We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with two teenage boys who were competing in a local sporting event. The hotel is adequate for short stays.

Located at the north end of "downtown" Greensboro, it was convenient to get to the Greenboro A&T College stadium. It is also close (two or three blocks) to the minor league baseball stadium (Greensboro Grasshoppers). Downtown itself seems to close up after 5 pm... there are a few restaurants but a thriving metropolis this is not. (Restaurants... Nico's upscale Italian and Smith Street Diner for breakfast if you don't need to eat healthy, the place called "Venice" doesn't feel very clean and has either an eclectic menu or is downright schizophrenic... Italian and Mexican though I had a Greek Salad.).

We were on the 6th floor of the hotel which provided a decent view. The hotel was clean, though perhaps could use some updating. Shower head was tall enough for me to stand under (at 6 feet) and had good pressure. We parked in the hotel garage ($11 per day) and they provided a pass that made getting in and out quick and easy. Room service late-night bacon cheeseburger and fries got very high marks from teen boys.

The only criticisms are that despite the signage, there is no longer a whirlpool at the pool, and it is criminal in this day and age to be charging $9.95 per day for wifi!

Room Tip: Upper floors have decent views as Greensboro has few tall buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoxil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    139
    78
    36
    19
See reviews for
89
65
20
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We passed through Greensboro and used the opportunity to catch a minor league baseball game in a great new stadium. We chose this hotel because it is a mere 1/3 mile from the stadium. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff was very accommodating when asked for a fridge and extra towels. Water pressure was very good even on the 11th floor. We were there on a Sat. night and there seemed to be loads of free parking in metered spaces around hotel. The breakfast buffet was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowlander46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My family visited Greensboro for my mother and her twin sister's 65th birthdays. We arrived at the hotel early due to some family being Elite Reward Points members and were guarenteed early check ins. Once at the counter, there was an obviously new employee that was very sweet, yet needed help in several areas of the early check in process. Those within earshot were shocked at the way more seasoned employees talked down and rolled their eyes at this newbie. Once seeing me in my pregnant state, my husband and I were informed we would be allowed to check in early as we to put my legs up after touring the International Civil Rights Museum a couple blocks from the hotel. Once we returned around 2pm, our room was still not ready. After several minutes we were given keys to a room with a dusty floor and an odd odor. I was surprised to see an older model box style television with no HD. I did not want to complain due to my legs starting to swell. I went down the hall to rest in my mother's room and when I walked in I noticed folded, dirty towels and face cloths intended for her and my sister to utilize! I could not believe at the rate we were paying, the type of oversight in minor details! Later that night my sister realized she could not get the air conditioning to go off which made their room feel like an igloo while the air in our room across the hall did not seem to work. The family checked out before 11am to get relief from the dueling temps in the rooms. We probably will not revisit this particular location unless there is extensive upgrading and bathrooms are somehow expanded because being pregnant and being afraid to bump your tummy into the door at every turn is no picnic!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missbell910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Tx
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and i stayed three nights at the Mariott in downtown Greensboro, NC
The hotel was clean, bed wonderfully comfortable and staff excellent~ We were surprised and totally delighted. Their workout center was small but adequate.

The location is great, easy to get around on foot and by car.
We would stay there again if returning to Greensboro.

We discovered a delightful coffe shop around the corner (a great little coffee shop around the corner...IGreat coffee, good light snacks (homemade baclava, muffins...) cool place to sit and enjoy your coffee, good music and very kind owner...Via Dolce Aroma coffee Bar~)
and a really good brewery called Natty Greene's...both walking distance frm this hotel~

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevator: if there is a problem with your room (one nite we returned fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AintAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donato P, General Manager at Greensboro Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with others about your stay at the Greensboro Marriott. We truly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is my preferred hotel when I'm in Greensboro for work. Location is great: walking distance to lots of good restaurants and bars, right by the baseball field if you want to go to games. Staff is nice. It looks dated from the lobby and hallways on the guest room floors, but the rooms themselves are very nice and updated.

If you have status, the concierge lounge has decent breakfast. Eggs, oatmeal, fresh fruit, sodas, juices, etc. It's free if you have access, so I'm a fan. Contrary to lots of these reviews, I think they have fixed the lack of hot water issue. I've never had an issue with hot water here. Beds are comfortable, rooms are a decent size and very clean and the bathrooms have marble counters.

I don't like eating in hotels if I have to pay for it, but I did have dinner here once. It was average quality and only moderately overpriced, so pretty much your standard hotel fare. That being said, I don't intend to pay to eat here frequently.

Good things: concierge lounge, beds, room cleanliness, convenient parking garage, fast internet

Bad things: the TVs in the rooms are old box style, the gym is seriously lacking in most things (just has a few treadmills and some free weights)

Conclusion: this Marriott is your standard business hotel. There is nothing terribly awesome about it, but there also isn't anything wrong with it either.

Room Tip: Go higher to get a better view, but it isn't a tall hotel to begin with (11 floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel is way over priced. The air conditioning was broken the night I was there and everyone was miserable. You have to pay for wi fi. You have to pay for breakfast. The hotel is older and musty.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Downtown Greensboro is not that big but I thought since I need to be there on business its best to be in the middle of everything. To be fair if I go back I'll probably stay at the High Point as its just as good at being located to the highway for client visits.
This is a basic Marriott with the best thing(s) being the onsite parking and great concierge floor and staff. The hotel has a restaurant which was used for a breakfast meeting. Unfourtunately the options for breakfast were slim and slimmer, it was a bit embarrassing to talk business across the limited fare of dry muffins and coffee.
However I will say the concierge manager (Pam) the night before was great fun and the snacks made up for the limited restaurant options in downtown. Staff rates an A+ other offerings a B.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandora_is_Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 76 in Greensboro
335 reviews
1.9 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 76 in Greensboro
479 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
533 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greensboro Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensboro Marriott Downtown

Property: Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Address: 304 North Greene Street, Greensboro, NC 27401
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greensboro Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on a stay to North Carolina by checking into Greensboro Marriott Downtown. Our perfectly located hotel in Greensboro offers easy access to First National Bank Field, Greensboro Coliseum and the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Greensboro Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensboro Marriott Downtown Hotel Greensboro
Marriott Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing