We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thought provoking - don't miss!”

International Civil Rights Center & Museum
Ranked #1 of 69 things to do in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The International Civil Rights Center & Museum (ICRCM), located in Greensboro, N.C., is an archival center, collecting museum and teaching facility devoted to the international struggle for civil and human rights. This national landmark and national site of conscience celebrates the nonviolent protests of the 1960 Greensboro sit-ins that served as a catalyst in the civil rights movement. Our vision is to memorialize the courageous stand of the Greensboro Four as they launched, for posterity, the sit-in movement Feb. 1, 1960. We hope that the ICRCM, with its focus on the sit-in activities at the F.W. Woolworth lunch counter in Greensboro in 1960, will inspire the vigilance and fortify the spirit of all oppressed people to step forward in the ongoing struggle for human freedom.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Thought provoking - don't miss!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This historic site of student protest is made powerful by its location in the very building where the students sat to demand equal rights. The guides are passionate and informed but do not lecture. Makes you think about how our world has changed for the better and the sacrifices people made for that change, the bravery to do the right thing in tough times. Suitable for young people from ages 9 up I would say - and important, since they reality of the past is sometimes lost for them. Some of the most innocuous exhibits make the most powerful impact! Good bookshop with interesting further reading etc.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leytonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    125
    33
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must-see museum!!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stopped by with a group of seven and really enjoyed it! I have been to quite a few museums--especially civil rights museums--and the standard of excellence for this one was alot better than most. I even liked this one better than the MLK museum in Atlanta (and I grew up there).
Make sure to take the guided tour, then tour it on your own. The tour guides explain ALOT of things that you can't learn on your own. The museum is interactive as well--and the tour guide is a big part of that. Adults are $10 and students are $8.
The only bad thing is that no cameras or cell phones are allowing inside of the museum--and there are ALOT of things that you will want pictures of. Oh, by the way: use the parking deck or metered parking across the street or a block away.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Need_Food_Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
312 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Preserves an Essential Piece of Civil Rights History”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The 1960 Greensboro/Woolworth lunch-counter sit-in was a crucial spark in igniting desegregationist sensibilities, so it's important that the historic venue has been preserved. In addition to passing through the lunch area, the museum tour includes a short film describing events surrounding the protest, and there are some powerful photos on display depicting grim realities of the Jim Crow era. Our tour guide -- a recent graduate of the same school that the "Greensboro Four" attended -- was personable and knowledgeable, and his leadership enhanced our visit. There's a small museum shop that sells items related to the museum's theme.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganBanjoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fascinating museum”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a fascinating museum with lots of clear and interesting displays. The museum gave a good overview of the whole civil rights movement, as well as the protests in Greensboro. Guided tours are available or you can go around by yourself. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolKiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I live about an hour from Greensboro, N.C. We have visited this museum twice and would take every out-of-town visitor to see this. I, too, wonder why it is called "International" Museum but that is a minor issue. It is very well done, powerful but not overwhelming. They have an awesome museum with many items of importance about the issues exhibited. I have purchased several teaching tools for our young grandchildren

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lybi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed International Civil Rights Center & Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Civil Rights Center & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing