We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Newly Renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Greensboro - Wendover Ave. - Big Tree Way
Ranked #61 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Raleigh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and Newly Renovated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I did not know what to expect when I got this room off of hotwire for $34 a night. When I arrived at the property , there is a big pothole in the parking lot which i felt was not a good sign. Then you get to check in , and very friend staff member Troy got me promptly checked into the two rooms I had reserved. Upon entering the rooms, they were very clean , spacious , and had obviously been renovated recently . The bed was comfortable, had a flat screen lg tv (not many channels though) , a full size refrigerator/freezer, microwave , cooktop , pots and pans, plates, etc. Bathroom was clean. Honestly I do not know what the other reviewers complained about either. At the price , I got way more than I expected.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back side of the hotel so as to not hear the noise from the amusement area next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bking406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    6
    5
    15
    17
See reviews for
11
10
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, NC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Due to my living situation (take care of my terminal mother) I often get a cheap room just to get away or have a few drinks, ya know just to get the heck out of dodge. I often priceline the cheapest in the GSO area and this is the place that I usually get (btw choose west gso and bid 28-30 bux and you should be great, add tax and priceline fees and the place can be had for around 40 a night).

First, no, you are not gonna get concierge service here, it is a lower to mid grade hotel/motel. However, the staff has always been friendly, helpful, and have NEVER had an issue. The rooms are very clean, plenty of towels, and every room has a two burner stove, microwave, full size refrigerator and freezer, and essential dishes/pots and pans. Also, the rooms are equiped with very nice flat screen lg televisions (with HDMI inputs if you want to connect your laptop to play movies or whatnot). You don't get fancy soaps or name brand shampoos/conditioners, but seriously again what are you expecting? It is a budget hotel and AWESOME for the price. I'd much rather have a fridge and microwave (and ice trays) rather than a 50 cent bottle of shampoo, maybe that is just me.

Also, to posters who have complained about the 25 dollar charge for a late checkout I can only assume they are the whiney/entitled guests who don't know how to be courteous and ask politely. I have stayed here at least 5 times and every time I have POLITELY asked for a late checkout and been nice to the person at the front desk and they have allowed me to stay until at least 12pm, sometimes 1pm. I have been told when I ask this early in the evening to ask later once the night shift/early morning person starts working, but I am a night owl so that works out.

In summation, if you want a cheap CLEAN place without the frills but many essentials other places lack, come here! Great location (right in the main shopping drag of GSO off of wendover and awesome Chinese buffet a block away ang right next to celebration station if you have children and want to play putt putt,arcade games, or just have a little fun).

I think all of the previous reviews are bratty people expecting a 4 star hotel at a 2 star price....

Room Tip: Bid 25-30 bux on priceline and choose Greensboro west and you will get a room. I have gotten it for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10JeffreyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Despite what previous reviews have said, every room at this property are indeed newly renovated. From my flawless check in with the excellent staff to my clean, spacious and comfortable room I can tell you that this is an excellent place to stay. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsfan5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Like two previous raters. I fell for the newly renovated on the website, figuring the prior ratings had been corrected. I wasn't that lucky. Closet was a curtain on a rod. Furniture was old. A request to check out an hour late was denied, and I was informed it would cost $25 to do so if we didn't comply with the check-out time. It wasn't terrible, but it was poor. The nicest person wa Iris who helped us a lot and seemed to care.

Room Tip: No elevator, so choose a first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Greensboro hotels

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

The male at the front desk named Troy was very helpful. You could tell he knew his information when questions were being asked; very good customer service. The room was very nice and the beds were comfortable sleeping in. I enjoyed my stay , I would most likely return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank college_chick2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

The customer service deplorable which is worst then horrible... Unprofessional staff cares nothing about its guest... We checked out before we even checked in. Renovated rooms??? With old broken up furniture where do they do that at.. But if you are looking for a bad nite sleep go for it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GramNeafoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roadwarriornc, Regional Director of Operations at Extended Stay America - Greensboro - Wendover Ave. - Big Tree Way, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The customer service you described is not acceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am working with the team to review all service expectations and training. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at kmaile@extendedstay.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella Vista, Arkansas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Claimed to be renovated, no way. It needs a lot of work. They are painting the outside now. Very noisy. I would not stay here again. Kitchen counter and cabinets needed work. Bathroom bath and shower need to be replaced.Lighting is very poor. 2 computer desk chairs that are broken and filthy.They had to bring in additional lamps just to give us enough light in the bedroom and living area. The worse thing was we had a king bed with queen sheets and blankets. The only good thing was the staff. They did the best they could with what they had to work with. I give them a lot of credit. I usually am very understanding. I can't remember ever writing anything like this review and I have been all over the world.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1eastutican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Manager at Extended Stay America - Greensboro - Wendover Ave. - Big Tree Way, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Given our company's commitment to superior guest service, it was great to read about your positive experience with our staff. Of course, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. You certainly have my sincerest apologies.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our company's management.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Greensboro - W. Wendover
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Greensboro Wendover
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Greensboro NC
Days Inn Greensboro NC
#38 of 76 in Greensboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Greensboro
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Greensboro Wendover
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greensboro-Wendover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Greensboro - Wendover Ave. - Big Tree Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Greensboro - Wendover Ave. - Big Tree Way

Property: Extended Stay America - Greensboro - Wendover Ave. - Big Tree Way
Address: 4317 Big Tree Way, Greensboro, NC 27409-2734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Greensboro - Wendover Ave. - Big Tree Way 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Extended Stay, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - Greensboro - Wendover Ave. - Big Tree Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Greensboro-Wendover Ave Hotel Greensboro
Extended Stay Greensboro
Greensboro Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing