We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Great Stays”
Review of Proximity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Proximity Hotel
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 November 2007

I've now stayed two times at the Proximity Hotel and both stays were very nice. The first stay I arrived later in the evening after working a full day and driving several hours to get there. The second time I arrived a bit earlier than their posted check in time. On both occasions I was checked in prompty and with no problems. All of the staff was friendly and helpful and made a point to speak to me.

Unlike many modern "boutique" hotels, i didn't encounter any attitude from the staff, nor was the decor over the top and more about visuals than usability... all of the staff was eager to assist and while the room had "cool" touches like exposed concrete and a modern chaise, everything was functional and comfortable.


Each time I had the same room, 701, which is a corner room and is slightly different from the standard rooms. The room was well furnished and very clean. This room has three large windows, two in the main area and one in the bathroom. There was a flat panel HD TV mounted on the wall in the corner between the two windows. There was a generous amount of tv channels to choose from. Wired and wireless internet service was also available without an additional charge. I did have trouble with the wireless signal in this room which could have been because of the corner room. the signal was stronger the closer i moved to the core of the building but was hard to use there because of the room layout. My room had a shower but no tub. This was not a problem for me, but if you want a tub, remember to mention it to the hotel as not all of their rooms have one.

The hallway was a bit on the dark side and there was a common area on each floor with some soft seating, a computer and printer as well as an ice machine and honor fridge with drinks of various sorts.

I ate dinner twice in the adjacent restaurant and the food was excellent and the service was first class.

Several years ago i stayed at this company's "sister" hotel, the O Henry Hotel, located with in eyeshot of this hotel and was very impressed. I was equally impressed with my stays here and would recommend it for anyone who would be in the area on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2007

I just stayed a tthe Proximity hotel in Greensboro. The hotel just opened so they obviously have a few kinks to work out. The hotel in general is very nice. It is not your average run of the mill hotel by any means. The moment you walk in the door you will see what I mean. The guest hallways have exposed water pipes that service the floor. It was built to resemble an old textile mill. The moment you walk in the room, you are greeting by an old ceiling with exposed wood, resembling an old mill warehouse. The closet is hidden behind a curtain as well as your fridge and coffee maker. The bathroom door is a sliding old timie mill door like you would see on a old loading dock with the towels neatly attached to the back of it so that when you get out the shower you can slide the door to you and get a towel without having to get the floor wet! The light fixtures old nostalgic and weird, the windows are almost floor to ceiling to give you a loft like feel. The bed is ok nothing fancy or special and they do provide bathrobs to use while you are there. I guess the most impresive part was the bathroom. I had a king spa room although the tub has no jets. The shower has no doors you jsut walk in and the tub is beside of shower no seperation at all. The bathtub did have a spa effect when you ran the water and the tub was situated at the back of the bathroom which had windows in the wall which opened into the bedroom area. That was really neat. Never quite seen anything like that whole set up. They do have a restaurnat as well but it is very expensive. I dropped 22 for breakfast alone and after that didnt dare to see how expenisve dinner was. I ate at other restaurnats which by the way are real convienant to the hotel. I paid 129 a night for the spa king room which once they stop the opening special rates i think it will be going for arond 200 a night. they do have the opening rate specials now which are a bargin but i think they will go up the end of november or decemeber so you better go now if you dont want to pay around 200 a night. All in all the hotel was a lttle out of the ordenary but every now and again we all need that. its worth the price just to see the hotel. but not worth 200 a night.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rodney1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petizjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, General Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank bcohenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ortika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015
1  Thank Jax_GSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank icke12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 77 in Greensboro
575 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
#20 of 77 in Greensboro
426 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 77 in Greensboro
379 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#6 of 77 in Greensboro
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proximity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proximity Hotel

Address: 704 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7018
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Greensboro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#2 Family Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range: £209 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Proximity Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built to use 36% less energy and 30% less water than a comparable hotel, the Proximity Hotel offers a glimpse of the future while celebrating the past. Sustainable practices, custom-designed furnishings, commissioned art and innovative loft-like modern design await guests in every corner of the 147-room luxury "green" hotel and its adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Proximity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proximity Hotel Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing