We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rich History and Free to Enter - Best of both worlds !”

Greensboro Historical Museum
Ranked #7 of 67 things to do in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Randolph
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rich History and Free to Enter - Best of both worlds !”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

All the years of living in the Piedmont Triad I had never been to the museum. Actually had an extra hour in the day - so we stopped by. WOW - all the rich history in such historic buildings in a small corner of Greensboro. Now, you need more than an hour - we covered 1/2 the museum quickly in an hour but I would think you need 2 to 4 to do it justice. Shouldn't be a problem since it is FREE ! It costs you nothing but you will walk away rich from all the knowledge you will absorb. From current history to one of the largest and best Civil War displays around the Greensboro Historical Museum must be on your to do list !!! We will pay another lengthy visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    45
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Greensboro Historical Museum is a hidden gem. The museum is located in an old church. The "Voices of Greensboro" exhibit traces the city's history from the earliest days to the present. A docent took us through the exhibit and pointed out the highlights. Included among the more recent exhibits was a flight attendants manual salvaged from Flight 93. The flight attendant was a resident of Greensboro and helped organize the overpowering of the hijackers.
For Civil war buffs, the museum houses a remarkable collection of civil war rifles and carbines, arranged by origin. We were also shown the church cemetery, housing many of the early Greensboro residents.
Unfortunately, we only had a couple of hours to spend. We could easily have spent four hous or more.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns Summit, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting displays”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Especially if you are a displaced Northerner living in the South. Amazed at how many Yankees actually forged this area of North Carolina.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mommyjojo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"More than I expected!"”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Pretty good overview of this city that was the textile capital of the world; the birth place of the college students' sit-ins for social justice, civil and human rights, and racial equality; Native-American Indians; and the battle of General Green.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel-- great way to burn an hour or two”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I really enjoyed my time at the Greensboro Historical Museum. There were five of us (ages: 12, 13, 23, 24 and 42) and all of us enjoyed it.

I think everyone's favorite area was on the third floor. On the third floor there are different rooms (ex: a hotel, an operator desk, a school house, a pharmacy) where you can actually act as though you are in different time periods and interactively learn what experiences different people would have had at those times.

The only thing that I think could have been better is organizing the museum by time periods.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Greensboro Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing