We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious group of theaters with varied food and drink options”
Review of Carousel Theater - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carousel Theater
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spacious group of theaters with varied food and drink options”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

When we are looking for a new movie in town, we look to the Carousel first. We like its Battleground Ave. location, and we like the face that in some of the theaters it is possible to get a glass of wine or a piece of cake prior to the movie. Most of all, we appreciate that this theater doesn't just stick to crowd-pleaders and block-busters. It books some of the movies that deserve to be seen because they deal with controversial subjects or are well-reviewed or are a little out-of-the-box. So important to have options like these!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great movie theater”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Carousel tends to show more indie movies than all of the other theaters in Greensboro put together, and they even have a bar that serves alcoholic beverages. My only complaint is that the seats are very low and could be replaced, but other than that, this is one of my favorite movie theaters in Greensboro.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank calivianya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of options”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

While this multiplex offers a great many shows and genres you can also get an alcoholic beverage or snack from the bistro before going in to your movie. The theater could be a bit cleaner or updated inside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“always showing unique movies”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Not only do they show films much better than the over-hyped crap Hollywood pushes out, there are some intimate theaters (one is a room like an in-home theater) and sometimes beer and desserts are available to take in!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro NC
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
“Best cinema/movie theater in the area, by far”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have been frequenting this theater for about the 20 years since it was first built. Before that, the same family owned and operated the Janus Theater nearby, which was closed when the Carousel was built. This theater, by far, does the best job of presenting the high quality, "non-blockbuster, non-shoot 'em up" films; without it, the piedmont area would be a virtual wasteland for serious films. They are willing to take a chance. We have seen many Sundance-type films, and foreign films, here which would never have been shown in the area otherwise. They have a bar and you can take a beer or glass of wine into the theater, which is a nice touch. The theaters are very comfortable; we particularly like the smaller screening rooms. The management does many civic minded things, such as hiring the handicapped and doing free food and admissions for big-screening of the Oscars each year. It is family run and not a conglomerate.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing