We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale, modern, elegant!”
Review of Proximity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Proximity Hotel
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 September 2011

First LEEDS certified hotel in the US. Fantastic restaurant with great wine list. Hotel (lobby, rooms, pool etc.) looks expensive and elegant. You would never know you were staying in such an energy efficient hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nc09301995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Our intention with the design was to be a luxury hotel that happened to be sustainable at the same time. I am delighted that is what you experienced!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Great hotel design in all. Friendly staff. Great food & wine in the Bistro.
Nice gym and pool. Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kansei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Thank you! We just installed a TRX Training system in our fitness studio. Glad the fitness studio and pool suited your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This ecological, energy-efficient, hotel is executed in the style of post-modern utilitalianism. I noted, for the lack of better choice of terms, a certain "Japonic" tendency in the use of the materials: underlining their innate qualiies rather than hiding them under layers of stucco and paint. Thus, steel remains steel in this hotel, copper–copper, cement–cement and wood – wood. In fact, the elevators smell wonerfully of fresh wood. Very big impeccably clean rooms and bathrooms. You never see any of the staff but everything is, and stays!, clean, well-organised and readily available. The reception is typically Southern in their almost tender hospitality. Excellent hotel. Will come again

Their pride and joy, the restaurant is also tender but for a different reason: they are trying, but have a long way to go still..., well, like practically all formal restaurants in the United States. To begin with, why "Bistrot" ("fast-food", in French culinary culture) whereas it's a formal restaurant? In fact the service (very friendly and polite) WAS a bit too fast. Food: superb raw materials, but, at least in part, ruined by a "mitteleuropean" execution and by (miss)matching of the ingredients. Thus, the superb fresh scallops are served atop beans and cabbage (!). Generally, serving the main ingredient flopped out on top of what should at best be a side dish, makes the whole plate look like a portion of leftovers – very German, that. The use of oriental spicing (curry, cumin and what not) is also somewhat indiscriminate and of dubious culinary justification – a strong current trend in the US: in my view, a misconception of "fusion". Wines are ridiculous and outrageously priced (like everywhere in the US). Local beer is fantastic and I strongly recommend it instead of the overpriced plonk. Atmosphere and design are very nice. The serving staff, again, Southern: very friendly but respectful and genuinely concerned. But do I blame the Chef? Not entirely: it's the demand that shapes the nature of supply... :(

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neptune30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

I am delighted that enjoyed your stay in the hotel and look forward to your return. We are lucky to have a staff that exude sincere Southern Hospitality. Thank you as well for sharing your impressions of the Print Works Bistro. We are constantly seeking to improve and genuinely appreciate your perspective.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Proximity hotel staff service is superb since the begining. Booked the hotel over the telephone, the lady, Ashley, was more than helpful. After the reservation, she sent me my confirmation details and suggestions on how to ask for the complementary pick up at the airport. The pick up at the airport could be either a van for big groups or old style cars for one or two persons, the cars are awesome. The staff at the hotel is professional and kind, always a smile on their faces, always eager to help you don't matter how odd your requirement is. Features: pool, parking lot, restaurant, free WiFi in the bedrooms, hall room in the lower lobby, big rooms and green certificate. The flaw: Breakfast is not included, no bathtub in my room at least, a cab ride to downtown is $10 (if you compare to other hotels which are right there at downtown Greensboro). In short: superb hotel with a AAA customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lehpares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Happy to hear that you felt well taken care of from the beginning. Next time you book with us, ask Ashley about the spa rooms! They have a nice sized soaking tub and a unique surprise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Have you ever felt decadent and conservative at the same time? This is it! The service, people, comfort, ambiance and care are all luxurious...yet, this hotel is an award-winning GREEN hotel : ) I was never so proud of pampering myself and my business associates as I was during this stay! We used the conference facilities as well and they were just as stellar.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinCourage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Our event spaces all have abundant natural lighting that really let them shine. I am delighted our events team took great care of your group!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

What a wonderful place to stay with a great restaurant and absolutely wonderful staff. It is obvious what they saved money on -- things that didn't matter. The bed was absolutely heaven and we had everything we needed. Only down-side to this green hotel was sink water pressure and lighting -- but these are the things they are trying to conserve. If my daughter picks a college near Greensboro, we will be regulars at Proximity. Glad I found it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billsquitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Certainly hope your daughter finds one of the wonderful colleges and universities in and around Greensboro to her liking. Thank you for sharing your impression of the lighting and sink water pressure. We live off our guest's feedback and welcome it! We'll see you in the coming years if your daughter picks Greensboro!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Stayed at the Proximity Hotel in Greensboro, NC for five nights in July. It is one of the "greenest" hotels in the country. This place generates half of its power for heating water and air conditioning with the solar panels on the roof, consumes half the water of a regular hotel and utilizes dozens of other planet friendly technologies. As far as comforts go, there is nothing lacking. The room was large and decorated in a minimalist style. The bed was comfortable and the rooms are furnished with locally made furniture and fabrics. The bathroom was spacious with double sinks and a granite countertop. My room has a walk-in shower, and despite being low-flow, the shower was spray was powerful. The room was equipped with a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. One of the nicest aspects of this hotel is how quiet the rooms are. Due to the poured concrete construction and other features, the room was extremely quiet. You hear no noise from above, neighboring rooms or the hallway. The only odd thing was the style of the desk and chairs. I would have preferred a modern roller/swivel office chair to sit and do work, but otherwise the furnishings were comfortable and functional. The staff was very friendly, discreet and efficient. The food in the Printworks Bistro was well prepared, good tasting and efficiently served. After a day or so, you get caught up in the whole green attitude, and end up taking little steps to save water, energy and electricity. It was fun and educational to stay at the Proximity.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeakWoodDeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

We're happy to have inspired you! Many guests become interested in learning a bit more about our sustainable practices. Our website has some great resources and our LEED checklist is shown as well. While you are with us, ask for a tour! One of our experienced team members would love to share our story.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 77 in Greensboro
584 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro/Coliseum Area
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
#21 of 77 in Greensboro
428 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 77 in Greensboro
388 reviews
8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greensboro - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proximity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proximity Hotel

Address: 704 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7018
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greensboro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#1 Green Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range: £202 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Proximity Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built to use 36% less energy and 30% less water than a comparable hotel, the Proximity Hotel offers a glimpse of the future while celebrating the past. Sustainable practices, custom-designed furnishings, commissioned art and innovative loft-like modern design await guests in every corner of the 147-room luxury "green" hotel and its adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Proximity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proximity Hotel Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing