We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Grand.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grandover Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not so Grand.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Was in town for my 20 year high school reunion and stayed overnight at this hotel. The room was adequate, although the sink was completely clogged and took forever to drain. Seems like something that you catch if it's cleaned regularly. Breakfast was kind of bland as well. Overall, I'd give them a B. We'll probably stay at the O'Henry hotel next time to really see an A place in action.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank drchrisdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    165
    77
    37
    32
See reviews for
134
207
23
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have visited Greensboro 7-8 times but it is my first time in the Grandover.
Good hotel, with lot of facilities, great for conferences, business conventions or playing golf. The restaurant and the continental breakfast are both really good. Two golf courses (36 holes) surround the resort. Rooms are not very updated but are spacious and with a good sleep quality as well. The view to the Golf Courses is a plus. Staff was always correct and many times kind and friendly. Be careful in summertime: the temperature in common facilities can result too cold. So, be prepared to wear eventually a jacket or a sweater inside.

The overall experience was above average. Including free parking and free wifi in rooms and common facilities, the price for this 4-plus star hotel is fair.

Room Tip: View to the golf courses is a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gianjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Second time staying at Grandover and the last time was in 2004. Sadly to say there were not any changes. The property is well kept but the rooms i.e. decor, bathroom and furniture needs to be updated. Rooms were clean and the beds are comfortable. We didn't get in pool but checked it out and the pool area is very nice. If you like to exercise while on vacation, the work out room is excellent. The front desk help were not the friendliest and could use some more training in customer service/interpersonal skills.

I would recommend this location for stay and if ever in Greensboro again I will stay but I just hope some updates are made in the near future.

Tanger Outlets is a 40 minute easy drive and better than the Four Seasons Mall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shareese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Chose Grandover for a golf get away. Overall the experience was was great. Just be aware that a 42 inch flat screen tv doesn't mean HDTV. The analog 480i resolution puts you back to 1960's. Could barely make out the scores for the NBA finals or World Cup. With all the effort to provide a first class resort, why skimp on a basic available at one star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a King room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We hosted a retreat for some of our customers at the Grandover and the US Open this year! The Grandover was a fabulous location with wonderful staff to help out where needed!! Great location, somewhat secluded but close enough to go grab dinner if you chose to. We at at the 2 restaurants on site and were very pleased! Very nice pool and hot tub. Unfortunately I didn't have time to experience the SPA or the fitness center, but I can only imagine they were top notch as well!

Will definitely consider the Grandover for other Business or personal travel in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuntriqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Grandover while shopping for furniture at Furniture land South. The Grandover is beautiful and the grounds around it are heavenly. The people were all very helpful and kind. I would not hesitate in going back. For the price we got you just cannot go wrong. Why stay at the Oh Henry when you can stay at the Grandover for much less. White linen table cloths and napkins and beautiful surroundings. We loved it!

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Booked for a 1 night relaxing stay at a modest rate via website. I had some minor issues contacting the hotel ahead of time to ask about tennis, but, was a moot point because we never made it out to the courts! Checked in a few hours early to our wonderful King room overlooking the golf course and visited the pool for the afternoon.

The pool (and the entire property) is beautiful and well-kept, but, pool service drinks/food was slow to say the least. Nonetheless, the afternoon spent was great!

Decided to have a drink on the patio of one of the lounges adjacent to the golf course and then head to the restaurant for dinner. The restaurant is not cheap, but the goat cheese appitizer was well worth the money, and the main dish (albeit not what I expected, nor really wanted) was very good.

Breakfast was modestly priced and very good!

Overall this hotel exceeded expectations and was efficient, clean, and elegant. I've read a lot of comments that this property is dated (really??). This resort is anything but dated with new tvs, classic furnishings in the room, free wireless and tons of amenities, and I'm looking forward to another stay!

Room Tip: email any requests directly to the hotel. Also, the premier (or executive) King, facing the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSState_inNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
7.2 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
529 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
7.5 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 76 in Greensboro
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#4 of 76 in Greensboro
534 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandover Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandover Resort and Conference Center

Property: Grandover Resort and Conference Center
Address: One Thousand Club Road, Greensboro, NC 27407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandover Resort and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the North Carolina Foothills is the Grandover Resort, a picturesque resort with 247 guestrooms, Spa at Grandover and two 18-hole championship golf courses. Indoor/outdoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, fitness center, restaurants and lobby bars. We are the perfect choice for meetings or conferences with our flexible meeting space, on-site catering, audio & visual, and much more for you to have a successful meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grandover Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandover Greensboro
Grandover Resort Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing