We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW! You can't go wrong playing or staying at this top of the line get away!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grandover Resort - West Course

Grandover Resort - West Course
Book In Advance
More Info
US$606.26*
and up
Anadolu Kavagi Cruise by Private Yacht - Half Day from Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic resort championship golf course offers eighteen challenging holes, measuring 6,800 yards at par 72.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW! You can't go wrong playing or staying at this top of the line get away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The facility is what you would expect from a big time venue, from the hotel, spa, restaurant and golf courses. A nice weekend get away of great for a day trip!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LustMyLuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If You Have a Reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Unless I am golfing which I never do I would love this place. It's in the middle of NC and kind of the middle of nowhere but the facility is great even if you don't golf. I wish they made it more of a Grove Park Inn type of feel where they invited and accommodated more family stuff but if you have a business event that involves golf in NC then you cannot go wrong here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcrboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
205 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“What's NOT to Like?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

This place is wonderful! The grounds are awesome, the rooms great, the food to die for. The wait staff always has a smile on their face. Parking is adequate or you can use valet. There is nothing about it that isn't great. It can be a bit expensive but it's damn worth it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasant Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We enjoyed the West Course on a sunny day when te course was mostly empty. for reasons that no one seemed to know, Sky Caddie was not allowed to map the course. The golf carts do have a GPS display, but in can be hard to read in some lights. the course has been mapped by members, but te Sky caddie and GPS displays sometimes differed. We often relied on a yardage book we purchased in the golf shop.
Yardages on the West Course range from 5000 to 6800 yards with slope ratings of 116 to 136.This course is shorter and easier that the East Course. Houses line some of the holes, but they are not intrusive. there is water on only one hole. The course was in good shape, although te greens were rather slow, possibly because the East Course was hosting a three day tournament.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Food was Good-Service was a JOKE!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were there for a supposed 'very nice' dinner. The Food was pretty good; but the Service was worse than BAD, It was Horrible!!! They set 2 Forks to the Left and 1 on Top for Dessert; they served a Shrimp cocktail (one fork) then a Salad (another fork); then they brought the Main Course and we had NO Forks in which to eat!!! It took about 6 minutes for them to get forks to the Tables as there were well over 50 people. We provided the Wine from one of our Members Vineyards and paid a Corkage Fee. The waitstaff were picking up the Wine Glasses without even asking if we wanted anymore, and ALL of the Bottles were not used. The Waitstaff were coming between my wife and I and serving both of us at the same time vs Serving from the Left and Picking up from the Right. They did both Pickup and Serve from both Sides. I would ask the Server assigned to our Table for something and then again, and then I had to stop another Server for another Table to finally get what I requested. The ONLY reason they were elevated from Terrible to Poor was that the Food was pretty good, but NOT great, but better than average. Then again, the Horrible service just ruined the entire event. So Granover, be thankful I gave POOR for an overall score!!! Your Waitstaff and THEIR BOSS should be FIRED!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JeromeW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grandover Resort - West Course also viewed

 

Been to Grandover Resort - West Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing