We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great staff, excellent value”
Reviewed 22 May 2008

Stayed 12 nights as my husband was in GSO for business. Concierge floor was perfect, updated, clean, spacious, food was good quality, staff friendly and efficient. All staff in every dept. were very excellent! Downtown is safe, and many restaurants and very nice. It was such a nice trip for us with thanks to Marriott Downtown Greensboro. Every thing was excellent.! Wouldn't consider going to any other hotel when in GSO. Great value and very kind and professional staff.

  • Liked — Customer service from staff and value
  • Disliked — I Iliked everything, no complaints in 12 nights!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KmarieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    141
    80
    36
    19
See reviews for
90
66
20
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

Had a nice stay here. Our friends were at nearby hotels that exceeded $180-200/night, so we were looking for something nice in a good location that wouldn't break the bank quite so badly. The lobby is very pretty, large, spacious. The staff was inviting and seemed accomodating. The Greensboro Athletic Club is located in this hotel if you're into working out. It is a large hotel located in the center of downtown. Been there a long time. The bed (king) was comfortable, and they asked me if I wanted down pillows which were nice. The room was clean, the bathroom was comfortable. I had not one complaint at $119/rate. I would try to get them to throw in the parking fee ($10) at least on the weekends. The more expensive hotels do not charge for parking, and this deck was empty on the weekend. You can park on the street. Only a few blocks away from some fun clubs, nice restaurants, the Carolina Theatre, etc. Recommended.

  • Liked — bed, location, appearance
  • Disliked — parking deck fee for weekenders seemed a bit unfair
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sothankfulforreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast USA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2008

Stayed there a couple of nights.

Location is great - downtown. The property is a bit older but the rooms are decently kept. The concierge lounge is a little small but the food selection was excellent. Friendly staff.

I'd stay there again. But in comparison to other full-service Marriott properties, it could do a little better.

  • Liked — Location is great
  • Disliked — Nothing specific.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Southeast_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2008

Ok, so it's not the best Marriott I've ever been to, but I didn't expect it to be this far down the list.

Been coming here for some time now for work.

The only real complaint I have is that the bar and restaurant suck. But luckily you are in walking distance of the downtown area.

Rooms are standard Marriott rooms. Beds are soft. As usual, only a few cable channels. $10 for internet. However, there are some local business broadcasting free wi fi and you can pick it up from the lobby. Also if you are close to the Concierge lounge, you can pick up a wireless signal.

Front Desk staff have always been helpful and kind.

That's all I've got.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jreeves11345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth Devon
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2007

A good hotel, friendly staff, and I have no complaints about it.
Staff were exceptionally helpful and I would definitely use again.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dongab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balto, Md.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We were visiting a college in the area with our daughter.

The hotel is very nicely maintained. It is an older Marriott but
the decor was very nice. It has been well maintained. Our room was very nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom although a litte on the small side was sufficient. It was very clean.

The beds were very comfortable. We had the fluffy down comforters and pillows.

The staff at the front desk was very nice and very accommodating.

We will stay here again. We will be booking this hotel again when we return for our daughters orientation at college.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location, room decor and comfortable beds
  • Disliked — No complementary shuttles
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GentleBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2007

The WORST hotel I have ever stayed at. Cannot get ONE thing right. They have no concept of security -- have left my door wide open, left a colleague's bags in the hall for SIX HOURS. You can make arrangements with one person and then later find that person had no authority to make those arrangements -- and you're then stuck. I left with an invoice showing $681 -- called VISA the next day and found they had actually billed me over $1500. No idea what for -- they've charged someone else's charges to me -- in their utterly incompetent back office, this probably makes sense. Of course, no one is available to talk to me about it. The beds are nice, but that's IT. That is the only positive about this terrible, terrible hotel. STAY AWAY!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntTora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 77 in Greensboro
348 reviews
2.1 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 77 in Greensboro
546 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 77 in Greensboro
489 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#5 of 77 in Greensboro
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greensboro Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensboro Marriott Downtown

Property: Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Address: 304 North Greene Street, Greensboro, NC 27401
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greensboro Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on a stay to North Carolina by checking into Greensboro Marriott Downtown. Our perfectly located hotel in Greensboro offers easy access to First National Bank Field, Greensboro Coliseum and the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Greensboro Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensboro Marriott Downtown Hotel Greensboro
Marriott Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing