We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Greensboro Airport
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad Breakfast”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in this property, and because of availability, one of three hotels in this area within a one-month period. The first time I stayed here the breakfast area was under construction, so I forgave the frugality of their offering in the morning. This time the new breakfast area is all completed, and they have no excuse.

The powdered scrambled eggs are not cooked through, so the inside is runny egg jam. I decided to get some fruit instead. All the bananas are black. I am very forgiving of bananas, but these are banana bread quality fare. The oranges actually have blue and white mold growing on them, and I believe the melons and pineapple mix had begun to ferment.

If you are specifically looking for a hotel with breakfast included, try the Holiday Inn Express up the hill.. Otherwise, the Courtyard next door is a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSOAPHX, General Manager at Hampton Inn Greensboro Airport, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Charles C, thank you for taking time to write about your stay at our hotel. I was extremely disappointed to learn of your experience at breakfast. Please know we work hard to maintain the highest levels of quality and service and our scores reflect this….they are above Hampton averages. Your firsthand account though, reveals areas of improvement that will address with our breakfast team immediately. We need to make certain any and all deficiencies are corrected so this doesn’t carry forward. Thank you again for your candid observations. We are always open to improvements and you have helped us in this effort. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    153
    64
    47
    22
See reviews for
175
75
34
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Nice location , near to airport and close to my office. Good place to stay. Will stay again if i visit GSO in future.If you visit GSO , try this place. Cost is competitive as well. has a outdoor swim pool but was not operative due to weather conditions...i beleive this is good for kids, not for adults.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Chandramohan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSOAPHX, General Manager at Hampton Inn Greensboro Airport, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Chandramohan D, thank you for staying with us recently during your visit to Greensboro. We appreciate the kind words about our location and services and are glad to hear you would stay with us again. This is most encouraging to the entire staff who work hard every day to provide 100% Satisfaction. You have validated their efforts. Thank you again for your comments and for sharing them with others. We look forward to welcoming you back. Travel Safe!!! PS> the pool opens in 2 weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Get a room that faces away from the airport or you will hear planes taking off all night. I've stayed in cheaper hotels closer to the airport that weren't nearly as noisy. The airport is a fedex hub so it has lots of late night/early morning flights. They were remodeling the lobby during my stay and had a guest thank you night that included drinks and a low quality appetizer. The remodel should improve the look of it; hopefully they address the leaky roof. My room dripped water from the ceiling onto the bed and their were several signs of water damage. There wasn't visible mold; but it will only be a matter of time with the drippy roof.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bgilmore382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSOAPHX, General Manager at Hampton Inn Greensboro Airport, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Greetings bgilmore382. Thank you for taking time to write about your visit to our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the issues you mentioned. Yes we are currently remodeling the lobby and public areas. Unfortunately there is never a good time to do this type of work and again, we are sorry for any inconvenience. The remodel will be complete in roughly a week and we are working as quickly and cleanly as possible. Please accept my apologies as well for the airplane noise. Yes we are near the airport and your tip to request rooms away from the airport will certainly be appreciated by users of this site. Lastly, my apologies for the roof leak. We are aware of the issue and have had several roofing crews working on repairs. Thank you again for sharing your experiences with others. We appreciate the honest feedback and will work even harder as a result. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaffney, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Everything I expect from a Hampton Inn hotel. Check in was quick and the staff was very friendly. Hotel was in a convenient location and only a short drive to the coliseum complex. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Greensboro.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memullinax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSOAPHX, General Manager at Hampton Inn Greensboro Airport, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Greensboro Greetings Memullinax. Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing a little about your stay with other Trip Advisor users. We are pleased to know you found what you have come to expect from a Hampton Inn hotel. As the country’s #1 franchise, we work hard every day to make certain our services and amenities are consistent with the brand standards. Thank you again for noticing and also for recommending our Hampton Inn to others. Thanks again for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My fiancé and I wanted a mini vacation away from the kids. So we got tickets to the Alicia Keys concert and booked a hotel! First we got an amazing deal using the advance pay option! (However if you are not 100% you are going to go, don’t because there are no refunds or transfers.) We got the room with a hot tub in and it had a standalone separate shower. My fiancé is in the a wheelchair, and even though these rooms do not come handicap accessible, they were plenty room for him to get around in! We were so excited to leave we left at 1:00 in the morning, by the time we got to the hotel we were exhausted! The front desk clerk was amazing! It was 8am, and she let us check in our room no problem! They even had a shower chair for my fiancé! There was construction in the lobby, but you would never know, because you didn’t hear a peep! We were not from that area, so we asked about places to eat and shop, they had an handy guide of all the favorite restaurants, and told us how to get there! The bed…. AMAZING!!! Over all trip AWESOME! BIG thumbs up to the staff!!!!! We will definitely be staying there again…… and again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSOAPHX, General Manager at Hampton Inn Greensboro Airport, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to write about your positive experience at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your thorough evaluation, especially since you had some unusual circumstances and timing. We are glad everything worked out and that you found the hotel “AMAZING!!!”. PS: everyone here is jealous that you got to attend the Alicia Keys concert because she too is amazing! Thank you again for sharing about your stay our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed 3 nights - great service, location and value. Breakfast, although similar to the usual hot breakfast you get at all the hotels had a few extras like regular yogurt, and Greek yogurt, and sometimes even switched up the hot items during the service. A pleasant surprise. Only wish it were a warmer time of year to use the outdoor pool which was closed for weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSOAPHX, General Manager at Hampton Inn Greensboro Airport, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Greensboro Greetings kstucker family. Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Piedmont. We sincerely appreciate your business and thank you for taking time to write about your stay. Approval to serve Greek yogurt was just received from the Hampton brand offices and we are glad you enjoyed some. ‘Switching up’ the hot breakfast items has always been approved and we rotate them daily to make certain guests have something different to enjoy…especially when staying for more than 1 night as you did. I apologize that the pool wasn’t open but it is still too cold in our area. When our pool is closed, we have many public and private pool facilities available, just ask the front desk agents. Thank you again for your patronage and for writing about your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

No one to meet and greet, had to find someone to get the front desk clerk to get checked in. the heatig and air system was not working right. busted light bulbs in the room. The stay was not good at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 672April672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSOAPHX, General Manager at Hampton Inn Greensboro Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a comment about your recent stay at our hotel. We apologies for our shortcomings and are taking action to make certain these issues do not happen to future guests. With this in mind, the Front Desk agent is being terminated and we will re-train our Maintenance and Housekeeping departments to better inspect rooms, making certain everything is in perfect working order. We work tirelessly to ensure a clean and well maintained property, with everything in good working order and you have aided in our efforts. Thank you for staying with us and helping to improve our property. Without your valuable input, we may not have realized these problems. Thank you again and Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#27 of 76 in Greensboro
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Greensboro Airport
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greensboro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greensboro Airport
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Greensboro
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Greensboro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Greensboro Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Greensboro Airport
Address: 7803 National Service Rd, Greensboro, NC 27409-9667
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#17 Business Hotel in Greensboro
#20 Family Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Greensboro Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Greensboro Airport is minutes from the Piedmont Triad International Airport (ORF) and offers a free shuttle to and from the airport. Wake up every morning and enjoy our free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal. Our hotel in Greensboro features 125 comfortable guest rooms and spacious accessible rooms. You'll find everything you need here and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Greensboro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Greensboro Airport Hotel Greensboro
Greensboro Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing