We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous!”
Review of Proximity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Proximity Hotel
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

"Now THIS is a hotel!" Those were my exact words when entering my room. After having spent the previous week in a different, lesser hotel whilst on business, what a pleasure it was to stay at The Proximity for a weekend wedding. The staff were always courteous and the room was superb. So many extra touches in this spacious, comfortable room. The bed, the furnishings, the breakfast from room service...all were phenomenal. When I lived in Greensboro, I had picked up people at The Proximity when they were staying there, and had always admired the lobby and entrance. What a treat to have a restful night there after the wedding.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Krafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear your travels brought you back to Greensboro... and to us! Whether for business, or for a social event, you will find your stay restful and energizing.

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    82
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
75
155
23
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is the hotel to stay at and they should make more of them to put in cities all over the USA. We booked our wedding reception at this hotel and rooms for our guests, as well as ourselves. EVERY person that stayed at the hotel complimented us on our choice of hotel as it is modern, accessible, has outstanding customer service and a welcoming response to anything you might need, want or simply anticipate needing.
This is across the board and not just because we booked our wedding with them. They treat everyone like they are the most important guest and go the extra mile. They have cars (London Cabs) that they will use as taxis with minimum charges; they have airport shuttle pick up, which was a huge help for all the out of town guests that were flying in; they have a stunning set up in each room where there are giant windows with great light exposure; they have two sinks in each bathroom with Aveda products and all of it is 100% LEED certified as it is the "greenest" hotel in the USA.
The restaurant is Print Works Bistro and it services both guests, restaurant goer but it is also the menu for all the wedding food, which ensures that you receive quality meals for all your guests.
Without any hesitation, I would stay here again and again. I will compare all future hotels to this one for service and standards. My husband and I (along with 30 of our friends that stayed there for our wedding), travel for a living with an entertainment company and live in hotels on a very regular basis. This is one we would choose to stay in for both vacation and business.
Book it and you will have an amazing time guaranteed!

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing windows that are floor to ceiling and the traffic is never so heavy that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon_Teich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for allowing us to take care of you and yours during such a special occasion! We are simply delighted to be a part of such a wonderful day. I am happy to hear your guests experienced everything you expected and more.

I look forward to seeing you for many future anniversaries!

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This hotel is really functional, clean, hip and more. Attached to Print Bistro, which is often loved by many, the hotel has flair of modern architecture and decor blanded with functionality and energy conservation. It is close to many places you would visit or do business in Greensboro. They have courtesy shuttle which is helpful if you fly to Greensboro and dont have your own vehicle. The staff is curteous and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJSHAH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for your review! Our livery service, including the fun London Taxis, is a great way to arrive from the airport.

Print Works Bistro certainly has become a local favorite. Wednesday night we feature Mussels night with live music. If you haven't already stop by!

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice when visiting at Elon University in Burlington. It is about 20 minutes away, but worth every mile. It's location may say, "office park," but the interior is contemporary and serene. I really have nerver seen a hotel interior like it. It is completely ecofriendly -- be sure to watch the video describing the hotel's construction available in your room -- but feels like luxury. The staff is wonderfully nice, and this includes the front desk, the bartenders, and the wait staff in the restaurant. Our breakfasts were delicious in the Print Works Bistro, especially, the chocolate cream puffs. My one complaint? No Prosecco by the glass in the bar. Please fix that before our next visit, because we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidibear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for choosing us as your "jumping off" point for Elon! I am delighted you experienced our friendly staff at both the front desk and our restaurant team.

I have sent your request for Prosecco by the glass to our Print Works Bistro team. Our wines by the glass can change throughout the year as our list does, but we will certainly work to get one there consistently.

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My fiance and I decided to stay in town and have a romantic night at the Proximity instead of going to the beach for the weekend. We stayed in a Loft King Spa room and it was amazing!! We also got the romance package which was just perfect for setting the right mood. The room was immaculately clean and room service was very quick, all the food tasted great. The bathroom was awesome and the tub is HUGE!!! Everything was so wonderful, we hated to go back home. We were also kind of trying it out as we are planning a wedding reception here and we wanted to check it out before we settled on this location. After one night here we are very impressed and we know our guests will enjoy staying here just as much as we did. Even though the room price is expensive it is worth every penny!! Technically this was cheaper for us than driving all the way to the beach for the weekend and it was more relaxing.

Room Tip: Top floor has great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
I am delighted you were able to get away right at home! I am also honored to be considered for such a special occasion in your future. We will look forward to having you as our guest for your wedding celebration!

Cheers,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed here recently on a business trip and overall I was impressed by the hotel. They pride themselves in being environmentally responsible and do a good job building in many eco-friendly features to the hotel. The overall decor is very chic and modern, everything from the the lighting to the furniture to the fixtures.

The rooms are huge in size with large bathroooms and plenty of room to move around. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms was tastefully decorated. The gym was fairly basic but did have newer equipment and the lap pool and deck area was quite small for the size of the hotel. No whirlpool which was a bit of a disappointment.

The attached restaurant was outstanding and the bar had a friendly wait staff but only one small TV which made it hard to watch sports.

Don't think this would be a good choice for families but a fine choice for business or couples. The surrounding area was somewhat industrial and there was nothing in the immediate area that you could walk to if you were without a car.

No complaints about the service and staff. I had a favorable experience and would return if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSeeker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
I am happy to hear the overall hotel design, feel and service would bring you back!

On future stays, ask about the map of the local area for shopping and additional restaurants within walking distance. We also have an agreement with a local fitness club that does have extensive exercise facilities including a whirlpool for a nominal fee.

Looking forward to your next return,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Surprised by wife after dinner with a wonderful night's stay here. We stayed in one of the loft king rooms, great sheets and comfy mattresses! Ended with a very nice Sunday brunch at the Print Works Bistro!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, Service Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
What a wonderful occasion to spend with us!

I am delighted you took advantage of the Bistro. The terrace is an especially wonderful spot to enjoy a Sunday morning brunch.

Thank you for your review,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.3 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
529 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#4 of 76 in Greensboro
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#9 of 76 in Greensboro
325 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
1.9 mi away
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
#22 of 76 in Greensboro
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proximity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proximity Hotel

Property: Proximity Hotel
Address: 704 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7018
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Greensboro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#2 Family Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Proximity Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built to use 36% less energy and 30% less water than a comparable hotel, the Proximity Hotel offers a glimpse of the future while celebrating the past. Sustainable practices, custom-designed furnishings, commissioned art and innovative loft-like modern design await guests in every corner of the 147-room luxury "green" hotel and its adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Proximity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proximity Hotel Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing