We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing museum”

International Civil Rights Center & Museum
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The International Civil Rights Center & Museum (ICRCM), located in Greensboro, N.C., is an archival center, collecting museum and teaching facility devoted to the international struggle for civil and human rights. This national landmark and national site of conscience celebrates the nonviolent protests of the 1960 Greensboro sit-ins that served as a catalyst in the civil rights movement. Our vision is to memorialize the courageous stand of the Greensboro Four as they launched, for posterity, the sit-in movement Feb. 1, 1960. We hope that the ICRCM, with its focus on the sit-in activities at the F.W. Woolworth lunch counter in Greensboro in 1960, will inspire the vigilance and fortify the spirit of all oppressed people to step forward in the ongoing struggle for human freedom.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing museum”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A "must see" for all. This museum is in the original Woolworth store where 4 African-American students staged the first sit-in at a lunch counter that was "whites only". It has come to be known as the the start of the civil rights movement. The audio-visual effects are wonderful and the story that is told is our history.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank moe in SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    125
    33
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Must See Exhibit”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Civil Right Museum is a must see experience for anyone visiting the Greensboro area. It profoundly and poignantly shares a shameful part of American history that every American should look at for its stark reality. It is sad, beautiful, and gut wrenchingly horrible, but the story it tells is critical to our future as a marker of what must never, ever happen again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vickee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must see with excellent history”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

This museum is an excellent resource for history education. A must see for our younger generation who do not know enough of the civil rights movement. The staff are phenomenonal and know the history well. Highly, highly recommend this.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bjdean2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not Recommended - Too Rushed”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The only way to see the museum is to go on a one-hour guided tour (for $10). The tour is rushed through, with no time to see and read the interactive displays. There is no opportunity to go back through and take your time to really read and understand what is there. If I hadn't already known the history of the Civil Rights Movement, I would not have learned it here, because the tour is too rushed. After paying $10, I would think that I would have the right to take my time and really look at their material. Not permitted.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank eduJamesE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
166 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Such an important time in history”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This museum is located in a F W Woolworth Store in Greensboro. The original counter, seats, tableware and everything from 1960 is there where the first sit -in occurred. The staff gave an excellent tour, the videos were remarkable, the stories from the Civil Rights era can be told over and over. It was very impressive, sobering and haunting. Such courage was displayed by the first four at the sit-in and for those who participated afterwards. It was the beginning of so many changes. I highly recommend. A must see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip18Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed International Civil Rights Center & Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Civil Rights Center & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing