We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss in Greensboro, N.C.”
Review of Proximity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Proximity Hotel
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago
Level Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bliss in Greensboro, N.C.”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Just spent two days in this property this week. It is always exceptional from the front desk, modern room and Print Works Bistro. It is an engineering and thoughtfully planned Green hotel and you would never know it, because it is simply an exceptional hotel first. Rooms have concrete slab ceilings and supports mixed with inviting furniture and a wonderful bed.

If you are visiting Greensboro, I highly recommend this property or its sister property, the O'Henry Hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are really great with windows in the bathrooms or the standard lineal long king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanKStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
The corner and center room bathroom windows really do create a great open feel that is often hard to find in a hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    81
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
74
155
22
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mocksville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Proximity Hotel while in town for a concert. It was easily accessible to restaurants/bars for before and after the show. Jade, at the front desk, was extremely helpful! She recommended an excellent taxi service, and suggested several restaurants to check out.

The room was beautiful and exceptionally clean. The bathroom was huge, and had an amazing walk-in shower. Definitely had a great night sleep in the big, comfy bed!!

We were there for only a night and were unable to take advantage of the spa or restaurant, however, if they are anything like the rest of the hotel, I am sure they are top notch.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
I am so happy that our staff made a great impression on you. We delight in figuring out how to make your experience in Greensboro more enjoyable. See you in town for the next concert!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Met a few family members at this hotel for a brief 24 hour reunion. The rooms were immaculate, attractive, with vast ceilings, very comfortable to lounge within and catch up with family. Was glad to see each floor had filtered water available in the common room with a hot water dispenser also. Convenient amenities including robe and aveda products enhanced the shower experience. Fresh squeezes orange and grapefruit juice available until late also enjoyable. The restaurant attached was a delight for brunch, eggs were whipped and scrambled to perfection. The common areas also very attractive. Staff was friendly and accommodating, made great recommendations, and joined our rooms with no hassle, cleaning staff very friendly. As mentioned by previous reviewer the pool appeared to be a last minute afterthought, there's ample green space with couches which seemed a larger priority. The bed was a bit firm for my taste, but the bedding and pillows were cozy. Overall an unique hotel with many pleasant features and designs.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreehanStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I travel to Greensboro area 2x a year and have tried numerous hotels. This is really the only place to stay. LEED certified. Beds are great. Bathrooms are huge. Ceilings are high. Technology is state of the art. Printworks Bistro is okay. Fine for the middle of Greensboro.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 8th floor. Ceilings are even higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Glad you found us! The 8th floor rooms really do give a different experience don't they! Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I just finished two nights at the Proximity and can only say, "Who knew there would be such a comfy hotel in Greensboro?"
In town for a conference at the Center for Creative Leadership and loved the place. What stood out:
The use of curtains as decor throughout the hotel was ingenious - soft but elegant.
Business centers on each floor with an honors bar and filtered water.
A fabulous room with huge bathtub!!!
very subtle night light in the bathroom
Real HD TV
Windows you could open for fresh air.
Solar heated water
Instant service for an engineering problem
A Fabulous restaurant (The Lemon Tart cake was to die for)
The staff was attentive (the shuttle driver was great) and very helpful
Hope I am going to Greensboro again soon!!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the Big baths!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natisimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
I love that some of the smaller details caught your eye. We just installed the filtered water dispensers on each of the floors and they have been popular! I hope there is another CCL program that catches your interest of another reason to visit Greensboro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwest virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Attentive service, comfortable beds and furniture, and ultra chic. I would feel comfortable recommending this hotel to anyone. It is in a class by itself in Greensboro. And for all this, the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Thank you for your confidence in recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This is a nice hotel, the whole "green" idea is greet but it very overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Goodness! Making sure you feel your experience is a good value is one of our main commitments. I am sorry we missed the mark!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.3 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
2.1 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#9 of 76 in Greensboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#4 of 76 in Greensboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proximity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proximity Hotel

Property: Proximity Hotel
Address: 704 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7018
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#1 Green Hotel in Greensboro
#2 Family Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Proximity Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built to use 36% less energy and 30% less water than a comparable hotel, the Proximity Hotel offers a glimpse of the future while celebrating the past. Sustainable practices, custom-designed furnishings, commissioned art and innovative loft-like modern design await guests in every corner of the 147-room luxury "green" hotel and its adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Proximity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proximity Hotel Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing