We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Line Service - quirky interiors”
Review of Proximity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Proximity Hotel
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Top of the Line Service - quirky interiors”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The service at this hotel was absolutely first rate from the moment we were picked up at the airport to the afternoon that we left. Staff is polite and very friendly without being obtrusive. Coming back from a jog they met us at the door with a towel and bottle of water.

The rooms are very nice if a little quirky - the style is southern charm meets LEED certified minimalism which sometimes comes off a little strange.

Beds were very comfortable, rooms very clean and quiet. Restaurant downstairs is convenient

Overall it compares well with the O'Henry - better in terms of service, not as nice in terms of décor or room appointments.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXcoffeetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    82
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
75
159
24
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here twice on business. This hotel is designed to be environmentally friendly, and has won many awards for its energy conservation design. I especially like the priority parking spaces reserved for electric and hybrid vehicles. The staff are extra friendly and professional, and truly seem pleased to help. Rooms are large and very nicely appointed, with all of the amenities one could need. Free wifi is available throughout the entire property. Each floor has a work area equipped with a printer. This area also has the ice machine, and a cooler with beverages for sale ON THE HONOR SYSTEM! The food and service in the dining room were excellent. We used the meeting areas and had excellent service there also. Strong recommendation for this unique hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel mentioned that if you liked your stay you should write a good review on trip advisor.

I enjoyed my stay so much that I am actually doing it!

The service was the beat I'd ever seen in it NC. Everyone smiled, everyone spoke to you, it felt like they genuinely enjoyed working there and their sunny dispositions were contagious.

My boyfriend and I have been traveling for weddings all summer. We haven't encountered this nice a stay in YEARS.

If you need to stay in Greensboro, treat yourself to The Proximity. It won't disappoint!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottecsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at Proximity for business. It's my 4th time there. It is a "green" hotel that supplies all amenities, contrary to some hotels who call themselves green and do not include the items or services travelers are used to finding in good hotels. Rooms are clean and spacious. The reviews that I've read are all correct. The hotel lobby and public areas were created with an eye for comfort and relaxation. The staff are all excellent, especially reception and the shuttle crew. I'm going to call out Javon Bush because we had a lovely conversation while he drove me to the airport 9/18 early in the afternoon, but all the shuttle car staff are warm, friendly, and informative. They let you know they are there for you; just ask and they'll shuttle you back and forth to where you need to go, offer tips, and do it with the most positive and friendly attitude I have ever experienced from a hotel shuttle service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

This is a Good Hotel with high sustainability standards. I always stay here during my business trip, feel comfortable and safe. Just one point: the music in the lobby and around the floors is too loud!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Proximity has good energy. I'm not really into much new age thinking, but everything about this hotel is calming and comfortable, and it's one of the greenest hotels in the country. I travel to Greensboro often and I try to stay at the Proximity whenever I'm in town. I have zero complaints about the amenities, staff, or accommodations. I would highly recommend staying there to anyone passing through Greensboro.

Room Tip: I have stayed here over a dozen times and have not had a 'bad' room, although some do have t...
See more room tips
Green Features: As I said above, a LEEDS certified hotel that uses kinetic energy to run the elevators and heats everything with solar power among many other things. Google it. It's fascinating.
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aficionado S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archdale, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed here for New Year's celebration and had an amazing time. Beautiful facility with comfortable beds. We walked around the little creek outside and enjoyed the little strip of nature in the middle of town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.4 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 77 in Greensboro
547 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
2.1 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 77 in Greensboro
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#5 of 77 in Greensboro
553 reviews
1.9 mi away
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
#21 of 77 in Greensboro
402 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proximity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proximity Hotel

Property: Proximity Hotel
Address: 704 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7018
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#1 Green Hotel in Greensboro
#2 Family Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Proximity Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built to use 36% less energy and 30% less water than a comparable hotel, the Proximity Hotel offers a glimpse of the future while celebrating the past. Sustainable practices, custom-designed furnishings, commissioned art and innovative loft-like modern design await guests in every corner of the 147-room luxury "green" hotel and its adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Proximity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proximity Hotel Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing