We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice supper, is what it is.”
Review of Carolina's Diner

Carolina's Diner
Ranked #35 of 886 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: This restaurant, one of several Carolina's Diners in the area, has been here for at least ten years, maybe longer.
Wilmington, NC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice supper, is what it is.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

First off, let's agree to distinguish between "eating" and "dining". Then secondly let's allow for the difference between "supper" and "dinner". In this instance we can safely report the Carolina's Diner is a fine place to eat a delicious and hearty supper. Just off I-40 and next to a big-truck dealer, it didn't look too promising, but previous reviews were encouraging. They were right.

We were greeted and seated by a pleasant lady and had time to review a large menu. Nothing fancy, just traditional road food, and ours was nicely presented and delicious. My meat loaf was hot and moist, with just a tad too much tomato sauce topping (easily removed). Ann had the soup and (half) sandwich: a tasty potato chowder and deli roast beef sandwich. We were both pleased with the meal and the service.

So if you're looking to enjoy eating a good supper, this is your place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GypsyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    51
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Told at the door there was no room for me.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was at a conference at the Holiday Inn yesterday and asked the customer service rep where a good local place to eat at. He recommended this diner. So upon lunch break I headed to the diner and went in to eat. The parking lot could use some repaving but thats as far as I got...A young girl met me at the door to tell me there was no room and it was going to be a long time. That was it. Never even got a chance to try the food. Wound up eating at Shoneys and it was horrible lol

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank berrysweetncgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfort Food for your tummy!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I always trust Trip Advisor's info and I was delighted to find this restaurant as I fled west to Asheville. Close to the airport and freeway, the waitress took my order and before I knew it, deposited it in front of me. Delicious fried chicken breast with cream gravy ; turnip greens; yummy mac and cheese and fresh crunchy fried Okra. I was in heaven. Plenty of brewed tea and 2o minutes later out the door and speeding down the highway Satiated and happy. I will be back! Well within my expense budget was a bonus.

Helpful?
Thank Tollinche7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayboro
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very good food, lots of food!!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

the spaghetti was a little too sweet, but other than that, the food was good and the service was good. The restaurant was down a slow paced road, but it was easy to find with my TomTom.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavisFamilyBayboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent North Carolina home cooked meals!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Happy happy happy. This place was great! Huge menu. Amazing prices. Home cooked style food. People working there showed me true southern hospitality. I went there two nights in a row. They do delivery and take-out or sit in. Open till 9pm on Sunday night opening again at 6am Monday. Otherwise it is open 24hrs. All day breakfast, steaks, burgers, turkey club sandwiches and so much more!!! I had macaroni and cheese, mashed potatoes, potato soup, French fries, desert looked amazing but I had no room. Pies, cookies, pudding etc. definitely check this place out!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carolina's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Carolina's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing