

If you like shopping, there is a large mall (Friendly Centre) and it has every conceivable store, cafes, restaurants and a Whole Foods, plus a Harris Teeter! You cannot go hungry in Greensboro.

A few miles away by car, there is an even huger mall, if you run out of options at the first one.
One rainy day we were bored and went to a movie at the Grand Theatre in the Friendly Mall.

All in all, we were very pleased we chose the O Henry and would come back for another stay, but would likely rent a car so that we could see more attractions. Only being there for a couple of days for a romantic getaway, we didn't need a car. My husband had ordered up chocolate-covered strawberries and a bottle of wine, which were in the room when we arrived. You can custom design your own romantic package, and it's a really nice touch!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and it was very quiet, even though we overlooked a parking lot. The auto c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLYINNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Wow! — Your positive feedback really makes us blush! We are delighted you had a memorable and romantic weekend away and were able to experience so many of our wonderful amenities in such a short stay with us.

We offer complimentary bikes to explore the nearby Greenway, Friendly Shopping Village or the many nearby parks. If you do decide to rent a car next time, there are lots of wonderful neighborhoods and neat places to explore in Greensboro.

We look forward to your next romantic getaway (we even have a "Summer Weekend Getaway" package you might want to take advantage of!). Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is simply put an excellent hotel. The facility is elegant, very old south, and quite comfortable. The customer service is top notch, from the front desk, the valet, the restaurant staff or the people in lobby just being helpful, everyone was very friendly and helpful. You got the impression that they really liked working here, enjoyed their work and took pride in the hotel. The room was very nice, and very well thought out in the details. Spotlessly clean; quite and comfortable. Breakfast, a complimentary full hot buffet was splendid.Of note, they had gluten free bread and a gluten free toaster as part of the buffet. That is a small item, but is emblematic of this hotels attention to detail. I was here for only a one night stay, and wish I had been staying longer.

Room Tip: There are rooms that are a little larger, in the mid-section of the building. Mine was a two queen r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadforgci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, General Manager at O.Henry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We truly appreciate your kind words regarding the your wonderful stay with us ! We do enjoy our work and it makes it even more fulfilling and a delight to hear you had a positive experience and able to enjoy the amenities O.Henry and Green Valley Grill has to offer.

We feel that the small details can really make a positive difference in a guests' experience so it is our mission to delight our guests and exceed their expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 77 in Greensboro
513 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
#20 of 77 in Greensboro
426 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 77 in Greensboro
381 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#6 of 77 in Greensboro
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O.Henry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O.Henry Hotel

Address: 624 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7720
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Family Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range: £208 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O.Henry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The era of the locally owned, passionately run, hotels has returned. Enjoy gracious hospitality in oversized guestrooms with complimentary full-hot breakfast buffet, outstanding amenities and an attentive staff. And enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors at Green Valley Grill, located adjacent to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your O.Henry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Henry Hotel
o Henry Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing