We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been in Business Since 1948........ Good local spot for Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tex & Shirley's Family Restaurant

Tex & Shirley's Family Restaurant
Ranked #81 of 885 Restaurants in Greensboro
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
205 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Been in Business Since 1948........ Good local spot for Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Good food! Breakfasts here are quite very crowded and loud due to crowds. Prices aren't hateful and you definitely get all you can eat. Legendary pancakes. If you're hungry come early and bring your appetite.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    26
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Visited yet another year on black Friday morning. Good crowd for breakfast but well handled with no line or waiting. You can have just about anything you could want. My daughter had eggs Benedict, I had eggs, corned beef hash with grits and my wife had blueberry waffle. We all thoroughly enjoy our choices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta NC
1 review
“OMG Best Omelette and Pancakes ever had!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Came in on recommendation had an omelette and pancakes and wife had vegetable plate and OMG were we surprised and thrilled.... best i have had and wife said vegetables were delicious cannot wait to get back to Greensboro to eat there again!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeckandEd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluemont, VA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Breakfast Favorite, Even at Supper Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stop in at Tex and Shirley's every time we are in Greensboro. Love the breakfast and the way we get treated by the staff. Had the pancakes, eggs, hash brown, and bacon special the other day and it was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Gone downhill. We won't return.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

It used to be you couldn't get a seat in here on weekend mornings; now it was half empty and one bite tells you why. Watery scrambled eggs, tough chewy pancakes, hash tasted like it was right from the can...just awful food. Hard to screw up breakfast, or so I thought! Really noisy kitchen constantly banging pots could be heard through closed doors. Staff was pleasant however.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sundans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tex & Shirley's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tex & Shirley's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing