We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Proximity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Proximity Hotel
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I'm writing this review on behalf of my parents. They spent their 36th wedding anniversary at the Proximity, just a one night getaway. After check-in my mother text messaged me saying that everything was beautiful and better than she had imagined. They stayed on the top floor in a King spa room, great views of Greensboro. They ate at the Print Works Bistro for a late lunch and she commented how all the ingredients were extremely fresh and everything was all-natural.(The burgers were delicious) The property was really nice and everyone was extremely hospitable throughout the hotel. I had dessert, a card and a bouquet of flowers delivered to the room as a surprise. I had a friend deliver it and the staff set it up in the room for a small fee. They were pleasantly surprised once they returned to their room. The room,decor and shower were lovely, but they didn't get a chance to use to tub. There were nice robes in the room, a business center right outside their door that was accessible to all during there stay. Complimentary wifi was also a hit because upscale places typically charge astronomical fees for access. They pre-ordered breakfast the night before departure and it was delivered to the room at exactly the requested time (7:15), they enjoyed it but it was rather pricey for a standard breakfast. Based on their stay I definitely look forward to staying at The Proximity in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherriaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Sandelli, Reservations Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Happy anniversary to your parents! It’s extremely flattering that they chose to celebrate this milestone with us. We’re happy to hear that they experienced a great deal of what our hotel and restaurant have to offer. Print Works Bistro provides an excellent addition to any overnight stay, especially when breakfast in bed arrives promptly outside your door in the morning! We are sad to hear that they didn't get a chance to enjoy that large soaking tub in the Loft King Spa room, but that just means they’ll have to come stay with us again!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    81
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
73
153
21
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for New Years. Very nice. Very clean. However, it didn't really live up to my expectations. Perhaps my expectations were too high. There was nothing inherently wrong. The desk staff and the doormen were all very nice and friendly. We had a room on the top floor. It was big. The furnishings were nice. We were there with friends and there was plenty of room for all 6 of us to sit comfortably.
I suppose the problem for me was in the details. In my mind I felt like a hotel of this caliber there should have been more attention to detail. Again, my expectations may have been set too high. We are perfectly happy when we stay at 3 or 4 star hotels. You realize going in that a Holiday Inn is only going to offer so much. The Proximity is far from a Holiday Inn but there were no elegant surprises.
We also had reservations at the Bistro. Because it was new years eve they were very busy. We had a party of about 12. They had to sit us at 2 tables. Our reservation was at 9:30. Half of our party was seated at 10:30. The other half maybe 30 minutes later. I am sure the restaurant had their hands full. But, a high end place like this should have been expecting this and been better prepared. Our food was OK. It was good but not great. Our service was a little slow. We were served our desert just before midnight. Because of all of the delays we celebrated the new year at our table instead of the bar where all of the action was.
I hate to leave such a down sounding review of this hotel. I don't want to give the wrong impression. For the money this is a very nice place. I guess I expected more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Sandelli, Reservations Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your helpful feedback. I've shared your experience with the Print Works Bistro team and they are digging in to exactly what happened. Please let me know of your next visit to the area. I'd love to make sure your next stay at the Proximity (or our sister hotel the O.Henry) exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I were looking for a romantic getaway nearby. The Proximity was perfect. They were running a special for the New Years which made it more of an attraction. The privacy was perfect. The staff was super friendly. The rooms were gorgous.

Room Tip: Look at the specials they offer.
See more room tips
Green Features: Going Green is exactly what this Hotel has accomplished!
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Sandelli, Reservations Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We’re so glad that you chose to ring in 2014 with us! The Proximity’s packages are a wonderful addition to any special occasion. Our romantic packages are especially great for that spur-of-the-moment getaway. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachine, Quebec
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Thanks to my hosts for this business trip, I was recommended the Proximity for a (very) short trip that included one night in Greensboro. Can't say much about the location, but the hotel itself is sticking. From a distance, this Platinum LEED monolith comes to life upon entering the lobby, Throughout the building, the use of raw concrete and other materials is great. All staff interactions were courteous and efficient.
Corner room was well designed and spacious enough but it might have been tight for two occupants after a couple of days. Very clean and well maintained.Bed was very comfortable.
Something never seen in a hotel: the honor system for juice/soda, Impressive.
Also, the purified water system on each floor is an example to follow.
I had a lunch and breakfast at the hotel. Food was good and service exemplary.
Added perk I wish I had known coming in: the free shuttle service to/from the airport. The hotel uses an English cab. Very distinctive.
A little pricey but I would not even consider looking elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are certainly brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benoit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Sandelli, Reservations Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our special touches in the guest living room areas, specifically the water filters and the honor bar.

Please let us know the next time that you’re coming into town! Our transportation service to and from the Greensboro Airport is a convenient way to get back and forth during your stay. We actually use your airline information to track your flight as it lands at PTI, so that we can have a driver at the airport upon your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Proximity is unique in many ways. From the outside it looks like an office building...and you couldn't be blamed for wondering if it was an insurance office. But pull around front, and you will see dramatic white curtains guarding the entrance portal. Make a turn through the huge revolving doors and you will find respectful friendly staff who seem to make it their day's goal to make you feel cared for and important. The rooms follow the same theme. The colors are black, neutral, and marble. Beautiful and understated with a huge mirror reflecting you as the most essential addition to the room. Do yourself a favor and experience this most unexpected portion of Greensboro. As long as your spending the cash--the Proximity isn't cheap--go downstairs and enjoy the restaurant. It's an equal to the quality you will quickly expect from the Proximity. Biggest hits? Perfectly clean. Perfect staff all around. Unique understated rooms that don't short you on comfort.

Green Features: The Proximity prides itself on being Eco friendly. That's all great, but it could lead to a tiny criticism. The shower is effective, but nothing more. Don't expect a monsoon or wastage.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rco1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Sandelli, Reservations Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
We love that our unique design captured your attention! When Proximity was still in the “idea phase”, we were actually looking to restore a former warehouse. When we couldn't find one that fit our plan, we decided to build our own as a nod to Greensboro’s rich textile history!

We’re glad that you were able to experience Print Works Bistro. Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, it’s always available for you to grab a bite to eat of the delicious French-based cuisine. As if it couldn't get any better, the menu changes seasonally, so there’s always an opportunity to try a new dish!

-Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed in Greensboro for two nights and decided to give this a hotel a try. We were not disappointed. Everyone was super friendly and accommodating at all times. The hotel has a modern flare and very different in a good way. Our room was extremely quiet and CLEAN! We have stayed in many mediocre hotels recently and the cleanliness stood out. Another perk was the Print Works Bistro which is connected to the hotel. The food is very good ... we ate there three times! The bar area is very popular and has a cool, metropolitan ambiance. When we return to Greensboro we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Sandelli, Reservations Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Cleanliness is one of the most basic expectations you have as a guest. Our housekeeping team will be delighted to hear we nailed your experience in the rooms.

Our restaurants are absolutely one of our best amenities! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed Print Works so much that you visited again before the end of your trip. The next time you’re in town, visit our two sister restaurants, Green Valley Grill and Lucky 32. Lucky 32 is home to an amazing array of southern-style comfort food, and Green Valley Grill specializes in old-world European cuisine. No matter which restaurant you find yourself at, you’re guaranteed to leave with a smile on your face!

-Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was the first time I stayed here, only an over night stay this time. The staff were amazing, very friendly and it was a genuine friendliness. The parking lot was free of debris and there were no unsavory characters lurking in the parking area either. The doormen were courteous. The room was immaculate the fixtures and artwork were modern. The beds...wooo amazing one of the best nights sleep I have had in a while. We utilized the gym, it was nice too. A little small but the equipment was top of the line. There is a really nice bar attached to the hotel, no walking outside to get to it. All that and its LEED certified ! We will have another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reebok74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
0.3 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
2.1 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#8 of 76 in Greensboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
#4 of 76 in Greensboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Greensboro at Four Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proximity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proximity Hotel

Property: Proximity Hotel
Address: 704 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408-7018
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#1 Green Hotel in Greensboro
#2 Family Hotel in Greensboro
#3 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Proximity Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built to use 36% less energy and 30% less water than a comparable hotel, the Proximity Hotel offers a glimpse of the future while celebrating the past. Sustainable practices, custom-designed furnishings, commissioned art and innovative loft-like modern design await guests in every corner of the 147-room luxury "green" hotel and its adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Proximity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proximity Hotel Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing